23 December 2017

New Age Instrumental Review: Matt Marshak-Year's End

Review by Val Vaccaro for Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck 
http://www.newagemusicreviews.net/

Release Date: December 12, 2016
Independent Label:  Nuance Music Group
Website

If you find yourself waxing sentimental and in self-reflection at the end of the year, and seek solace in the comfort of soothing music, you’re not the only one.

Matt Marshak’s Year’s End CD is a solo acoustic guitar New Age album with 14 new original songs inspired by his philosophical perspective on life and the change of seasons.  Marshak’s Year’s End CD offers beautiful, relaxing, instrumental acoustic guitar melodies with the healing power to lift your spirits at any time of year - to provide refuge from a hectic holiday season, or simple solace from the busy demands and ordeals of everyday life.

As proof of the restorative nature of Marshak’s Year’s End music, it has recently been licensed to Healing Healthcare Systems’ C.A.R.E. music channel to hospitals across America for relaxation, healing, and recovery of patients and their families and to provide a pleasant atmosphere for hospital staff.   That is a good example of ‘music therapy’ for the mind, body and soul.  Marshak’s Year’s End CD is also on the Top 100 Radio Airplay chart for Zonemusicreporter.com (formerly NewAgeReporter.com).

During a recent snowy winter evening in the New York, Marshak said (on his Facebook “Live” video to friends and fans from around world), “This time of year I get sentimental, more introspective. There’s something about the wintry weather and (playing) acoustic guitar that makes me more creative…the writing process often starts for me on the acoustic guitar.”

According to Marshak, “the introspective music on Year’s End is a big contrast from what I’ve done (before).”  Marshak’s Year’s End CD can appeal to both New Age listeners, and to smooth jazz fans alike.   Since 2003, Matt Marshak has recorded 9 smooth jazz instrumental CDs, with his music topping Billboard and other jazz charts. Marshak performs at jazz venues and music festivals in the U.S. and around the world.

On the Year’s End album, Matt Marshak skillfully plays two acoustic guitars- a Larrivee Parlor P-05 guitar and a Taylor S12 grand concert guitar - sometimes sounding like an Indian sitar.  Marshak draws upon numerous sources of inspiration for this CD. The pretty instrumental melodies on Marshak’sYear’s End CD are easy-to-listen-to tunes featuring an eclectic mix of influences from new age, pop, country, jazz, folk, medieval, and classical music, reminiscent (without the vocals) of the genre-bending music of Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, acoustic guitar riffs from Led Zeppelin, the warm sounds of James Taylor, and a variety of movie soundtracks.  Marshak recently said after playing his “Thanksgiving Day” song that: “I’ve always been a big fan of James Taylor… he was a big influence on me… his chords, his movements (on songs) like “Carolina on My Mind.”

The music on Matt Marshak’s Year’s End album also has some melodic elements similar to other New Age music such as Jim Brickman’s Sooth CDs, but without vocals, nature sounds, or a typical new age production.  The acoustic guitar songs on Marshak’s Year’s End CD are self-sufficient – they are aural soundscapes which paint their own poetic pictures.

Listeners may also want to check out videos of songs from Year’s End on YouTube. For example, there is a video is of Matt Marshak’s “Baby’s First Snowfall” with some nice photos posted by The SmoothJazzLoft. Another video features Matt Marshak playing acoustic guitar on the song “Rest My Child” - Matt Marshak (Live).

Overall, Marshak’s Year’s End CD can gracefully bring the gift of calm, with its aural soundscapes to enhance your life for any time of year.  Matt Marshak’s Year’s End CD is available on various websites including CDBaby.com.

5/5 Stars

CD Review by Val Vaccaro

December 17, 2017

 

Tracks:
01. Peace and Joy
02. Thanksgiving Day        

03. Walk in the Forest        
04. Great People       
05. Winter's Day        
06. The Light of Spring     
07. Leave Your Worries       
08. Deep Within     
09. Rest My Child       
10. This Old Barn        
11. Echo       
12. Harvest Song    
 14. Baby's First Snowfall       

22 December 2017

Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Richard Dillon-Ring Around The Moon

Release Date: October 15, 2014
Label: Independent

This is my third Richard Dillon album I have covered this year. Previously I had the pleasure of hearing and commenting on Irish Mist and The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless.

Now I get to turn the clock back to 2014 and enjoy Ring Around The Moon. This comes at the right time of year. Although you folks that live where the sun is shining and its warm may not feel the same hearing this music, you have my personal guarantee it will warm your soul.

One look at the cover of Ring Around The Moon and you can feel the cold crisp Winter air hitting your face. The moon shines brightly like a nighttime sun and the ring emanates around it like something spiritual and magnificent. This is something so simple yet so beautiful and amazing…only if you take the time to look at it and let it infuse your spirit. The same goes for the music you hear on this recording.

The 13 tracks on Ring Around The Moon are naturally connected just like the moon and the stars are connected to mother earth and all its inhabitants. I know the joy of “Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening” and getting home for “Hot Cocoa By the Fire.” There is some magic and truthfulness in this music. I live in the perfect setting for this music and I found an instant connection just looking at the track list before I listened. New England has four seasons, each one offering its own distinctness.

“Scattering of Stars” I found quite stirring, with its changing paces and sentiments flowing through me. It reminded me of the saying “Stardust We Are.” How pure and true the meaning of all this music came to me. This is the way instrumental music should affect you. Its authority and majesty just glide from one track to the next, owning the titles the creator gave them. It is just the way it was meant to be.

Ring Around The Moon encapsulates the Winter season and everything you can enjoy about it. There is beauty in the eyes of the beholder, if in fact those eyes are clear and see what is in front of them. Sometimes it takes a little nudge from talent like Richard Dillon to make you see it all.


