10 July 2020

Jon Anderson Interview With The Final On Vinyl Podcast



Listen To My Interview With Jon Anderson As We Discuss His Incredible Solo Album 1000 Hands-Chapter One. It was quite an honor for me to interview the legendary vocalist/musician Jon Anderson of Yes fame and incredible solo work. Thank you kind sir for all of your time!


03 July 2020

Blues Review: Dion-Blues With Friends

Release Date: June 5, 2020
Label: Keeping The Blues Alive

Dion was born, Dion Francis DiMucci in Bronx, New York. Throughout his career, he has seemingly done it all. Although at 80 years old (almost 81), you could expect that. While his musical beginnings link back to 1957, it was not until 1960 that Dion went solo and started to experience some true momentum in his music. Having gone through several different phases in his career, he has fiddled with so many different genres from rock to Christian, and R&B. I mean who else can form several different bands, break out into a solo career, and genre hop so effortlessly to arrive at 80 with such a short album discography? That has been revealed through Dion’s ventures with the Belmonts, himself, and revolving from Christian back to secular music. Recently he released Blues With Friends.


When “Blues Comin’ On” starts up, you immediately understand why the “blues” could be both uplifting and also get you right in the gut. It starts the album off with a very positive chord and tone, while the lyrics are reflective and not exactly light and positive. “Kickin’ Child” is a cruiser of a tune. With the top-down and the wind blowing through your hair, it offers a continuation of a feel-good spirit. Then you get the jazzy-influenced “Uptown Number 7”
to conclude the trio of overall positivity.

“Can’t Start Over Again” at first, sounds like a country song. It’s like the singer is a rolling stone trying to find his way. But, when you listen more closely, it’s more of a heartbreak that acts as a roadblock in his life because the point of a do-over is so tough to comprehend. “My Baby Loves to Boogie” bounces right back to a funk beat. The song is a great way to step onto the dancefloor and…boogie. I’m reminded of the Blues Brothers here. “I Got Nothin’” is a cool message of letting a partner know that one might not have a lot of material goods or a lavish lifestyle, but in the end, they do have the capability to still make one another happy. “Stumbling Blues” is a great play-on song lyrically of the way we often feel when we first become infatuated with a new love interest.

Moving forward, “Bam Bang Boom” is a happy ode to a woman who gave new meaning to the singer’s life and he seemed he couldn’t be more thrilled because of it, just like that. “I Got the Cure” lays out the singer’s confidence in himself as well as for the perfect remedy of a bad day or mood. The album then switches up to “Song For Same Cooke (Here In America)” which is a wonderful reflection on the famed singer, Sam Cooke. It spoke of a bond between the two artists that went deeper than just music.

“What If I Told You” is a twist on the typical cheating or wronged love song. The song tells of how the singer is on to his lover’s actions and feelings (or non-existent feelings) towards him and toward someone else. Knowing he is above the tomfoolery of the back-and-forth of a breakup or fight, he just gives off premonitions of how aware he is of her actions.”Told You Once In August” pairs well with the prior song. Another cheating song told in a different form, holds more of a western vibe to it this time around.

Rounding out the final tracks, “Way Down (I Won’t Cry No More)” sings of hurt and pain from love but, speaks more to the redemption of the singer’s attitude. He will in-fact, rise above this temporary pain of betrayal and be better for experiencing it. This leads us to the finale. Although sounding initially like a somber tune, a very positive, reflective message shines through.

Speaking of the Lord, Dion directs the listener to always look towards God to overcome the greatest adversity. This last track is an opposite mirror effect of his first track “Blues Comin’ On” where the lyrics are gloomy, but the tone and sound are both happy; whereas “Hymn to Him” is sounding more slow and dark but, a very powerful message prevails.

Key tracks include: “Hymn to Him,” “Kickin’ Child,” “Stumbling Blues.”


Gregg Keniston - MuzikMan.net Staff
June 30, 2020



Track Listing:
01. Blues Comin’ On
02. Kickin’ Child
03. Uptown Number 7
04. Can’t Start Over Again
05. My Baby Loves To Boogie
06. I Got Nothin’
07. Stumbling Blues
08. Bam Bang Boom
09. I Got The Cure
10. Song For Sam Cooke (Here in America)
11. What If I Told You
12. Told You Once In August
13. Way Down (I Won’t Cry No More)
14. Hymn To Him


02 July 2020

Former HAWKWIND Bassist & LEMMY Protégé ALAN DAVEY Joins Newest Incarnation Of DANNY B. HARVEY’S Rockabilly Project, HEADCAT 13!


Los Angeles, CA - Proving the old adage about cats having nine lives, rockabilly guitarist and icon Danny B. Harvey has returned with a new descendent of the rockabilly project he started back with Lemmy of Motörhead and Slim Jim Phantom of The Stray Cats. The Head Cat, as they dubbed themselves, released a studio album Fool’s Paradise in 2006 as well as a live album, Rock N’ Roll Riot On The Sunset Strip. Years later, after the passing of Lemmy (who lived more lives than all these other cats combined) Harvey recruited 69 Eyes crooner Jyrki 69 for (what else) The 69 Cats. And now, the man who filled Lemmy’s motorcycle boots in the legendary space rock band Hawkwind, Alan Davey, has teamed up with Harvey along with Frantic Flattops drummer Paul Vezelis for the newest litter, Headcat 13!

Following in the paw prints of the previous groups, this outing offers some more fantastic covers of early rock classics such as “Route 66,” “Susie Q,” and “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Going On,” which features a special guest performance by Annie Marie Lewis, niece of The Killer himself Jerry Lee Lewis. But the real cream in this batch comes from the original songs penned separately by Harvey and Davey including the standout lead-off track “Let’s Go Crazy!”

Harvey, who also produced the album, shares this about the single “I’m so happy that Cleopatra is releasing ‘Let’s Go Crazy’ as the first single off my new Headcat 13 album. Last year, when Alan ‘Boomer’ Davey joined Headcat 13 onstage as my bassist for the North American  Space Ritual 2019 in Austin TX, I knew it would be a travesty if Alan and I didn’t get into the studio and record an album of songs together right away. A few months after the festival, Alan loaded up his car with his infamous Ric bass and his favorite amp and drove all the way from Death Valley to Austin in 100+ degrees heat. We spent five intense but fun days in studio, composing, learning, arranging and recording the songs. This album is a throwback to the way albums were recorded in the golden age of rock’n’roll, go in with nothing and 5 days later come out with a finished masterpiece. When people ask me what this album sounds like, I quote Lemmy and say, ‘It’s fucking rock’n’roll, what do you think it sounds like?!’”

Headcat 13 will be available on digital as well as CD in a special digipak and on a very limited edition vinyl!

