Skip to main content

Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Richard Dillon-Ring Around The Moon

Release Date: October 15, 2014
Label: Independent

This is my third Richard Dillon album I have covered this year. Previously I had the pleasure of hearing and commenting on Irish Mist and The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless.

Now I get to turn the clock back to 2014 and enjoy Ring Around The Moon. This comes at the right time of year. Although you folks that live where the sun is shining and its warm may not feel the same hearing this music, you have my personal guarantee it will warm your soul.

One look at the cover of Ring Around The Moon and you can feel the cold crisp Winter air hitting your face. The moon shines brightly like a nighttime sun and the ring emanates around it like something spiritual and magnificent. This is something so simple yet so beautiful and amazing…only if you take the time to look at it and let it infuse your spirit. The same goes for the music you hear on this recording.

The 13 tracks on Ring Around The Moon are naturally connected just like the moon and the stars are connected to mother earth and all its inhabitants. I know the joy of “Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening” and getting home for “Hot Cocoa By the Fire.” There is some magic and truthfulness in this music. I live in the perfect setting for this music and I found an instant connection just looking at the track list before I listened. New England has four seasons, each one offering its own distinctness.

“Scattering of Stars” I found quite stirring, with its changing paces and sentiments flowing through me. It reminded me of the saying “Stardust We Are.” How pure and true the meaning of all this music came to me. This is the way instrumental music should affect you. Its authority and majesty just glide from one track to the next, owning the titles the creator gave them. It is just the way it was meant to be.

Ring Around The Moon encapsulates the Winter season and everything you can enjoy about it. There is beauty in the eyes of the beholder, if in fact those eyes are clear and see what is in front of them. Sometimes it takes a little nudge from talent like Richard Dillon to make you see it all.

4.5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 22, 2017

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Groundhog Saw His Shadow
02. Ring Around the Moon
03. December Sunset
04. Dying of the Light
05. Midnight Sleigh Ride
06. First Snow
07. Dreaming of Hawaii
08. January Moon
09. February
10. Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening
11. Scattering of Stars
12. Whiteout
13. Hot Cocoa By the Fire



Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…