4.5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 22, 2017

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Groundhog Saw His Shadow
02. Ring Around the Moon
03. December Sunset
04. Dying of the Light
05. Midnight Sleigh Ride
06. First Snow
07. Dreaming of Hawaii
08. January Moon
09. February
10. Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening
11. Scattering of Stars
12. Whiteout
13. Hot Cocoa By the Fire

 

20 December 2017

Original Alice Cooper Group Guitarist/Songwriter Michael Bruce "No More Mr. Nice Guy" Biography Limited Edition Box Set


London - Much to the excitement of Alice Cooper group fans worldwide, Gonzo Multimedia will be releasing Michael Bruce's critically acclaimed biography “No More Mr. Nice Guy” in a Limited Edition Box Set! The Box set contains a signed certificate, book, 1996 interview CD, and reproduction of Alice Cooper group memorabilia. Limited to 250 Units, and signed by Michael Bruce.

Written by Alice Cooper group guitarist, keyboard player and main songwriter, “No More Mr. Nice Guy” is an anthology of the band that encapsulated the decadent spirit of the 1970s. Following the group on their journey from Arizona garage band to eventual rise to stardom, it reveals the truth behind the drinking and the rock 'n' roll. This “true life” story includes the hangings, the executions, the ghoulish makeup, the egos and of course, the rock 'n' roll. Revised and updated it includes previously unseen photographs and memorabilia.

“Its not often we get a chance to redo, remake or in this case re-release a book.....my book. It is with much thought, great enjoyment,  many thanks and heartfelt appreciation for family,  friends and fans that I present the re-release of 'No More Mr Nice Guy.' A compilation of hilarious rock 'n' roll stories and life events that made me the man I am today.” - Michael Bruce

This release comes on the heels of the recent highly publicized Alice Cooper group reunion concerts in the UK!

To pre-order: https://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/michael-bruce-no-more-mr-nice-guy?user_id=754346&path_token=2f428610e8db469f711b9d488c89e876



The “No More Mr. Nice Guy” book is also available separately!

Michael Bruce FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/michael.bruce.7106

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Instrumental Guitar Review: Gerhard Daum Guitar & String Ensemble-Rural Renewal

Release Date: August 16, 2017
Label: Tone Work Records

Gerhard Daum is an artist that is inspired by his surroundings. The idea is to put yourself in the right place to find that inspiration. I think Gerhard did just that when he recorded his album Rural Renewal. The cover story is staring at you on the front of the CD. It does not take long to see where the man derives the impetus to pick up a guitar and create music.

That is the first part of the story, the second is to focus on the various sounds of the guitar. He does so beautifully on the twelve tracks afforded the listener. As he indicates in the CD liner notes, each track tells a story. He is very good at that and his expertise has been used in the motion picture industry for soundtracks as well. In fact, he is an award-winning film composer. He also adds multi-instrumentalist to that resume. 

I would not hesitate for a second to describe the movement and consistency of this recording. It is excellent from start to finish with no apparent weaknesses. I do appreciate instrumental music in general and particularly guitar oriented compositions. It was an easy sell for me but that does not give an album a free pass. It has to be excellent for me to really appreciate it. I am here to tell you that Rural Renewal is superb.

The gentle guitar sweeps that you hear throughout this album are quite inviting and relaxing. There are some other elements mixed in to give it all some layers and color including the violin and dobro. Those are factors that support the delicate yet stimulating guitar work being presented.

I found the title track stunning and picturesque. It was the kind of track the perks up the senses. Actually, every composition had a value and a distinctness all its own. I am sure that is why it was over so quickly. It is the kind of music that has you saying once its over “That’s all? I don’t want it to end.” And that my music listening friend are the keys to the kingdom as far as I am concerned.

When a listener, any listener, takes in a complete recording and enjoys it that much it normally fly’s right by. It is kind of like a job you really enjoy and before you know it the day is over. If you are fortunate to be listening to music like this or have a job where the days just disappear in the flash, well consider yourself blessed.

Gerhard Daum is a very special talent that deserves all the credit for creating a top notch instrumental guitar album.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 20, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

19 December 2017

Indo-Fusion Guitarist Rahul Mukerji's Debut Album "Ma De Re Sha" Receives Rave Reviews!


One of the most impressive albums of this year by Indo-Fusion guitarist Rahul Mukerji has been garnering enthusiastic reviews from the music press and fans alike worldwide! “Ma De Re Sha” was released in May 2017 and the response has been no less than astounding!

Says Rahul, “It has been an exhilarating experience seeing the positive reviews flood in and to see the album featured in prominent magazines and music outlets. I'm very grateful to the fans and people who helped make this album the success it has become.”

Rahul is a guitarist/musician based in Maryland, USA. Born in India, he has been performing live for over fifteen years. From dive bars and weddings, to crowds of thousands opening for the B-52s, he has had a varied performing career that has included gigs in Chicago, Boston, Maryland, Virginia, Washington D.C., and India.

Rahul has been featured on a wide array of recordings. His original pieces were featured in the short indie film “Tokyo Confidential.” His music was also featured on international and national radio stations and his compositions have been featured in various fractal and traditional animations videos and used in the official score for the Fractal Forums web episodes.

Rahul was featured in various publications like Songlines magazine, Pipeline magazine, and in 2008 Guitar Player Magazine Editors' Picks. He is also a guest Guitar Instructor on the Shred Academy website. In addition to music, Rahul is also an accomplished visual artist and regularly exhibits his work in the Washington metropolitan area. From the traditional to the digital domain, Rahul utilizes a wide array of mediums such as wood engraving, spray painting, pencil sketching, and computer fractal renderings.

From the source inspiration, to the concept, writing, arrangement, and its actual making, this project is truly a reflection of unity in diversity. This world fusion rock guitar album brings together flavors of Indian music, Middle Eastern percussion, jazz, ambient, rock, and metal. The compositions and the arrangements were inspired by interactions with people from different cultural backgrounds and walks of life, all filtered through the prism of Rahul's own multicultural upbringing between East and West. The actual making of the music involved coordination with musicians and mixing/mastering engineers living in the US, Germany, Spain, and France.