Stream the single: https://orcd.co/headcat_13_lets_go_crazy

Preorder the album: https://orcd.co/headcat_13

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com
Facebook @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.facebook.com/CleopatraRecords/
Instagram @cleopatrarecords
https://www.instagram.com/cleopatrarecords/
Twitter @cleopatrarecord
https://twitter.com/cleopatrarecord
Youtube @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCopQ0616Fpfrq8Gt0N-0zOQ
Soundcloud @cleopatra-recs
https://soundcloud.com/cleopatra-recs
Dailymotion @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.dailymotion.com/CleopatraRecords
Vimeo @cleopatrarecords
https://vimeo.com/cleopatrarecords
Spotify  @cleopatra_recs
https://open.spotify.com/user/cleopatra_recs
Linkedin @cleopatra-records
https://www.linkedin.com/company/cleopatra-records

01 July 2020

Los Angeles Songwriter Bob Beland To Release 8th Album "Happy Camper"


BOB BELAND is an American born musician/songwriter from Los Angeles, CA, where he has performed, written and recorded original music from 1974 to the present. He is releasing his 8th album “Happy Camper” on June 30th on the Wrong Way Works label. The music reflects upon his experiences living and performing in California since 1967.

Beland recently collaborated with 10cc legend Kevin Godley on a song that will be released on Kevin's first solo album “Muscle Memory “ in December 2020. The collaborative track “Big Bang Theory” will be released as a single in August 2020.

BOB BELAND - “Happy Camper”
As I was assembling the songs for my 8th album, “Happy Camper,” I started to see a theme develop. It was a personal travelogue of sorts about my time here in California. I came to the Golden State by rail via the Santa Fe Super Chief with my Mom, Dad, five brothers and one sister. We arrived in Los Angeles in 1967. From that year on I would spend time and play music both in the Northern part of the state in San Francisco from 1970 to 73 and then back down South to Los Angeles in 1974. These songs reflect upon those experiences either directly, as in ‘Big Sur,” “I'll See You There” and “Orange Groves,” or indirectly as with “Honey In The Hive,” “Underneath The Sweeping Sky” and “Pal O' Mine.” “Heartbreakers and Soultakers” main storyline revolves around a pair of young people from different ethnicities venturing out into the nightlife of club land. In the song there’s also a hidden reference to a certain famous band and their leader's A.K.A. if you listen closely. For “Something/Anything?” I had this driving acoustic rhythm guitar riff happening but I needed something lyrically to fit it. For some unknown reason I thought of Todd Rundgren's great double album “Something/Anything?” and realized that he hadn't any song on that album or anywhere in his catalog and the phrase fit perfectly so I hope he's not offended by my 'borrowing' it.

The title track , “Happy Camper.” came as a surprise to me as I had no intention of writing a song with that title. I had it in mind only for the album title two thirds of the way through when I suddenly became ill in February 2020. While recovering, the lyrics of the song came to me fast. So fast that I felt more like a stenographer taking notes than a songwriter. A melody came as soon as I reviewed what I had written but it took another 3 days for me to feel good enough to go into the studio and put it to music and the piano. The music came together very quickly as well. This song didn't come to me in a dream. It came to me in the middle of the day while I was sick and anything but alone with my thoughts in a busy family household. However, what I did feel was the presence and words of my mother and father, who had passed away decades ago, coming back to me and whispering into my ear. I was listening to the spirits from long past and it was an intense but beautiful feeling of resolution. I hope those who listen feel the same way I did.

Now, a little background on the players who contributed their time and talents to “Happy Camper.”

Bob Gross is someone I’ve known since the early 1970’s. Among the other acts he's worked with was Delaney Bramlett of Delaney & Bonnie fame, Bob Wier's Jemima Puddleduck and currently can be seen and heard gigging with the Deanna Bogart Band. Richard d'Andrea is a friend and former Furys alumi who's been a mainstay in the L.A. rock scene since the 70's most notably founding the Know with Gary Valentine and working with musicians such as the Roosters and Carla Olson. Marty Korth is a long standing friend of mine who also spent some time in the Furys and has played bass on other songs that I've written and recorded over the years. Greg Embrey is also from the Furys. Smokey Fennell is Canada's “most OK est” steel guitarist according to Smokey. In classic Canadian humility he actually is a much in demand musician who can be heard on the British singer/songwriter David Gray's smash it, “Babylon,” as well as on two of Gray's best selling albums. Paula Kuhr is a classical violinist who has performed on two of my albums before this one. She is a member of the MESTO orchestra who perform worldwide.

I hope you enjoy the musical travelogue that is my 8th solo album, “Happy Camper!”

Bob Beland
Mar Vista, Ca

Bob Beland's musical history is as follows: 
Southpaw - A founding member along with Jules Shear and Deki Mason (Victorino) - 1973-75
Bates Motel - A founding member along with Les Bohem - 1977- 1979
Bob Beland solo recording - “Stealing Cars” / “I Can Walk Away” 45rpm single on Deli Platter Records, produced by Stephen Hague - 1980
Bob Beland solo recording - “the Bob Beland e.p.” on What Records produced by Stephen Hague -1982
The Furys - A charter member as lead guitarist – 1985 -1989
The Furys - “Indoor/Outdoor” self produced 12” vinyl e.p. on King Coitus Records - 1986
Skin Trade - A charter member as lead guitarist - 1989
Co-writer with Kevin Godley of “the Bang Bang Theory” for Kevin Godley's solo album “Muscle Memory” set for release December 2020 on the UK label state51conspiracy

Bob Beland solo recordings:
“Stealing Cars”/”I Can Walk Away” - 45rpm single on Deli Platter Records (produced by Stephen Hague) - 1980
"The Bob Beland e.p." on What Records (produced by Stephen Hague) -1982
"Amnesia Lane" on Seeing i Records - 1993
"Life Begins..." on Wrong Way Works - 2007
“Left Of Center” - on Wrong Way Works - 2016
"Mar Vista" on Wrong Way Works - 2017
"Forward & Backworks" on Wrong Way Works - 2018
"Mano Sinistra" on Wrong Way Works - 2018
“Welcome” on Wrong Way Works - 2019
“Happy Camper” on Wrong Way Works - 2020

All of Bob’s music is currently available at these online music retail outlets - Apple MUSIC, iTunes, Pandora, Deezer, Google Play, Tidal, Facebook, Amazon Music Spotify and most other online streaming subscription music services as well as SoundCloud

Music Platforms:
SoundCloud - https://soundcloud.com/bobbeland
APPLE MUSIC -https://music.apple.com/us/album/happy-camper/1519606
YouTube Music - https://music.youtube.com/channel/UCW1DB2NCH6dhaR3v8oRe5QQ
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X15eV_LooOw&list=PLwERyPtTQxtOvjzgx42423E0h0IEW8r9s&index=1
Amazon.com - https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Bob+Beland&i=digital-music&search-type=ss&ref=ntt_srch_drd_B0016SR3JQ
Spotify - https://open.spotify.com/artist/4CirZ6zawv0jZCorMOnlrr

Social Media Patforms:
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/belandbob/?hl=en
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/bbeland

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Folk-Rock Review: Ray LaMontagne - MONOVISION

Release Date: June 26, 2020
Label:  RCA

Roll me, Mama, Roll me," the first track on Ray LaMontagne's new release, MONOVISION rolls over the listener like a cold wave on the hot sand. It's an enchanting blend of his old bluesy-folk stylings and his more recent airy and subdued vibe. Fervent vocals ride upon the lush and layered hooks The breathy and soulful intonations deeply enrich the underlying vibe throughout the entire album. 


