Skip to main content

Rock-Blues Review: Cream-Nineteen Sixty-Seven

Release Date: April 6, 2018
Label: Vogon

Cream Nineteen Sixty-Seven features a fantastic live recording made for Swedish radio in March 1967 and previously unreleased BBC radio sessions. Also included are live in-concert and live in the studio recordings made in the period leading up to their classic 1967 album Disraeli Gears.

Personally, I have always appreciated Cream and the talents of Eric Clapton (guitar, vocals), Jack Bruce (bass, vocals) and Ginger Baker (drums). I remember when the first round of the remastered catalog CD releases came out many years ago. I was in awe of their power and skill. They were the first supergroup trio that I can recollect. 

This CD is a documentation of a band maturing from a rock-blues band to a progressive wide-open rock-blues improvisation unit. You can hear them stretching out on all of the eleven tracks. “Toad” for instance, just cuts loose on every instrument. Baker’s drums are simply phenomenal and of course, Bruce playing bass, keeping up with his rhythm section mate, is a true wonder. And last but not least is Clapton, peeling off some scorching licks on his six-string. 

Cream was a band destined for music immortality and the music these three men made was incredible. If you stop and considered what they presented, it sounded more like 4 or 5 musicians. That is how amazing they were.

Nineteen Sixty-Seven is a fantastic recording considering how dated it is. The Vogon label did a nice job of curating and a mastering the tracks. They are as clear and concise as I could have hoped for from that time period.

Another example of how this band was cooking along is “Traintime,” with Bruce on harmonica. He definitely emulated a train rolling down the tracks on that blues burner.

Cream fans will be glad to know that this is not just for the completist. This is a group of recordings that have great historical value but at the same time hold up very well to this day. At some point, this release will be coming out on vinyl and I know I will want a copy.

The Vogon label has a growing library of releases of classic rock music. I have provided a link to the Discogs site so you can take a look for yourself.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 26, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By MuzikMan Reviews and News

01. N.S.U.
02. Stepping Out 
03. Traintime 
04. Toad 
05. I'm So Glad 
06. Sleepy Time Time ("Saturday Club", Recorded 8 November 1966 - Broadcast 11 November 1966) 
07. I'm So Glad ("Saturday Club", Recorded 8 November 1966 - Broadcast 11 November 1966) 
08. Traintime ("Saturday Club", Recorded 10 January 1967 - Broadcast 14 January 1967)
09. Toad ("Saturday Club", Recorded 10 January 1967 - Broadcast 14 January 1967) 
10. Tales of Brave Ulysses ("Joe Loss Show", 14 July 1967) 
11. Take it Back ("Joe Loss Show", 14 July 1967)



Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

British Post-Punk Veterans 1919 Return With A Brand New Masterpiece Of Darkly Melodic Goth Rock, FUTURECIDE!

Los Angeles, CA - Like the mythic phoenix rising from the ashes, British post-punk band 1919 have gone through Hell and back over the course of their harrowing career, but they keep returning stronger than ever! Founded in 1980, the band released its debut album Machine in 1983 and one EP a year later before calling it quits. However, the band reformed in 2014 to great acclaim, performing numerous tours and at festivals across Europe. Then, tragedy struck as the band’s founding guitarist Mark Tighe was diagnosed with cancer in 2016 and succumbed to the disease in January 2017. Tighe insisted that the band should carry on without him, which they have done in finest form with their newest effort Futurecide. The album, which will be officially released on April 12 via Cleopatra Records, features brand new compositions and includes special guest performances by Tighe as well as former member Steve Madden, who also passed away this year. The first single, “Anxiety,” was released at the en…

Concert Review: Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY

Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY December 13, 2018

With winter upon us in the great Northeast, it was just another night. We never have a reason to stay in because of the weather, we just go. It so happened that it was a nice evening for a drive to a Ghost concert.We secured our tickets months ago and have been anticipating this night for months on end.
Last July I attended a “bucket list” concert, the great Iron Maiden was coming to Mansfield, MA. Opening for them was Ghost. This was a turn of a friendly card for the band, a great way to get worldwide exposure otherwise not afforded by a lesser band. They were already on the rise and the lead singer Papa Emeritus had a helluva a band (no pun intended there). At that time my prediction was that when the new year began Ghost would be headlining their own shows. So, then it happened, here we are tonight watching this incredible metal band headlining their own show, with no opener may I add.
For those of you unf…