Here's what the press have been saying about Rahul Mukerji:

“His expressive guitar playing through 'Ma De Re Sha' demonstrates a dizzying range of technique and tone, while the compositions make a highly electrified fusion mix that borrows from Joe Satriani as much as John McLaughlin. These dynamic instrumental pieces stay most firmly rooted in rock mode, though it's an adeptly malleable one that always has room for exotic motifs. Mukerji's fretwork in any mode is fluid and buoyant enough to make his excitement contagious, and the result is an album happy to weave and blend all those elements until it's easy to forget they're so different at all.” - All About Jazz

“Indian born / Maryland-based guitarist Rahul Mukerji is making waves with his 2017 CD called 'Ma De Re Sha.' Rahul's music is very cinematic and his fleet fingered guitar work sounds influenced by masters such as Jeff Beck, Jan Akkerman and Al DiMeola.” - Pipeline Magazine

“Ambitious, varied and at times full of energy, 'Ma De Re Sha' has the feel of Indian cinematic music more so than Indian classical music.  And it is really good...the breadth of his interests and potential that makes this an exciting debut.” - Amardeep Dhillon, Songlines Magazine

“This cat can play. Many influences can be heard, but I want to give Mukerji more credit than that. He takes those influences, and in some cases, is an improvement over them. I highly recommend 'Ma De Re Sha' be listened to immediately and often thereafter.” - Walter Kolosky, Author and host of the Jazz Rocks Podcast

“...Perhaps the best parts of Mukerji’s playing are the emotional buoyancy and lightness of being that run through his writing and playing, even the heaviest parts. His melodies and grooves flow through the ears and leave behind a sense of bold and positive creativity. This makes him an emerging artist to contend with, one who should do well even beyond the guitar community. Buy this record tonight!” - Mike O’Cull, IndieBandGuru

“...a vertiginous mix of tasty colors. 'Ma De Re Sha' is a rapture throughout announcing the advent of a new force on the fusion scene.” - Dmitry M. Epstein, Let It Rock

“... twelve succinct tunes that showcase his compositions and chops, brilliant melodies and inventive arrangements, one foot in his Indian culture and the other foot firmly in American instrumental rock, drawing influences from both and freely superimposing them on each other...There's a lot of variety among these dozen cuts to absorb, all performed with impeccable power and precision.” - Peter Thelen, Exposé Online

“Mukerji combines powerful rock guitar hero licks with jazz-rock fusion, Middle Eastern beats and Indian music influences. He also uses a note bending technique that gives it a South Asian flavor and sets him apart from western guitar players.” - Progressive Rock Central

“Mukerji is an amazing guitarist and instrumentalist who is drawing comparisons to players as diverse and acclaimed as Joe Satriani, John McLaughlin, Al DiMeola and Steve Vai on his 13-track debut 'Ma De Re Sha.'” - Sights and Sounds of Note

“...an effective set with some impressive guitar playing” - Gary Hill, Music Street Journal 
 
“...a fusion album of the highest quality of musical excellence.” - Exclusive Magazine

To purchase Rahul Mukerji's “Ma De Re Sha”: 
https://rahulmukerji.bandcamp.com/
http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/RahulMukerji

For more information: http://www.mukerji.us

Video links: 
Youtube Channel Shortlink: https://goo.gl/GfCfj0
Album teaser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtlsgYBEBeI
FB page Shortlink: https://goo.gl/YYbPUe

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

17 December 2017

New Book "Reinventing Pink Floyd: From Syd Barrett to the Dark Side of the Moon" By Bill Kopp To Be Released February 15, 2018!


Asheville, NC - Available February 15, 2017 from Rowman & Littlefield Publishing: Bill Kopp's new book “Reinventing Pink Floyd: From Syd Barrett to the Dark Side of the Moon.” In celebration of the 45th anniversary of The Dark Side of the Moon, Bill Kopp explores ingenuity with which Pink Floyd rebranded themselves following the 1968 departure of Syd Barrett. Not only did the band survive Barrett's departure, but it went on to release landmark albums that continue to influence generations of musicians and fans.

“Reinventing Pink Floyd” follows the path taken by the remaining band members to establish a musical identity, develop a songwriting style, and create a new template for the manner in which albums are made and even enjoyed by listeners. As veteran music journalist Bill Kopp illustrates, that path was filled with failed experiments, creative blind alleys, one-off musical excursions, abortive collaborations, a general restlessness and—most importantly—a dedicated search for a distinctive musical personality.

“Knowledgeable, well-informed, conscientious, and sensitive. Bill has written about what really matters. Bill's book is a great read, and well worth the price of admission.”— Jerry Shirley, drummer for Humble Pie

This exciting volume guides readers through the works of 1968 through 1973, highlighting key innovations and musical breakthroughs of lasting influence. Kopp places Pink Floyd into their historical, cultural, and musical contexts while celebrating the test of fire that took the band from the brink of demise to enduring superstardom.

“Bill Kopp's excellent analysis of Pink Floyd's post-Syd, pre-arenas era performs a valuable service to the Floyd canon.”— Joel McIver, bestselling rock author

The book draws on archival interviews and reviews as well as many new and exclusive interviews with Peter Jenner, Ron Geesin, Steve Howe, Jerry Shirley, Davy O'List, Willie Wilson, Robyn Hitchcock and many others.