Let's face it, the most lasting impressions of a musical artist are typically formed based on the first album one hears from that artist. My introduction to Ray Lamontagne was 2016's slow-burning Ouroborus. Traveling back in time from there, I came to appreciate his earlier folk-ified country offerings. In recent releases such as 2018's Part of the Light and the aforementioned Ouroborus, LaMontagne has slowed his music pace. Yet on MONOVISION, he seems to have brought back a bit of the old down-home sound and blended it with his newfound airy vibe. 

"Misty Morning Rain" starts slow and intensifies. Reminiscent of the livelier songs from Van Morrisson Astral Weeks, the staggered rhythm and textured strumming makes it nearly impossible to sit still. As one of the better songs on the album, LaMontagne, as always, reveals the pain in his soul through his profoundly expressive voice. "We'll Make it Through," and "Strong Enough" are two other strong tracks that set the mood as inspiring, if not feathery anthems of the day. 

While the enthusiasm is infectious on most of these songs, the album is not without a few sedatives. "Weeping Willow", "Highway to the Sun," and "Summer Clouds" are as slow as molasses. They, too, serve as a sign of the times as we've all been forced (arguably for the better), to turn the cadences of our own lives down a few notches. 

Overall, MONOVISION is a quintessential Ray LaMontagne record. His subtle and soft guitar tones underscore an organic uprising of his deepest thoughts and feelings. A marriage of the old with the new results is an evolved and original listening experience. 


- Tom Endyke | Guitar & Pen




30 June 2020

Guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal Release A Vibrant New Musical Collaboration "Across the Evening"


“Across the Evening,” by ambient experimental guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal, further extends the ambient/jazz/world crossover music both musicians have traversed throughout their diverse careers. Featuring appearances from Colin Edwin (UK) on bass, Aleksei Saks (Estonia) on trumpet, and Andi Pupato (Switzerland) on percussion, “Across the Evening” is a multi-dimensional, trans continental delight.

With sounds that caress and envelop, rhythms that percolate and inspire, the two guitarists nimbly play off each other and their guests, rarely allowing the listener to imagine that they are hearing guitars.

From the sublime “Reflective Sea” to the deep middle eastern vibe of “Beguiling Eyes,” the album crosses multiple stylistic boundaries. The final two tracks, “Return to Russia” and “Balkan Blue” are live recordings from the ensemble's live performance in Tallin, Estonia in 2019.

Says Jon, “Robert and I had known each others' work for some time - I'm really fond of his group Uma (with Aleksei Saks), and between my collaborations with Tony Levin and Colin Edwin, he'd been following my work as well. But we hadn't connected personally until recently. When the idea of collaborating was floated, we met it with great enthusiasm. We are both very interested in the textural possibilities with guitar but approach it differently, both in terms of tools and techniques. In the end, the two approaches blend wonderfully, and it's often hard to believe that what you’re hearing is guitar. When we began working, we realized that while it's great to be able to work remotely, there was a strong desire to also work together in the same room. I arranged a trip to Tallinn, and Robert organized a concert at Philly Joe's Jazz Club in Tallinn. We were very fortunate to have Aleksei Saks join us on Trumpet, and Inna Kovtun came up from Kiev to sing with us. It was an incredibly inspiring evening, and two tracks on the album are from the recording of that show. The album includes ideas and concepts born out of our few days of rehearsing and improvising together, and flushed out with fantastic performances from Colin Edwin (bass) and Andi Pupato (percussion).”

THE ARTISTS

Jon Durant - Guitars

Jon Durant brings a unique sense of texture and melody to his instrument. His unique “cloud guitar” soundscapes and engaging lead work have graced numerous CD recordings and film soundtracks and his very distinctive use of fretless guitar has been widely admired. He has previously released 9 solo albums and three Burnt Belief records (with Colin Edwin). Durant's acclaimed 2018 solo release “Parting Is” was his first “solo guitar” recording and the follow up solo guitar album “Alternate Landscapes” continue to stretch the boundaries of what a guitar record can sound like. Both solo CDs have been nominated for “Best Ambient Album” in various US new age radio publications, while “Alternate Landscapes” also spent multiple weeks at the top of the NACC Chill Charts.

Robert Jürjendal - Guitars

Robert Jürjendal is an Estonian guitarist and composer who studied classical guitar and composition (Anti Marguste) at Tallinn Georg Ots Music School. In 1992-1997 he participated in Robert Fripp Guitar Craft Courses. He has written music for classical and contemporary guitar, cembalo, mixed ensembles, choirs; documentaries, art exhibitions and theater. His compositions include both traditional and contemporary elements, from folk music to post-rock and ambient-jazz. Robert Jürjendal is working as a freelancer composer / artist / lecturer. He is also the curator of the music program SOOLO at Tallinn Art Hall. Recent albums include “Source Of Joy” (Unsung Records 2013), “Balm Of Light” (iapetus - media 2014) and “Simple Past” (Strangiato Records 2016). “Another World” (with Colin Edwin) (Hard World 2018), “Five Seasons” (Albany Records 2018), With Noya and Godwin, “Samliku” (New Dog Records 2019), with Sandor Szabo “Electric Poetry” (Greydisc 2019).

