Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2018

YES 50th Anniversary Tribute Album 'Yesterday and Today' - NOW AVAILABLE!

Featuring Steve Hackett, Tony Kaye, Robert Berry, Billy Sherwood, Nick D'Virgilio, Curved Air, Dave Kerzner, Fernando Perdomo and others
London - Yesterday and Today is a tribute album to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the legendary prog rock band YES.

The album features the following special guests: Tony Kaye, Billy Sherwood, Jay Schellen, Jon Davison, Steve Hackett, Nick D'Virgilio, Robert Berry, Francis Dunnery, Leslie Hunt, Marco Minnemann, Marisol Koss, Pat Sansone, Randy McStine, Robin Schell, Sally Minnear and co-producers Dave Kerzner and Fernando Perdomo

Six members of CURVED AIR appear on a newly recorded full band version of “Soon”.

The current bass player in YES, Billy Sherwood re-records Chris Squire's signature bass track, “The Fish”, and current lead singer Jon Davison performs on an acoustic medley.

“YES turned 50 the year I turned 50 and Geoff Downes was one of the reasons I became a keyboardist myself! To celebrate and pay tribute to YES's music wit…

Music Legend Eddie Jobson To Release "1971-1979 The Band Years" 2CD Set

Includes performances by Bryan Ferry, Frank Zappa, Robert Fripp, Simon Phillips, Terry Bozzio, Allan Holdsworth, John Wetton and Bill Bruford!
Nominated for 2019 induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame for his innovative work along with Roxy Music, Eddie Jobson is considered the definitive musicians' musician. “1971-1979 The Band Years” is the first of five planned compilation albums, one for each decade of Jobson's outstanding career as an award-winning composer and internationally acclaimed keyboardist and electric violinist.

This first double-CD release features tracks from Jobson's band years in the '70s, including his work as a member of Curved Air, Roxy Music, Frank Zappa & The Mothers, and UK - the progressive-rock supergroup he co-founded with John Wetton, Allan Holdsworth and Bill Bruford. Classic tracks include Curved Air's “Metamorphosis,” written by Jobson at the age of 17; Roxy Music's “Out of the Blue”; and UK's “In The Dead of Nig…

Progressive Rock Review: Circulive::Majestik

Release Date: May 18, 2018 Label: Independent Website

Circuline's newest release, CircuLive::Majestik, was released in May 2018. The CD captures the spontaneity and exciting prog rock sound of the band at the 13th International Rites of Spring Festival, otherwise known as the RoSfest. This is CD/DVD set; however, I am going to focus on the CD first and savor the visual version later.

I covered their 2016 release Counterpointand can clearly remember being quite impressed. They were as good as any other top prog band I had recently heard. I also recently covered keyboard player Andrew Colyer’s release Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations, which is a big step away from the world of prog rock. This new release really cuts to the bone in regards to their mastery of prog rock and their talents. The group members are Andrew Colyer (keyboards, vocals), Darin Brannon (drums), Natalie Brown (lead vocals), William “Billy” Spillane (lead vocals, rhythm guitar) and Beledo (lead guitar).

Once again, a…

King Crimson's David Cross & No-Man's Andrew Booker's Unreleased 2006 Album "Ends Meeting" - Now Available!

London - David Cross was a member of King Crimson during the 1970s and Andrew Booker was a member of No-Man, Sanguine Hum and Peter Banks’s Harmony in Diversity.

This PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED STUDIO ALBUM was recorded in 2006 but had not seen a release until now.

David Cross said of the release “I met Andrew some years ago when the David Cross Band were touring with Pete Banks's Harmony and Diversity. Andrew was the drummer with that band and we got together after the tour to record some tracks. This eventually turned into the album we're releasing. Andrew brought a great deal of creativity and high level production skills to the project and is one of those people who make it easy to play - a wonderful talent!”

Andrew Booker said of the release, “David and I recorded only once together. I had come prepared with several sounds and tonal themes set up on the electronic drums, hoping to catch a little of the magic I had seen watching him with his band a few months earlier. I got th…

Instrumental New Age Piano Reviews: Brian Hagen -You're The One

Release Date: November 15, 2017 Label: Independent Website
Brian Hagen began piano lessons at four years old. That is a very young age when most children are not even in the first year of school. It looks like the lifelong commitment to the mastery of the ivory keys have paid many dividends.

You're The One is Brian’s third proper album. His range, acumen, and styles encompass contemporary classical, new age and jazz. All of the music is straightforward piano instrumentals with no accompaniment.