“Combining research into their classic albums and a wealth of little-known and unofficial recordings with astute and entertaining analysis, Kopp generates fresh insight into Pink Floyd's formative years. Even longtime fans of the band will be surprised and enlightened.”— Richie Unterberger, author of “Unknown Legends of Rock 'n' Roll”

Bill Kopp is a lifelong music enthusiast, musician, collector, and music journalist. His writing has been featured in music magazines including Bass Guitar, Record Collector, Prog and Shindig! (all in Great Britain), as well as Billboard, Electronic Musician, Goldmine, Trouser Press, Ugly Things and more than a dozen alternative weekly newspapers. He is the Jazz Desk Editor and Prog Editor at BLURT online, and has written liner note essays for 20 albums, including titles by Julian “Cannonball” Adderley, Larry Coryell, Edgar Winter, Rick Wakeman, The Ventures, Dave Mason and Iron Butterfly. He has interviewed several hundred musicians and music industry figures of note, and his musoscribe.com blog has features thousands of music reviews, essays, interviews and features.

“Reinventing Pink Floyd” will be available February 15 from independent bookstores and Amazon, but pre-ordering direct from the publisher saves 30%.

Author Bill Kopp is available now for interviews, and will be scheduling readings and book store appearances around the publishing date.

More information: 
http://www.reinventingpinkfloyd.com
https://rowman.com/ISBN/9781538108284

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Holiday Review: Elvis Presley-Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Release Date: October 6, 2017
Label: Sony

Elvis Presley is the top-selling solo artist of all time, having sold more than one billion records worldwide put him on top of the mountain with a very select group.  Elvis' previous Christmas releases have sold more than 22 million copies in the United States alone. That is a fact people! 

This is a great way for me to wrap up my Holiday season with a review of an Elvis Christmas album. Last season I enjoyed the colored vinyl edition of Merry Christmas Baby.

So here we go again with another new and old classic titled Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. This music was already a great group of songs but now Elvis is backed by a full orchestra, and one of the finest in the world. I just wish the man was alive to witness the technological marvels we have now at our disposal.

This recording is incredible and it fills your room wherever ever you decide to listen. It takes music from Presley’s yuletide performances from Elvis’ Christmas Album (1957) and Elvis Sings the Wonderful World of Christmas (1971). It is like taking every song and reworking them to perfection with a beautiful orchestra in step with The King as he sings some of his fan favorites.

It’s interesting how I just go through watching It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) with Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed (believe it or not for the first time!). My emotions caught up with as we moved towards the end of the movie. Now I am sitting here listening to probably the greatest rock ‘n’ roll phenomena the world has ever known. Every time I hear Elvis’s music I appreciate it more. This music moved me just as the movie did.

This was a great idea that worked very well. The final touch was Priscilla reminiscing about Christmas with Elvis in the CD booklet.

My favorites remain “Blue Christmas” and “Merry Christmas Baby.” I really appreciated how the orchestra blended so well with all the tracks. If they are in a traditional sense or with touch of blues, it all sounds great. 

Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is one you should not miss this. There is also a deluxe version with more tracks available, look for the copy with the red cover. Either way you win if you are an Elvis fan and appreciate the full-bodied sound the music has from start to finish.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 17, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Tracks:
01. Santa Claus Is Back In Town
02. White Christmas
03. Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
04. Merry Christmas Baby
05. Blue Christmas
06. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
07. Winter Wonderland
08. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me)
09. Silver Bells
10. Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem
11. O Come, All Ye Faithful
12. The First Noel
13. Silent Night

 

15 December 2017

Leonardo Pavkovic's MoonJune Records Keeps Progressive Jazz & Fusion Alive - A Labor of Love With His One Man Operation


As legendary composer/musician Frank Zappa once said, “Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny.” That statement could still describe much of the “jazz” music being released today. However, it definitely does not apply to MoonJune Records!

Brutally independent MoonJune Records, operated by no more and no less than one person only -  multilingual globetrotter and renaissance man Leonardo Pavkovic (whose main activity consists in USA and international booking of artists not on MoonJune Records, in the genres of jazz, fusion, progressive and classic rock) - has landed at the 4th place in the DownBeat's 82nd Annual Poll (2017). DownBeat is the most prestigious Jazz magazine in the world. In 2016  MoonJune reached the 7th place in the same poll. It's an achievement for someone whose main activity is something else, while running label as a labor of love.



In celebration the label is offering FREE DOWNLOAD of MoonJune Jazz Sampler IT MUST BE JAZZ, 25 jazz & beyond jazz tunes chosen from 25 MoonJune Records' releases between 2001-2017.

To download the sampler, go to the link:
moonjunerecords.bandcamp.com/album/it-must-be-jazz
Enter “0” (zero) to download for free.
Tips and donations are appreciated. And please tell your friends!

SPECIAL OFFER: If You contribute $25 You will receive a complimentary bonus: 5 album downloads. Only album on the Sampler qualify for this offer. You must contact MoonJune via e-mail (noanoamusic@moonjune.com) and make Your selection.

Direct download (in WAV, FLAC, M4A, MP3-320 formats): moonjunerecords.bandcamp.com/album/it-must-be-jazz
All albums available in CD and Download formats, and multiple titles are also available on vinyl.

​​​​​​​MoonJune Records, accidentally established in 2001 by the urge to help an old friend, the legendary late Elton Dean, is an unusual rules-breaking record label, navigating in territories of progressive music exploring and expanding boundaries of Jazz, Rock, Avant, Ethno, The Unknown and Anything in Between and Beyond. Beyond genres but there is always a great dose of Jazz, and as Allan Holdsworth (R.I.P.), Alan Pasqua, Jimmy Haslip and Chad Wackerman stated in their tune on MoonJune's seminal double live album Blues For Tony, no matter what -  IT MUST BE JAZZ!

​​​​​​​MoonJune Records is named after Soft Machine drummer Robert Wyatt’s famous 1970 epic “The Moon in June,” has already established a name for itself with “in the know” fans. Its focus is to release internationally-situated music by artists exploring the expanding boundaries of genuine, challenging, non-over-produced music that cannot be easily categorized into any specific format. MoonJune Records’ ongoing goal is to support music that transcends stylistic pigeon-holing, but operates within an evolutionary progressive musical continuum that places jazz at one end and rock at the other. The ever-expanding boundaries of these two musical categories have since come to include everything from progressive rock to ethno-jazz, from experimental avant-garde to jazz-rock, and anything in between and beyond.