To purchase:
Bandcamp: https://jondurant.bandcamp.com/album/across-the-evening

Burning Shed: https://burningshed.com/jon-durant_robert-jurjendal_across-the-evening_cd

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Across-Evening-Jon-Durant/dp/B089LYGZKT

Jon Durant's official website: http://www.jondurant.com
Robert Jürjendal's official website: http://robertjyrjendal.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

29 June 2020

Be-Bop Deluxe "Axe Victim" 4 Disc Limited Edition Deluxe Boxed Set - Released July 17, 2020


Released July 17, 2020

***LIMITED EDITION SIGNED POSTCARD AVAILABLE WITH PRE ORDERS WHILE STOCKS LAST***

• A DELUXE 4 DISC LIMITED EDITION BOXED SET OF THE CLASSIC 1974 DEBUT ALBUM BY BE BOP DELUXE COMPRISING 3 CDs and A DVD (NTSC / REGION FREE)
• NEWLY REMASTERED FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES
• FEATURING AN ADDITIONAL 41 BONUS TRACKS DRAWN FROM NEW 5.1 SURROUND SOUND & STEREO MIXES FROM THE ORIGINAL MULTI-TRACK MASTER TAPES, BBC RADIO SESSIONS FROM 1973 / 1974, INCLUDING THE PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED “LOST” BBC JOHN PEEL SESSION FROM NOVEMBER 1973, BOTH SIDES OF THE RARE SMILE RECORDS ‘TEENAGE ARCHANGEL’ SINGLE FROM 1973, COMPLETE (& NEWLY RE-MIXED) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED BE BOP DELUXE DECCA SESSION FROM DECEMBER 1973 & PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED OUT-TAKES FROM THE ALBUM SESSIONS
• INCLUDES A LAVISHLY ILLUSTRATED 68 PAGE BOOK WITH MANY PREVIOUSLY UNSEEN PHOTOGRAPHS & NEW ESSAY BY BILL NELSON / ALSO INCLUDES A REPLICA RECORD STORE POSTER & POSTCARDS

Esoteric Recordings is proud to announce the release of a new re-mastered four-disc deluxe expanded boxed set limited edition (comprising 3 CDs and a DVD) of AXE VICTIM the legendary 1974 debut album by BE BOP DELUXE.

Recorded in the Spring of 1974 at several studios in London, AXE VICTIM was released by EMI’s Harvest label in June 1974 to much critical praise and introduced Be Bop Deluxe to the record buying public. The album featured the band’s first line-up of BILL NELSON (vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar, piano), IAN PARKIN (rhythm & acoustic guitars, organ), ROB BRYAN (bass guitar, vocals) and NICHOLAS CHATTERTON-DEW (drums).

AXE VICTIM was a fine debut and was championed by DJ John Peel (who had been an advocate of Bill Nelson’s work since the release of the rudimentary self-released album “Northern Dream” in 1971) as one of his favourite releases of 1974. Although Bill Nelson was still finding his creative feet, AXE VICTIM featured some fine material including the classic ‘Adventures in a Yorkshire Landscape’, along with other fine material such as ‘Night Creatures’, ‘Third Floor Heaven’ (which featured Babe Ruth vocalist Jenny Haan guesting), ‘Jets at Dawn’ and the superb ‘Darkness (L’Immoraliste)’.

This expanded reissue has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features an additional 41 bonus tracks drawn from stunning new 5.1 surround sound & stereo mixes of the album from the original multi-track tapes by award winning engineer Stephen W. Tayler, along with two complete BBC Radio One sessions from November 1973 and May 1974 (including the previously unreleased “lost” John Peel session from November 1973), both sides of the rare Smile Records single ‘Teenage Archangel’ b/w ‘Jets at Dawn’ released by the band in 1973 prior to being signed to EMI. Also included is the complete previously unreleased Be Bop Deluxe audition session for Decca Records from December 1973 (mixed from the original 16 track tapes by Stephen W Tayler) & previously unreleased out-takes from the original album sessions.

Another highlight of this limited-edition boxed set is the lavishly illustrated 68-page book with many previously unseen photographs and an essay of recollections by Bill Nelson. Additionally, the set includes a facsimile Record Store poster and postcards. This special deluxe limited edition boxed set of AXE VICTIM is a fitting celebration of a wonderful debut album and a tribute to the creative vision of Bill Nelson.



TRACK LISTING

DISC ONE: CD
AXE VICTIM
THE ORIGINAL ALBUM REMASTERED:

1. AXE VICTIM
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN
5. NIGHT CREATURES
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
8. JETS AT DAWN
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE)
BONUS TRACKS
11. TEENAGE ARCHANGEL (1973 SINGLE)
12. JETS AT DAWN (1973 SINGLE VERSION)
13. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
(FIRST MIX) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
14. AXE VICTIM (ALBUM VERSION – FIRST MIX)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

DISC TWO: CD
AXE VICTIM
THE NEW STEREO MIX:

1. AXE VICTIM
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN
5. NIGHT CREATURES
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
8. JETS AT DAWN (FULL VERSION)
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE)
BONUS TRACKS
11. AXE VICTIM (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
12. NIGHT CREATURES (SPOKEN WORD VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
13. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (FIRST VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

DISC THREE: CD

BBC RADIO ONE “JOHN PEEL SHOW” SESSION
6th NOVEMBER 1973

1. AXE VICTIM (BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
2. BLUESY RUBY (BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
3. TOMORROW THE WORLD
(BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

THE DECCA SESSION – 13th DECEMBER 1973:

4. AXE VICTIM (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
5. I’LL BE YOUR VAMPIRE (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
6. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
7. BLUESY RUBY (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

BBC RADIO ONE “JOHN PEEL SHOW” SESSION
9th MAY 1974

8. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN (BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
9. MILL STREET JUNCTION (BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
10. 15TH OF JULY (INVISIBLES)
(BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
11. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(BBC SESSION MAY 1974)

DISC FOUR: DVD
AXE VICTIM
THE NEW 5.1 SURROUND SOUND MIX, NEW 96 KHZ / 24-BIT STEREO MIX AND 96 KHZ / 24-BIT ORIGINAL STEREO MIX

1. AXE VICTIM (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
5. NIGHT CREATURES (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(5.1 SURROUND MIX)
8. JETS AT DAWN (FULL VERSION) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
BONUS TRACKS
11. AXE VICTIM (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
12. NIGHT CREATURES (SPOKEN WORD VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
13. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)

Also available Be-Bop Deluxe Axe Victim, 2CD Expanded & Remastered Edition


To pre-order: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/be-bop-deluxe-axe-victim-3cd-1dvd-limited-edition-deluxe-boxset/?fbclid=IwAR3DgTCW-ziS4j0xYz9bP9K0rsYimz9C_WMFu55Uxzu5qHJZp0EDhWcSivI

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

26 June 2020

THE WALK-A-BOUT Release Music Video for the New Single "TIMELESS" From Their Full-Length LP 20/20


Long Island, New York – Aussie-American alternative rock quintet THE WALK-A-BOUT hail from the artistic East End of Long Island, New York. THE WALK-A-BOUT released their new full-length LP 20/20 worldwide in stores and online on June 5th, 2020. The album’s first official music video, featuring the new single “TIMELESS” will premiere online at Skylight Webzine on Friday, June 26th.

20/20 has been receiving a great response from fans, media, and radio airplay across the country. Exclusive Magazine writes that 20/20 “features ten wondrous new tracks that lovingly embrace such different musical styles as funk, rock, world, Latin, folk, prog and even a dash of psychedelia, whilst maintaining a pop sensibility within each song structure,” and that it is “Destined to be a classic.” AntiMusic.com writes that, “there is a real kinship here with bands like the Dave Matthews Band, whose fans will really dig cuts like ‘Date Nut Porridge’ and ‘Tale of the Vibe Rider.’”

