Skip to main content

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018
Label: Cakewalk Records

This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a pitcher and catcher in total sync for nine innings (if you are a fan of baseball you can follow, if not…). I could listen to instrumental jazz like that for an entire album, I just love it. I always have had great respect for recording artists but when you are working on some jazz fusion and rock it takes everything to an entirely different level.

I was already buckled in and ready for another ride after that burner and then “Country Drive” kicked in and kept that instrumental excellence coming. The Sanborn like sax and those red-hot guitars just kept the blood pumping, it was like the quiet storm meets the rockers. 

You will hear some of the funkiest jams and well-crafted sing-along tracks as well on this recording.  Ziarra belts out l “You Started Something,” and real toe-tapper called “March of the Diplomats,” is little lower key with minimal vocals but very effective.

Now, of course, they have to do at least one cover, right? Just to show us how they can funk it all up and make it their own. They pull it off with The Who’s “I Can’t Explain.” 

Trippin’ has musicianship beyond reproach and a universal sound and warmth that is hard to resist. You will get your groove thang on listening to this music, and if you don’t have a groove thang, you will have one by the time you are done listening to this music!

Remember music fans, spice is the variety of life itself and this band is so spicy you may need a drink or two to temper those taste buds…

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 30, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By MuzikMan Reviews & News

01. 1972
02. You Started Something
03. Lament
04. No No No
05. Trippin’
06. Country Drive
07. March of the Diplomats
08. I Can’t Explain
09. Everyone Swears
10. Ride em’ High
11. Cousins


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…