Quoting Anil Prasad of Innerviews: This is a great overview of the ever-intrepid, genre-bending MoonJune label’s output that points towards, and far beyond, the jazz universe. The price is right. Download this thing and start a journey exploring one of the world’s most interesting catalogs of music.

John Collinge, editor of Progression Magazine says: Leonardo, the owner of the MoonJune Records label, is a guy often seen hobnobbing with the prog-rock and jazz-fusion intelligentsia at festivals and concert events worldwide — the man seems to know everyone, from everywhere. Small wonder that he’s a master at international networking with a globetrotting resume that likely boasts a king’s ransom in bonus miles.

Quoting the most recorded MoonJune artist, Belgian guitarist and composer Michel Delville (10 albums on MJR):  Leonardo Pavkovic is a discoverer of new sonic landscapes and a visionary manager capable of anticipating new developments in jazz and rock while maintaining his focus on the legacy of past revolutions. Because of his vision and erudition know no physical or mental boundaries, MoonJune might seem an oddity founded by a starry-eyed idealist, a rather utopian proposition in our increasingly prefab musical world. MoonJune is not just a record label pushing out alternative music. It feels more like a family of like-minded musicians keen to explore new grounds while collaborating with each other and engaging in a dialogue between the past and the present.

25 selected tune on IT MUST BE JAZZ sampler include:

1. Dwiki Dharmawan - Pasar Klewer (from the album Pasar Klewer)
2. Dusan Jevtovic - Yo Sin Mi (No Answer)
3. The Wrong Object - Saturn (Stories From The Shed)
4. Soft Works - Baker's Treat (Abracadabra)
5. Jason Smith - Up, Up And Away (Tipping Point
6. simakDialog - One Has To Be (Patahan)
7. Beledo - Marilyn's Escapade (Dreamland Mechanism)
8. Mark Wingfield - A Conversation We Had (Proof Of Light)
9. Vasil Hadzimanov Band feat. David Binney - Nocturnal Joy (Alive)
10. Talinka - Talinka (Talinka)
11. Doubt - The Invitation (Mercy Pity Peace & Love)
12. Iron Kim Style - Adrift (Iron Kim Style)
13. Soft Machine Legacy - Kings & Queens (Burden Of Proof)
14. Phil Miller In Cahoots - Press Find Enter (Conspiracy Theories)
15. Dewa Budjana - Erskoman (Joged Kahyagan)
16. Othello Molineaux - Havona (Gospel For J.F.P. III - Tribute To Jaco Pastorius)
17. Slivovitz - Barotrauma (All You Can Eat)
18. Savoldelli Casarano Bardoscia - The Great Gig In The Sky - Money (The Great Jazz Gig In The Sky)
19. Hugh Hopper - Some Other Time (Numero d'Vol)
20. Tesla Manaf - Counting Miles & Smiles (Tesla Manaf)
21. Wingfield Reuter Stavi Sirkis - Fjords de Catalunya (The Stone House)
22. Machine Mass feat. Dave Liebman - Centipede (Inti)
23. XaDu - The Place With A View (Random Abstract)
24. Tohpati Ethnomission - Mata Hati (Mata Hati)
25. Holdsworth Pasqua Haslip Wackerman - It Must Be Jazz (Blues For Tony)

Featuring 86 international musicians from different parts of the world: Abel Pabon, Alan Pasqua, Alex Maguire, Allan Holdsworth, Amy Tata, Aris Daryono, Asaf Sirkis, Beledo, Bill Jones, Bob Mintzer, Bojan Ivkovic, Boris Savoldelli, Branko Trijic, Chad Wackerman, Charles Hayward, Ciro Riccardi, Damien Polard, Dave Carpenter, David Binney, Dave Liebman, Demas Narawangsa, Dennis Rea, Derek Di Peri, Desal Sembada, Dewa Budjana, Diki Suwarjiki, Domenico Angarano, Dusan Jevtovic, Dwiki Dharmawan, Elton Dean, Endang Ramdan, Frank Harrison, Fred Baker, Fred Delplancq, Gary Husband, Gilad Atzmon, Hugh Hopper, Hul Hul, Indro Hardjodikoro, Izaak Mills, Jason Smith, Jay Jaskot, Jean-Paul Estievenart, Jenny Bliss, Jimmy Haslip, Jimmy Johnson, John Etheridge, John Marshall, Jonathan Joseph, Larry Goldings, Laurent Delchambre, Lincoln Goines, Marcello Giannini, Marco Bardoscia, Mark Fletcher, Mark Wingfield, Markus Reuter, Michel Delville, Miroslav Tovirac, Othello Molineaux, Pedja Milutinovic, Pete Lemer, Peter Erskine, Peter Sebastian, Phil Miller, Pietro Santangelo, Raffaele Casarano, Riccardo Villari, Riza Arshad, Robert Thomas, Jr., Roy Babbington, Rudy Zulkarnaen, Ryan Berg, Salvatore Rainone, Simon Fintch, Simon Picard, Steve Franklin, Tali Atzmon, Tesla Manaf, Thaddaeus Brophy, Theo Travis, Tohpati, Tony Bianco, Vasil Hadzimanov, Xavi Reija, Yaron Stavi.

For more information: www.moonjune.com

Press inquiries: 
MoonJune Records: noanoamusic@moonjune.com
Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

MOONJUNE MUSIC (BOOKING & MANAGEMENT)

MOONJUNE MUSIC (BOOKINGS & MANAGEMENT) has handled booking of almost 2000 shows since its formation in 2001. These shows have encompassed full tours, festivals, individual dates, clinics and workshops in more than 50 countries across the globe, specializing in tours in Latin America, Japan and Asia (68 tours in Japan since 2002).