The video was directed by George Panagakos of 525 Media, the same company that created the album art and promotional assets for 20/20.

Produced by Andrew Michael Bertrand and mastered by Roger Lian20/20 is an incredibly diverse record that explores many genres, expanding the scope of the band’s classic sound. There is something on the album for everyone. Whether it’s alternative rock, world music, funk, or the influence of prog rock, THE WALK-A-BOUT’s music is visceral, emotional, fun and socially conscious.

THE WALK-A-BOUT began writing the material for 20/20 in March of 2019, right at the time when the band began to achieve massive radio success with their album THINGS ARE LOOKING UP, which consistently landed in Top 20 charts alongside such artists as Paul McCartney, Jeff Tweedy, Mumford & Sons and Death Cab for Cutie. The album reached #4 on Roots Music Radio Report, while the singles “Consequences,” “By My Side,” and “That’s Just The Way It Goes” ranked simultaneously in the Top 5 of the alternative rock singles chart. The album was also ranked #24 on Roots Music Radio Report’s “Best of 2019” chart. The video for “That’s Just The Way It Goes” had an online premiere hosted by Skope Entertainment and continuous play on over 75 broadcast outlets throughout the summer and early fall of 2018. THE WALK-A-BOUT also released a limited edition 180-Gram Red Splatter Vinyl of THINGS ARE LOOKING UP available exclusively through their website.

Band members Darren “Sully” SullivanKevin AndersonDrew Bertrand, and Dave Christian were joined by bass player Keenan Zach for the writing and recording of 20/20, and their collective vision has allowed THE WALK-A-BOUT to explore the outer reaches of music, soul and spirit. This dynamic new collection maintains the band’s depth and introspection, delivering a deep and entertaining album with pop appeal. 20/20 was recorded on 14 reels of two-inch tape, a recording method that is reflected in the dynamic sound of this extraordinary release, which is destined to be a classic.

THE WALK-A-BOUT has toured along the East and West Coasts throughout 2018 and 2019 and are currently preparing a world tour in support of their new album release 20/20.

To watch the official music video for “TIMELESS” from 20/20 please visit:




To purchase or stream the new full-length album 20/20 on digital services please visit: www.walkaboutband.com/2020

For more information including tour dates or booking inquiries please visit: www.walkaboutband.com

For Press and Interview inquiries please contact Billy James of Glass Onyon PR: (828) 350-8158 or glassonyonpr@gmail.com

For Digital Marketing please contact Jerome Forney of Independent Distribution Collective: jerome@independentdistro.com

25 June 2020

New Track By Rockabilly Legend ROBERT GORDON Features Revered Country Guitarist STEVE WARINER


Los Angeles, CA - Grammy and Country Music Association award winning songwriter/guitarist/artist Steve Wariner has teamed up with a true living musical legend, rockabilly crooner Robert Gordon, for a unique collaboration that will have music fans up on their feet! The track, a cover of the rollicking 1956 single penned and performed by icon Jerry Reed, “I’ve Had Enough,” finds Wariner ripping it up on guitar as Gordon belts out the lyrics with a fiery passion and precision that can only come after decades of experience as a musical performer. Gordon is no stranger to heavy hitting guitar sidekicks with years of fruitful collaborations with six-string slingers Link Wray, Chris Spedding and Danny Gatton. “I’ve Had Enough” was produced by fellow rockabilly icon, and a celebrated guitarist in his own right, Danny B. Harvey, as part of a full-length Robert Gordon album, Rockabilly For Life, featuring a host of friends such as Spedding, The Stooges’ James Williamson, David Letterman’s Paul Shaffer, Blondie’s Clem Burke and a whole lot more!

Harvey shares this about Wariner’s contribution, “When suggesting guests to appear on the new Robert Gordon album I was producing, I suggested Steve Wariner knowing it was more a wishful long shot than an actual possibility. But then his management got back to us right away that Steve was very interested and I couldn’t contain my excitement! Steve Wariner is to ‘80s/’90s country guitar picking what Jeff Beck was to ‘60s rock and Eddie Van Halen is to ‘70s rock. Plus, he had 10 #1 country singles as a solo artist! Damn, I’m a lucky man and so is anyone who hears this track - Steve’s the best!

Stream the single: https://orcd.co/robert_gordon_steve_wariner

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com
Facebook @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.facebook.com/CleopatraRecords/
Instagram @cleopatrarecords
https://www.instagram.com/cleopatrarecords/
Twitter @cleopatrarecord
https://twitter.com/cleopatrarecord
Youtube @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCopQ0616Fpfrq8Gt0N-0zOQ
Soundcloud @cleopatra-recs
https://soundcloud.com/cleopatra-recs
Dailymotion @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.dailymotion.com/CleopatraRecords
Vimeo @cleopatrarecords
https://vimeo.com/cleopatrarecords
Spotify  @cleopatra_recs
https://open.spotify.com/user/cleopatra_recs
Linkedin @cleopatra-records
https://www.linkedin.com/company/cleopatra-records

23 June 2020

Various Artists Review-Rolling Stone: Life And Death Of Brian Jones Soundtrack

Release Date: June 12, 2020
Label: MVD


The story of Brian Jones, famous for originating the band The Rolling Stones, is a compelling real-life account. I had the opportunity to view the DVD and listen to the red vinyl LP of Rolling Stone: Life And Death Of Brian Jones Soundtrack. It is a Dudeski/Chip Baker production directed by Danny Garcia. I watched the Rolling Stone: Life And Death Of Brian Jones DVD first to learn about the story of his life and untimely death. The DVD would tie in well with the soundtrack and make more sense to me.

I, like many others, assumed that Jones died because of drugs and alcohol. This revealing movie shows evidence that contradicts those basic beliefs. Yes, he did his share of mind-altering substances however when he was found dead at the bottom of his pool it is believed, based on evidence and a 600-page document unearthed by Scott Jones, that he was murdered. Jones had been arguing with a man named Frank Thorogood all day and each time the arguments became more heated and the last altercation being a physical struggle in the pool with the larger and stronger Thorogood that ended Jones’s life. The truth about his death was covered up by law enforcement and was under a 75-year rule established by that very institution.

Jones was a brilliant multi-instrumentalist and referred to as genius in the film. I would not dispute that statement with what I know and have listened to the Stones most of my life. What I found so interesting and shocking was how Jones was treated by his mother, band members, and friends. I understand that he was temperamental and had issues but that does not explain the way he was treated and at times very unfairly. He was a very sick man that never got the help he needed but I know it was not desired by the flamboyant musician. He was the leader of the Stones and eventually, the songwriting went to Jagger and Richards and that was the beginning of the end for Jones.