What I find most compelling about music like this is the way it can hold you from start to finish. The piano is so pure and unconstrained - it flows, bends, moves and shapes your emotions. It is all dependent on the pace and timing of the composition. What is simplistic at first blush can be just as complicated as several instruments playing together and so can the emotions you have that follow. It is a powerful and effective instrument.

Artist like Brian Hagen and recordings like You're The …

A Life In YES: The Chris Squire Tribute Featuring Members of YES, Renaissance, Marillion, Blackmore's Night, Curved Air, Toto and others!

Feat. Todd Rundgren, Steve Porcaro (Toto), Annie Haslam (Renaissance), John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), Sonja Kristina (Curved Air), Patrick Moraz (Yes/The Moody Blues), Steve Stevens, Dweezil Zappa, and more!
Los Angeles - Purple Pyramid Records is releasing A Life In YES: The Chris Squire Tribute; A heartfelt and masterful musical salute to the longtime bassist of prog rock legends YES, Chris Squire!

Produced by Squire's friend and frequent collaborator, and current bassist in YES, Billy Sherwood with amazing contributions from Todd Rundgren, Steve Porcaro (Toto), Annie Haslam (Renaissance), John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), Sonja Kristina (Curved Air), Patrick Moraz (Yes/The Moody Blues), Steve Stevens, Dweezil Zappa, and more!

“Needless to say this record is near and dear to my heart, Chris and I were friends for decades and his loss was epic. I wanted to honor his spirit, his writing, his bass work… And so I set forth to create this record. Everyone who participated lifted the projec…

Welsh Rock Heroes MAN Continue Their EVOLUTION With A New 6CD Box Set!

Los Angeles, CA - The unsung heroes of UK psychedelic rock, Man, have been quietly evolving over the course of their incredible 4+ decade career, transforming from the 5-piece upstart outfit who released their debut album in 1969 to a massively celebrated musical institution they've become in their home country and around the world. The key to that success, and their survival as a musical unit, has been the group's unflagging efforts to push musical boundaries further as they explore creative mutations to become ever more adaptable to the current climate. For proof, just check out the latest collection from the band, Evolution, a spectacular 6CD box set featuring 4 superb studio albums in their entirety from Man's turn-of-the-century period (1992-2006) PLUS a thrilling double concert album recorded in Berkeley CA 1976 with Quicksilver Messenger Service guitarist John Cipollina!

Each CD is packaged in its own jacket, recreating the artwork from the original release, along …

Henry Cow Legend John Greaves To Release New Album "Life Size" on Manticore Records

Manticore Records is proud to announce the new album by Alternative music legend John Greaves, now a Manticore Records Artist
British bass guitarist and composer John Greaves, best known as a member of Henry Cow and his collaborative albums with Peter Blegvad is releasing a new album titled “Life Size” on Manticore Records on November 30, 2018. John was also a member of National Health and Soft Heap, and has recorded several solo albums, including “Accident” (1982), “Parrot Fashions” (1984), “The Caretaker” (2001) and “Greaves Verlaine” (2008).

Says Manticore Records president Max Marchini, “When Greg Lake wanted me to be the artistic director of the renaissance of Manticore he was very precise: 'I don’t want Manticore to be nostalgic but respectful and helpful of any great talent, old or new. We don't want to be a progressive only label but open to any kind of music for progressive it is not a genre but an intention'.

“It's a great honor to be able to continue his qual…

New Age Piano Instrumental Review: Brian Crain-Piano and Night

Release Date: March 1, 2018 Label: Crain Records, Inc Website Brian Crain was a musically inclined child, but he was never formally educated in music, and yet has still found success as a pianist/composer.His passion was baseball however he found his true destiny in the ivory keys.

Based on what I have heard on Piano and Night, Brian Crane’s 17th album, he is doing exactly what he was meant to do. He has quite the back catalog that prospective listeners can explore, for now, we shall explore his latest effort that was released in March this year.

Brian composed and performed all 11 tracks on Piano and Night. What the title suggests to the listener is the magic of nighttime can be yours to enjoy. It does not have to be the basic fact that the sun went down. Look at the cover of the CD with all the beautiful Chinese lanterns floating upwards like little stars going home to the heavens, and Brian is off in background playing his piano to this dance of light. This is what the nighttime was mea…

Rock LP Review: The Rolling Stones Beggars Banquet 50th Anniversary Deluxe LP Set (Ltd. Edition)

Release Date: November 16, 2018 Label: ABKCO Website
The limited-edition vinyl release of The Rolling Stones Beggars Banquet 50th Anniversary Deluxe LP set features a gatefold jacket, 180-gram stereo vinyl, a bonus vinyl 12" "Sympathy For the Devil" single in mono (backed with an etching of the original release's "toilet" cover), and a replica of the Japanese bonus flexi disc featuring a 1968 phone interview with Mick Jagger is also included. This edition is wrapped in the "RSVP" cover art.How is that for music fans, especially Stones enthusiast? It is quite a beautiful package to enjoy.