Booking roster: STICK MEN (worldwide), LEVIN BROTHERS (worldwide), PETE LEVIN (worldwide), MÖBIUS feat. PETE LEVIN, LENNY WHITE, ALEX FOSTER, JEFF CIAMPA, IRA COLEMAN or TONY LEVIN, CHRIS PASIN or RANDY BRECKER, NANNY ASSIS (worldwide), SOFT MACHINE (formerly SOFT MACHINE LEGACY, worldwide), THE SECURITY PROJECT feat. JERRY MAROTTA & TREY GUNN (worldwide), GONG (North & South America except Brazil, Asia), GONG feat. STEVE HILLAGE (North & South America except Brazil, Asia), STU HAMM (North, Central & South America), SKOLHAMM ASYLUM feat. ALEX SKOLNICK & STU HAMM (North, Central & South America), HAMM & BERLIN feat. STU HAMM & JEFF BERLIN (North, Central & South America, Asia), JIMMY HASLIP ARC feat. SCOTT KINSEY (worldwide), SCOTT HENDERSON (North & Central America), WINGFIELD REUTER SIRKIS (worldwide), BELEDO (worldwide), NICOLAS MEIER (worldwide except UK), ASAF SIRKIS (North, Central & South America, Asia), GILAD ATZMON (North, Central & South America, Asia), YARON STAVI (North, Central & South America, Asia) DEWA BUDJANA (worldwide except Indonesia),  DWIKI DHARMAWAN (worldwide except Indonesia), BORIS SAVOLDELLI (worldwide except Italy & Russia), GARY HUSBAND (North, Central & South America, Asia), PFM (North America, Asia), LE ORME (North America, Asia), FRANCIS DUNNERY (Central & South America, Asia), JAN AKKERMAN (North, Central & South America, Asia), PHIL MANZANERA (North America, Asia).
Formerly booking & management for (R.I.P.) ALLAN HOLDSWORTH (2005-2016)
Coming up on the booking roster in 2018: OREGON (North America), RALPH TOWNER (North America).

Besides above mentioned artists, MoonJune Music has worked and works directly or via their booking or management representatives with: Alan Pasqua, Alex Machacek, Alex Maguire, Allan Holdsworth, Andy Summers, Anthony Crawford, Area, Arti & Mestieri, Asaf Sirkis, Banco, Beppe Crovella, Bill Bruford, Bill Simms Jr., Boris Savoldelli, Chad Wackerman, Corrado Rustici, Curved Air, D.F.A., Daevid Allen, David Cross, David Jackson, Davy Knowles, Dennis Chambers, Dennis Rea, Deus Ex Machina, Dewa Budjana, Discus, Disney On Ice, Doubt, Dušan Jevtović, Eddie Jobson, Elton Dean, Ernest Tibbs, Fabio Golfetti, Finisterre, Flash, Forgas Band Phenomena, Francis Dunnery, Garbage, Gary Boyle, Gary Husband, Gilad Atzmon, Guy Davis, Ernest Tibbs, Hatfield & The North, Hugh Hopper, Jeff Berlin, Jerry Marotta, Jimmy Haslip, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Lovano, Joey Alexander, John McLaughlin, John Tropea, Jon Hiseman’s Colosseum, Kamal Musallam, Ken Hensley, Latte E Miele, Le Orme, Lenny White, Markus Reuter, Mauro Pagani, Mel Collins, Michel Delville, Moraine, Nektar, New Trolls, Nicolas Meier, Osanna, PFM, Pat Mastelotto, Pete Levin, Phil Manzanera, Phil Miller In Cahoots, Renaissance, Richard Sinclair, Robby Krieger, Scott Henderson, simakDialog, Soft Moon, Status Quo, Susan Clynes, Terry Bozzio, Three Friends, Tohpati, Tony Levin, Trey Gunn, Vasil Hadžimanov, Virgil Donati, Xavi Reija, Yaron Stavi, Zhang Ling (Big John Blues),

During his association with 2 Plus Music & Entertainment (2010-2015, in partnership with the legendary Gentle Giant frontman and then successful mainstream music business impresario Derek Shulman), MoonJune's Leonardo Pavkovic has worked also with Billy Sheehan, Billy Sherwood, Bobby Kimball, Circa, Gary Cherone, Jake E Lee, John Sykes, Loudness, Mike Portnoy, Ron Mancuso, Texas Hippie Coalition, Tony Kaye, Whitesnake.

14 December 2017

Blind Macon Guitar Legend Joey Stuckey Live FaceBook Concert Friday, December 29


Macon, GA - End the year with a rockin' concert from the Joey Stuckey Trio. The best part? You don't even have to get out of your pajamas! Blind Macon guitar legend Joey Stuckey and his band will be doing a 45 minute concert right here on Facebook for their friends and fans to enjoy on Friday 12/29 at 8pm. We'll be streaming live from Senate Records & Shadow Sound Studio in Historic Downtown Macon-Bibb!

The concert will feature popular songs from Joey's catalog of originals.

LIVE on Facebook with the Joey Stuckey Trio
Public · Hosted by Joey Stuckey
Friday, December 29 at 8 PM - 9 PM
https://www.facebook.com/events/731072247098967/

Chances are that if you are a true music enthusiast, especially of guitar-driven Southern rock and blues, you have heard of Macon, Georgia’s official music ambassador Joey Stuckey. The blind producer and recording artist launched a new music festival in his hometown on September 29, 2017. The festival, “Joey Stuckey’s Alive Day,” hosted an array of talented musicians from across the state of Georgia. This free, family-friendly event was held in celebration of the anniversary of Stuckey's surviving brain tumor surgery as a child. While the brain tumor left Stuckey blind and with other health challenges, his parents started celebrating the anniversary of the successful removal of the brain tumor as a way to turn what could have been a traumatic experience for a child into a triumphant experience!