The beginning of the film starts with footage of Brian in his youth and his rise to fame with the Stones. One scene shows the band at a party getting in a cake fight, which I thought was very light-hearted. Too bad things did not stay that way for the band and Jones. By the time Jones was 19 he had three illegitimate children and at the time of his death, he left behind six children. Interesting how if this story was about a woman how she would have been looked upon as a whore but because it was a man he got labeled as a lost rock star a lower class of society by the establishment. And actually, the establishment of that period was doing everything they could do to split up the group including planting drugs and arresting them.

The bonuses of the DVD include nearly an hour of Deleted Scenes, Behind The Scenes, and Muddy Waters: The Scott Jones Files. All of which reveal more stories about Brian Jones, The Rolling Stones, and his mysterious death and cover-up. Rolling Stone: Life And Death Of Brian Jones is a fascinating film and it brings forth so many stories and facts about the famed artist and how he died that I certainly never knew. I am now well-informed thanks to this eye-opening DVD.

Now on to the music...Rolling Stone: Life And Death Of Brian Jones Soundtrack is a special Red Vinyl LP. If you remember the early Stones music when Brian was involved there were strong blues influences and many classic blues covers. Jones loved Elmore James and Alex Korner etc. This soundtrack will satisfy all Stones fans and blues lovers.

Side one opens with “1969,” echoing that fateful year for Jones. The music is very much retro sounding like it was recorded then. “Ain't Nothing Here to Change My Mind” is a real ear catcher and the first thing that you notice is that the lead singer sounds like Jagger. How appropriate for this record to have vocals like that. Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls (the first bass guitar player for the Stones who left to form The Pretty Things as their lead guitar), who is interviewed on the DVD, has his contributions on the LP as well with “Edith” an instrumental, which certainly did remind me of Dick’s band The Pretty Things. And another instrumental on side two titled “14a Chestnut St,” which is real rockin’ blues boogie. “Dusted” is a slow-burning simmering hot blues track with cuts like a knife slide guitar (a nod goes to Brian for his memorable slide playing). “Riding The Dog” is classic blues with a fine six-string workout towards the end of the track. Then the “The Path of the Meeting” closes out the first side with an atmospheric instrumental perfectly suited for a soundtrack.

After side one I was quite pleased with what I heard, all of it was very good and I expected it would continue on side two, which it did. After the kick start of side two “14a Chestnut St” then “Tighten It Rough” keeps the momentum going and then “Brian” follows which features some nice acoustic guitar picking and some killer slide work. Next up is “(I’ll Never Be) Satisfied” which immediately brings to mind one the most famous Stones hits “Satisfaction.” All the tracks are purposeful and fitting and that is a fact.

Following that wake-up call, fans and historians are sent a reminder of the fact that Brian was the originator and first leader of the Stones with “Brian Jones (The Real True Leader of The Rolling Stones),” which is a peppy pop-rock tune, suitable for cutting a rug. The one track that seemed out of place but was a good one was “Glitter Girl.” It sounded like a band from the 80’s straight out of England, complete with the accent. I am sure it was dedicated to Anita Pallenberg, one of Brian’s more famous glamorous movie star girlfriends (that ended up with Keith Richards). The album closes out most appropriately with a short instrumental soundtrack outro that was just perfect.

So, this music lover and Stones fans got a double shot of Rolling Stones and Brian Jones's history and music. I have a different view of some of the members of the band now and what Jones was like and how he died. It was a sad tragic end and Jones is a member of the “27’ club that includes luminaries like Hendrix and Joplin. Most impressive was the soundtrack music, I did not hear one throwaway track and it is the kind of music I will want to hear often. Watching the DVD first made a big difference in how I heard and interpreted each track and I would recommend doing it that way.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-TFOV Founder
June 21, 2020

Track List:
Side A:
01. 1969 by The Proper Ornaments
02. Ain't Nothing Here to Change My Mind by Greg ‘Stackhouse’ Prevost
03. 3Edith Groove by Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls
04. Dusted by Ray 'Sonic' Hanson’s Whores of Babylon
05. Riding the Dog by Deadbeat Poets
06. The Path of the Meeting by J.M. Baule

Side B:   
07. 14a Chestnut St. by Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls
08. Tighten It Rough by Steve Hooker
09. Brian by John Perry
10 .(I’ll Never Be) Satisfied by Alabama 3
11. Brian Jones (The Real True Leader of The Rolling Stones) by The Bermondsey Joyriders
12. Glitter Girl by The Primadonna Reeds
13. Muddy Waters by John Roome

10cc/Godley & Creme Legend Kevin Godley To Release Very First Solo Album MUSCLE MEMORY December 17, 2020


LEGENDARY SONGWRITER / SINGER / DRUMMER AND MUSIC VIDEO PIONEER RELEASES CROWDSOURCED ALBUM. 

ALBUM RELEASED - 17.12.2020 SINGLES RELEASED - 16.07.2020 - 03.12.2020

In July 2017 Kevin Godley - formerly of 10cc and Godley & Creme - posted an invitation on the site PledgeMusic: “Write and record with me.”

PledgeMusic was a platform for musicians to connect directly with fans who could pay for music in advance to support the creation of albums. Kevin's project took the potential of this remote, socially distanced collaboration further.

He explained: “Recently something happened that eclipsed any songwriting techniques I'd learned in 10cc or Godley & Creme. Out of the blue, I was sent 2 recorded instrumental tracks with requests to write melodies and lyrics and turn them into songs. Both tracks came from people I'd never met and still haven't. Experiencing this kind of remote collaboration and its results has been transformative for me, as I believe I've recorded 2 of my best ever songs and MUSCLE MEMORY, as I'm calling the album, will be about opening this collaborative door a lot wider.”  

Kevin received 286 instrumentals, choosing to conceal the names of submitters so as not to focus on high profile artists. Of these 11 were chosen for the final tracklisting. The instrumentals vary wildly, from jarring electronic beats to Gotye's dreamlike balladic contribution, “Song of Hate.”

In May 2019, before any money pledged had arrived to support the album, PledgeMusic declared bankruptcy. With the lists of pledgers gone and the project stalled, The state51 Conspiracy contacted Kevin and funded the project so that those who had paid would still be able to listen to the record they were helping to make.

The album marks Kevin's first time fronting a project. His lyricism is cutting, political and provides a mood similar to film dialogue over classic pop lyricism. Gun control, societal unrest, racism and questions regarding political correctness make for some of the most striking lyrical content likely heard on an alternative pop record. This is a dark record from someone not known for dark themes.

Kevin's career features numerous exceptional albums and sees him as one of the most important pioneers of the pop music video. MUSCLE MEMORY is a fitting addition to this body of work, offering a provoking, daring new insight into Godley's creative practice. Tracks from the album will be released in order every two weeks until the album's release on the 17th of December 2020.