The thing bands like the Stones and Zeppelin did with the blues is what made them so popular. Taking rudimentary blues songs and turning them into delicious morsels of rock, literally owning the song within their own framework and interpretation. This is something that is still going on to this day but not at that level. For the Stones, how could they possibly top th…

The First Themed Compilation of the EXCALIBUR Series of Celtic Rock Albums 'The Ladies of the Lake' - NOW AVAILABLE!

London - The Ladies of the Lake is the first themed compilation of the gold and platinum selling EXCALIBUR series of Celtic Rock albums.

The creator of Excalibur, Alan Simon, said of the compilation: “Since for creation of the first Excalibur album, it's been a privilege to work with so many strong ladies characters. I speak not just of Guinevere and Morgane, but also of the talented singers who have brought some of the roles to life.”

The compilation follows the re-release of the Excalibur Trilogy, and the recently released fourth album, Excalibur IV: The Dark Age of the Dragon.

Alan Simon continued: “The rock genre is often dominated by so many male musicians, but it shouldn't be forgotten how much Moya, Jacqui, Maddy, Karan, Kohann, Nikki, Sonja, Siobhan and Maite have given of their unique musical talents. This compilation is a tribute to them. they are the Ladies of the Lake. the Ladies of Excalibur. Please enjoy :)”

The compilation features the guests:
Moya Brennan
Maddy…

Holiday-Instrumental-Classical Review: Andrew Colyer-Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations

Release Date: November 16, 2018 Label: Inner Nova Music Website
Well here it is almost Halloween and me, I am listening to a Christmas album! So why am I doing this right now instead of waiting until its closer to Thanksgiving? My answer to that is I knew it was going to be a different type of recording, an improvisational type of piano excursion with dissimilar influences peppered into the final recipe to make it more interesting and tastier.

For Andrew Colyer Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations is a big step away from Circuline, a progressive rock band he is part of. I covered the band’s Counterpoint album in 2016.

So, knowing this I was getting ready for a real treat. What Andrew decided to do was to record live off the floor. Everything is completely spontaneous without arrangements or refinements. That, by all means, is a big risk to take for any recording artists. All I can say is, this man has a lot of confidence in his abilities. Magically, all of this works out very well.

I really …

New Age-Meditation Review: White Sun-White Sun III

Release Date: September 28, 2018 Label: Be Why Website
White Sun is an American musical group formed in Los Angeles, California. The line-up consists of Gurujas Khalsa (singer, principal songwriter), Adam Berry (producer, instrumentalist), and Harijiwan Khalsa (founder, percussionist).

Two years have passed since I listened to and reviewed White Sun II. The album won the 59th Annual Grammy Award for Best New Age Album in 2017. That did not surprise me in the least as it was well deserved.

White Sun III arrived at the end of September ready to capture listeners attention. This time it is a two-cd set with 23 Kundalini mantras. That is a lot of music and plenty of opportunities to get grounded, centered and refreshed.

I find myself in the same frame of mind as I was two years ago where I am not used to an entire album of vocals accompanying all the instrumentation. That is a rarity for me, to hear an entire album with vocals in the new age genre that a band like White Sun offers.

Once again, I…

New Age World- Instrumental Review: Al Jewer & Andy Mitran-Perihelion…the turning point

Release Date: November 21, 2018 Label: Laughing Cat Records Website
Perihelion is the newest offering from Al Jewer and Andy Mitran.

Perihelion is a scientific term used in astronomy. I learn something new all the time when I listen to music and sometimes I get a science or history lesson. In this case, I got both.

In case someone reading this review is not familiar with the term like I was, here is some basic info for you so perhaps when you listen to the music it will make more sense.

per·i·he·li·on [ˌperəˈhēlēən] The point in the orbit of a planet, asteroid, or comet at which it is closest to the sun. An example would be as such "today the Sun is at perihelion." Its origin is the Mid-17th century, an alteration of modern Latin perihelium (by substitution of the Greek inflection -on), from Greek peri- ‘around’ + hēlios ‘sun’. Or as the artist puts it so beautifully on their website: The burning off of artifice and unconsciousness is our moment of enlightenment. Spiritual awakenin…