Stuckey sees his “Alive Day” as a chance to connect with family, friends and fans and to revel in the joy of living and music. It is a day dedicated to positivity and to uplifting the community. The inaugural concert featured 8 artists, a variety of activities for families, food trucks, perfect weather and over 500 music-lovers in attendance! Mayor Robert Reichert honored Stuckey by issuing a proclamation naming September 29th “Joey Stuckey’s Alive Day in Macon/Bibb.”

Says Stuckey, “The outpouring of love and support was humbling. It was great to have so many people gathering to enjoy the beautiful weather and outstanding music. I am excited about the continued growth of the festival and am already looking forward to next year.”

To learn more about Joey Stuckey's Alive Day check out the Mayor's proclamation and the Alive Day PSA below:
Mayor's Proclamation https://youtu.be/nJrnnbsrQa0 ;
Alive Day PSA https://youtu.be/e71pIKr8saI

For more information: www.joeystuckey.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

13 December 2017

Instrumental Holiday Review: Michele McLaughlin-Christmas Plain and Simple III

Release Date: November 24, 2017
Label: Independent
Having the opportunity to cover an artist like Michele McLaughlin is always an absolute joy. Her artistry without words via the piano can be an uplifting experience.

Especially for the Holidays we now have Christmas Plain and Simple III. The timing of its release around Thanksgiving was perfect. That is when most folks start looking towards Christmas, going to stores, sending cards and whatever else is their yearly traditions.


Some people struggle with their emotions this time of year. I being one of those people, can certainly appreciate anything original and from the heart. That is exactly what you get when you listen to the tracks on this recording. There is nothing commercial about it and someone on a screen is not trying to sell you something. Yes, there is sweet relief available, just kick back and listen.

The good thing about this collection of songs is the fact that you can recognize them if you happen to have any familiarity with classic Holiday songs. I cannot assume everyone does however a majority of folks that celebrate Christmas sure will. It was nice to hear these songs get new life breathed into them. They all shine like a Christmas tree at night. The shining beacon at the top of that tree in this instance is Michele.

Michele’s effortless flowing fingers lead you down a path of renewal and optimism. Her playing is so fluid and precise. I could not help but feel I was walking down a path of evergreens and watching my breath blow into the cold winter night. The difference here is I am not cold at all, I warm and toasty all over thanks to this beautiful music.

Thank you for lifting my spirits to higher ground Michele. I look forward to volume four next year. As the years continue to pass by quicker as I get older, I realize more and more just how precious life is and how blessed I am. Music like this brings me closer to my maker and remind me from whence I came. I am humbled and appreciative of this blessing of music once again this year.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 13, 2017

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
02. Good King Wenceslas
03. What Child Is This?
04. The Holly and the Ivy
05  In the Bleak Midwinter
06. Sing We Now of Christmas
07. Jingle Bells
08. Up on the Housetop
09. Jolly Old Saint Nicholas
10. Christmas Canon
11. O Come All Ye Faithful
12. Peace

 



11 December 2017

Instrumental New Age Review: Matthew Labarge-Spiriti

Release Date: December 1, 2017
Label: Cynelic Gast Music

Matthew Labarge ushered in December with a new set of songs for all the instrumental piano lovers to enjoy. Spiriti is his sixth proper release.

When I saw Matthew’s name come up I found an instant recognition within my memory. In 2013 one of my staff members covered Larkenlyre’s Extraordinary Voyage. I have an amazing recollection of music and I wish I could apply that to daily life with the small things. Music is at the top of list for importance and that is the reason why I remember so well.

Music is my savior, my own slice of heaven on earth that I can turn to time and time again and get the results I am looking for. In the case of Spiriti, knowing what to expect before I started was a bonus.  I knew exactly what I would be looking for. This is music to soothe the mind, body and spirit - the three most prolific parts of what makes us all human.

Somehow, I feel more in touch with who I am and my relationship with humanity when I am “alone” listening to music. Which is kind of a paradox but it works. Matthew has some shorter tracks on this release and some real stretches of ivory wizardry to offer a listener. For instance, the closing track “Love Song” is over 9 minutes long. I do believe there is some magic in this music.

Silence is golden but it becomes an enhanced experience while listening to the singularity of a piano played by musician that is one with his instrument. This music is gentle and expressive in the same breath which I ultimately find very attractive.

Matthew’s Spiriti is a man channeling his own spirit to his fingers directly to our senses. It is such a gift to play music in such an emotive way. It moved me gracefully and effectively, something I have learned to respect and appreciate more over the years. This is 12 tracks yet it is so seamless that it felt like one ever changing piece if music. This music offers healing sounds for those in need and simple relaxation and enjoyment. It is all dependent on your needs and it just may help you along your way to a new day.

4.5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 11, 2017

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Spiriti
02. Entrance
03. Each Quiet Sound
04. Between the Stars
05. Children's Song
06. Breeze from the Courtyard Garden
07. Bells and Dwindling Light
08. Six Hundred Years
09. Elegy
10. Kindness
11. Weightless, Timeless

12. Love Song
 

10 December 2017

New PledgeMusic Campaign To Support the Recording & Filming of Rick Wakeman's "Live Portraits"


Pre-order experiences, albums, merchandise and much more!

Keyboard legend Rick Wakeman will be recording a live version of his critically acclaimed album “Piano Portraits” at the Lincoln Cathedral in London on March 7th, 2018. “Live Portraits” be released on CD/DVD later this year. A new PledgeMusic campaign has been started to help fund the recording & filming of the event!

Hello everyone.

Last year I released the studio album Piano Portraits which was really well received and went Top 10 in the UK for several weeks. . Over the past year I have been touring “Live Portraits” to sell out audiences, so as a lasting record I have decided to film and record a very special performance of “Live Portraits” at Lincoln Cathedral on 7th March 2018.