Album tracklisting / release timeline:  

1) Expecting a Message: 16/07/2020
2) The Ghosts of the Living: 30/07/2020
3) Hit the Street: 13/08/2020
4) The Bang Bang Theory: 27/08/2020
5) 5 Minutes Alone: 10/09/2020
6) Cut to the Cat: 24/09/2020
7) One Day: 08/10/2020
8) All Bones are White: 22/10/2020
9) Periscope: 5/11/2020
10) Song of Hate: 19/11/2020
11) Bulletholes in the Sky: 03/12/2020
12) Muscle Memory - CD, Vinyl and Digital: 17/12/2020

Listening link: https://soundcloud.com/state51/sets/kevin-godley-muscle-memory/s-A3ZMG64gPyX

Kevin Godley social media: 
Official website: http://www.kevin-godley.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/BvcGX_ZgN22/
Twitter: @kevingodley9

Subscribe to Kevin Godley's mailing list: 
https://kevingodley.greedbag.com/subscribe/

For more information please contact The state51 Conspiracy: support@strate51.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

22 June 2020

Music Legend David Essex Releases New CD "Unplayed Hits"


Featuring songs rarely played live or played on the radio

Legendary singer, songwriter, and actor David Essex is releasing a new album of songs rarely played live or played on the radio titled “Unplayed Hits.” The album is available exclusively from his web shop. There are 100 signed copies available as well.

Since the 1970s, David Essex has attained 19 Top 40 singles in the UK (including two number ones) and 16 Top 40 albums. Internationally, Essex had the most success with his 1973 single “Rock On.” It sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the R.I.A.A. in March 1974. It was nominated for a Grammy and reached No. 1 in Cashbox and No. 3 on the Billboard Hot 100. He has also had an extensive career as an actor.

Essex's pop idol looks gave him a strong female fan base and his British tours created scenes of hysteria reminiscent of Beatlemania. According to The Guinness Book of British Hit Singles, he was voted the number one British male vocalist in 1974, and was a teen idol for more than a decade.

“As the 2020 tour had to be postponed till September 2021, I have put together a new CD in the meantime, 'Unplayed Hits' featuring songs rarely played live or played on the radio. Also, there is a brand new web shop that I hope you like, where you can download or buy the CD plus many other things.” - David Essex

“Unplayed Hits” - Tracklist:

Let It Flow
Time Is Catching Up
Walk Of Life
Carrying The Water Home
Cool Out Tonight
Alice Stay Young & Free
You Crazy Fool
Coming Home
Heart Turns To Stone
What Did I Do
Forever And A Day
Oh Suburbia
Africa You Shine
Fallen Angels Riding
Never Meant To Hurt You
She's Emotional
A Shoulder To Cry On
Stage Struck

To purchase: https://www.musicglue.com/david-essex/shop/categories/all/page/1

For more information: www.davidessex.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

19 June 2020

Art Rock Supergroup MANDOKI SOULMATES Release Full-Length Album Feat. Ian Anderson, Jack Bruce, Al Di Meola and Others In Partnership With U.S. Label CLEOPATRA RECORDS!


Features performances by Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson, Supertramp’s John Helliwell & John Siebenberg, Toto's Bobby Kimball Manfred Mann's Chris Thompson, Cream's Jack Bruce PLUS Jazz-Rock giants Al Di Meola, Cory Henry, Mike Stern, Randy Brecker, Bill Evans, Richard Bona and many more!

Los Angeles, CA - L.A.-based indie label Cleopatra Records and Hungarian-born songwriter/producer/musician Leslie Mandoki, the mastermind behind the living, breathing art rock project Mandoki Soulmates, are proud to announce the release of the first full-length album since the two entities joined forces earlier this year. Coming out on Cleopatra’s venerated progressive rock imprint, Purple Pyramid, home to such artists as Nektar, Tangerine Dream, Hawkwind-alumni project Hawkestrel, and Rick Wakeman, the album entitled Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures is actually a double album adding the 45-minute Prog Rock suite Hungarian Pictures, based on a musical concept by Deep Purple’s Jon Lord & ELP’s Greg Lake, to the original Living In The Gap album. Having already topped the Amazon Classic Rock Charts in Germany, Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures is poised to bring a whole new audience in North America, South America, the UK and beyond into the Soulmates’ family of fanatics.

As with his other projects under the Mandoki Soulmates banner, Leslie Mandoki has brought together a Murderer’s Row of rock icons and musicians from some of the biggest names in prog and classic rock including Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson plus current and former members of Toto, Cream, Supertramp, ELP, Blood, Sweat & Tears, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band and this list goes on and on! The coming together of such a diverse cast perfectly expresses the album’s lyrical theme of unity, which couldn’t be a more timely message for today’s world. Mandoki explains in the album’s video trailer, “We know that music is the greatest unifier…[These are] songs against division, from the old rebels to the young rebels. This is our time to take a breath for a better world.”

Watch the entire album trailer here:


Stream Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures here: https://orcd.co/mandoki_soulmates_living_in_the_gap

For additional information about this release, including press clippings, photos and more videos, visit: https://promo.mandoki-soulmates.com/ When entering the site, check out the newly developed Soulmates Weekly short-film series, providing exclusive and private insights behind the scenes of the Mandoki Soulmates who share their stories of performing with their legendary companions both on and off stage!

Also be sure to check out Mandoki Soulmates and Ian Anderson’s special tribute to the heroes of the COVID-19 pandemic - hospital workers, grocery store clerks, food delivery drivers, and others - on the digital EP We Say Thank You! Proceeds from the EP will be donated to The United Nations Foundation’s COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund in support of the WHO (World Health Organization) and The Mayor's Fund to Advance New York City.

Stream the We Say Thank You EP here: https://orcd.co/mandoki-soulmates-with-ian-anderson

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com


Follow PURPLE PYRAMID  @
Facebook  |  Instagram  | Twitter | Youtube | Purple Pyramid Store
Facebook @PurplePyramidRecords
https://www.facebook.com/PurplePyramidRecords/
Instagram @Purple.pyramid
https://www.instagram.com/purple.pyramid/
Twitter @PurplePyramid1
https://twitter.com/PurplePyramid1
Youtube @ Purple Pyramid
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwiCec6bS6mX3c7dpitfYRQ
Purple Pyramid Store @
https://cleorecs.com/store/product-category/record-label/purple-pyramid/

Experimental Musician Billy Yfantis Releases Sci-Fi/Space Album "Entering the Solar System"


9 Songs For The 9 Planets Of The Solar System and One track featuring original sounds from Mars! 

Athens, Greece - Experimental musician and author Billy Yfantis, releases the Sci-Fi/Space album entitled “Entering the Solar System”. The album features 9 instrumental tracks composed for the 9 planets of the Solar System, plus 1 track called “Landing” consisting of re-worked sounds that were originally recorded on the planet of Mars by NASA. The album was composed and recorded in Athens, Greece by Billy Yfantis who used a mix of virtual instruments and field recordings. Each track represents the sonic aesthetic perception of each planet while “Landing” is the re-editing of sounds created by InSight's robotic arm as its camera scanned the surface of Mars.

The Solar System was formed 4.6 billion years ago from the collapse of an enormous interstellar cloud. The majority of the system's mass consists of the Sun along with the other 8 planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The whole scientific concept was a major influence for Billy Yfantis who is deep into Science since he is an active researcher of the University of West Attica. Billy commented on the new release: “Although my Ph.D. research is on a different field, Astronomy and Space have always been my passion. I believe that it was time to explore Space musically through the path of the virtual music technology.”

“Entering the Solar System” Tracklist:
1. Earth
2. Jupiter
3. Mars
4. Mercury
5. Neptune
6. Saturn
7. Sun
8. Uranus
9. Venus
10.  Landing

Listen to the new album here:  
Napster: https://at.napster.com/artist/billy-yfantis/album/entering-the-solar-system
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/7AY7LQ27eJ37zidpbk68N8?si=Lt0-eJajQYq4fDyiIedrDQ
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrrNqKZOKdN-lJYufpqMWJA

Billy is already working on the creation of several promotional videos to visualize the Sci-Fi experience of the new album. In the meantime, check out a promotional video for the older track “Floating in Space” (The Noisy Whispers Compilation album) that was recently posted on YouTube:


The new album features Space music with songs that vary from Film Music, Ambient, to Krautrock. The only way to understand the spirit of the album and visualize this interstellar exploration is to follow the instructions:
Grab your headphones!
Relax!
Tune in!
Enjoy an out of Space experience!

About Billy Yfantis
Vasileios (Billy) Yfantis holds 2 Master Degrees in Information Technology and is a Ph.D. candidate in the University of West Attica by conducting research on e-government. Billy has been working on music since the late 1990s by experimenting with tape mixing and sound design. Billy is playing digital keyboards, but prefers to express his artistic dream through the electronic sounds that come from unusual machines. He has experimented with the recording of vacuum cleaners, electric blenders and other strange sounds that have resulted in musical releases. Moreover, Billy has authored books on music, business and science while from times to times he speaks about the electronic governance at scientific conferences all over Europe.

Famous Quotes

Krautrock legend Harald Grosskopf (Ash Ra Tempel, Klaus Schulze, Cosmic Jokers): “I always like electronic music made by younger musicians who consequently follow their personal instinct, rather than trying to copy what’s already been made in the past, in the spirit of: Whenever you meet Buddha kill him. Keep on tracking Billy!”

Tom McLoughlin (Director of the movie “Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives”): “I really dug his music!! VERY cool stuff!!” 

Phil Lanzon (Uriah Heep): “I like the track 'Waiting for the battle.' Great riff. I can see this as soundtracks to Psycho - punk movies and the like.”

Steve Whitfield (Producer and engineer of The Cure, The Mission UK): “This music is crying out to be used in films but at the same time it's great to just sit back listen and immerse yourself in them without any moving images and let your imagination run wild!”

Discography
1. Entering the Solar System (Full album, 2020)
2. The Noisy Whispers Compilation (Full album, 2019)
3. The Mysterious Trip (Digital single, 2018)
4. Dust Not Found (Digital single 2017)
5. Crossing The Line (Digital single 2016)
6. The Electric Blender Session (Digital single, 2016)
7. The Missing Link (Digital single, 2015)

Bibliography
1. Is Prog Rock Really Progressive? (2020)
2. Hip Hop Goes Science: Volume I (2019)
3. Metal Goes Science: The Academic Metal Bibliography (2017)
4. Disadvantaged Populations And Technology In Music (2017)
5. City Streets Of Europe (2017)
6. Punk Goes Science: The Academic Bibliography Of Punk (2015)
7. The Lost Lyrics (2013)
8. The Commercial Exploitation Of Color As A Consumer Stimulus (2013)
Find Books by Billy Yfantis here:
https://www.amazon.com/Vasileios-Yfantis/e/B00JNNL306/

Contact details: 
E-mail:  Byfantis@yahoo.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/billy.yfantis
Twitter: https://twitter.com/billyyfantis
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/billyyfantis

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Folk-Rock Review: Bob Dylan - Rough and Rowdy Ways

Release Date: June 19, 2020
Label: Folk-Rock

On Rough and Rowdy Ways, his first release of original songs since 2012, Bob Dylan dishes on a wide range of topics from mortality, history, and inspiration to pop culture. He speaks more so than sings through a scratchy voice that bristles and pops like a dusty record spouting socio-political ruminations on a world that's not dark yet but getting there.  


The bottom line is that Dylan's lyrics overtake this collection. The crafty chord shifts, wailing harmonica, and rock rhythms, which defined the folk-rock sound in the '60s and '70s, are nowhere to be found. His soliloquies are, at times, poignant and prescient. Other times they are self-indulgent and self-aggrandizing, making the overall listening experience confoundingly hollow.  


If we focus on the more poignant lyrics, there is a lot to like. Dylan's masterfully infuses metaphor and weaves in pop references to create something of a hip hidden history lesson for the uninitiated. "Murder Most Foul" is by far the most potent track lyrically. Dylan skillfully uses the JFK assassination as a baseline from which to ruminate poetically on the thousand historical reverberations rippling from the impact of that fateful day. 


Still, I had a hard time picturing anything but Dylan on stage at a poetry reading with a bass player and a drummer in the corner laying down jazzy syncopations while Bob reads from a notebook of poems. Couplets that struck me most forcefully include: 


I Contain Multitudes: "I'm just like Anne Frank, like Indiana Jones. And them British bad boys, the Rolling Stones. I go right to the edge, I go right to the end. I go right where all things lost are made good again."


Crossing the Rubicon: "I feel the holy spirit inside, see the light that freedom gives. I believe it's in the reach of every man who lives."


Mother of Muses: "Mother of Muses unleash your wrath. Things I can't see, they're blocking my path."


Murder Most Foul: "The day they killed him, someone said to me, "Son. The age of the Antichrist has just only begun."


Overall, words alone are not enough to hold Rough and Rowdy Ways together, there is no sonic earth for these verses of truth to take root. Guitar & Pen gives out no free passes, as some other magazines do. While we kneel at the feet of the Gods, we won't always kiss the ring. If only old Bob had brought in Mark Knopfler to play some backing guitar, or Jacques Levy on electric violin or Daniel Lanois to produce, this would be a record for the ages. As is, I consider it more of an audiobook than a record album. While the lyrics shine, the band's restraint makes this a largely forgettable release.  


- Tom Endyke | Guitar & Pen