After the success of the “The Myth & Legends of King Arthur” campaign in 2016 here on PledgeMusic I have decided to again work directly with you the fans on bringing this one off concert and recording to life.

By working this way I can offer so much more in the way of experiences, signed memorabilia and different formats, and create exactly what I would like everybody to see and hear.

The concert will be based on many of the tracks from the Piano Portraits album plus many additional pieces, all embellished as can only be achieved in a staged live setting,.

Thank you in advance for supporting the campaign and I hope you enjoy what we create together.

Rick

The Lincoln Cathedral in Lincoln, England is the seat of the Anglican bishop. Building commenced in 1088 and continued in several phases throughout the medieval period. It was the tallest building in the world for 238 years (1311–1549), and the first building to hold that title after the Great Pyramid of Giza. The cathedral is the third largest in Britain (in floor area) and is highly regarded by architectural scholars. Part of the blockbuster film “The Davinci Code” was filmed there.

For more information and special packages being offered: https://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/rick-wakeman-live-portraits

Rick Wakeman's official website: http://www.rwcc.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

09 December 2017

"Greg Lake Live In Piacenza" Limited Box Set, CD & Vinyl Now Available!


Manticore Italy Records is proud to announce the release of “Greg Lake Live In Piacenza” Limited Box Set, CD & Vinyl! Recorded in sound-demonstration quality this is the documentary of Greg Lake's last tour, recorded on November 28, 2012 in a sold out Teatro Municipale in Piacenza. It was a very special, magical evening, as Greg remembered in his outstanding autobiography, Lucky Man. The audience was so warm and he gave such a passionate performance. The Mayor of Piacenza and all the municipality attended the concert and went on stage thanking Mr. Lake for opening the “Musiche Nuove in Piacenza” festival. The concert was a triumph and eventually on January 9, 2016 the trustees of Conservatorio Nicolini of Piacenza gave Greg Lake the first honorary degree ever given by a Conservatorio.

This is a wonderful record, bringing the “Songs Of A Lifetime” project to its highest point. Exclusively for this concert, Greg performed with 3 special guests: Le Orme's leader Aldo Tagliapietra, ex PFM and Acqua Fragile's great vocalist Bernardo Lanzetti and the young talented Annie Barbazza, making the Piacenza show even more special and rare. It was Greg's wish that a precious, audiophile limited edition would re-launch his Manticore Label.

One outstanding memory I have of performing Songs Of A Lifetime show in Europe was on 28 November 2012 in the small city of Piacenza in Italy. The concert took place at a wonderful theatre there, the Teatro Municipale, which looks rather like La Scala in Milan with beautiful gold balconies and crystal chandeliers. I love Piacenza, and the Conservatorio di MusicaGiuseppe Nicolini there awarded me an honorary degree in 2016 for the way that King Crimson and Emerson, Lake & Palmer helped to bring classical music into young people’s lives - what an honour.

The show at Teatro Municipale was recorded and I decided to release a special collector’s edition of it on vinyl. Somehow the event, the feeling of the music and the atmosphere all seem to be suited to being reproduced in this analogue way.

Max Marchini recorded and produced the concert in Piacenza and together with Max I decided to restore Manticore Records label for the production and distribution of high-quality vinyl recordings. - Greg Lake, from “Lucky Man - The Autobiography”


(photo by Franz Soprani)

“Greg Lake Live In Piacenza” is available as:
1) very limited double premium audiophile vinyl in 700 hand-numbered copies, gold hot foil lettering.
2) very limited CD in 1600 hand-numbered copies, gold hot foil lettering.
3) very limited Box Set in 500 hand-numbered copies, gold hot foil lettering containing: double vinyl in clear audiophile edition, CD in audiophile gold limited edition, 10 in-folio photographic prints, original concert poster and ticket, exclusive video DVD documentary of the concert, Greg Lake logo sticker.

Produced by Greg Lake and Max Marchini
Recorded by Alberto Callegari
Mixed and mastered at Elfo Recording Studios, Tavernago (PC)
Post Productions by Greg Lake and Annie Barbazza.

Tracklist:
01. 21st Century Schizoid Man
02. Lend Your Love To Me Tonight
03. From The Beginning
04. Heartbreak Hotel
05. Epitaph/In The Court Of The Crimson King
06. I Talk To The Wind
07. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
08. Touch And Go
09. Trilogy/Still... You Turn Me On
10. I Believe In Father Christmas
11. Shakin’ All Over
12. C’est La Vie
13. People Get Ready
14. Lucky Man (featuring Annie Barbazza, Bernardo Lanzetti and Aldo Tagliapietra)
15. Karn Evil 9 (1st Impression, part II)

Visit Manticore Italy Records to purchase “Greg Lake Live In Piacenza”: www.manticorerecords.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

06 December 2017

Classic 1983 Prog Album By The Gardening Club Reissued With Bonus Tracks!


Gonzo Multimedia has reissued the debut album by the Gardening Club! Originally released in 1983, this Prog influenced record was “the right album at the wrong time.” It has now been re-released with an additional five studio tracks complementing the albums original twelve tracks.

The CD package sports the original Gardening Club cover and includes a 24 page illustrated lyric booklet, created especially for this re-release by musician/artist, Martin Springett.

Says Martin, “I am thrilled that this music is finally seeing the light of day. I felt at the time that it was special, the perfect marriage of my art and music, influenced as I was by all the classic Prog music of my youth, and the wonderfully over the top and imaginative packaging. I have been in Canada for many years now, but as many listeners have told me, I have retained my 'English sound.'”

“The record sounds like the ‘70s; channels the aesthetic and narrative attributes of Middle Ages poetry and art; was released during the heyday of futurist pop, and is now being reimagined more than 30 years later.” - Jeff Low, Broken Pencil

“Now this is that classic prog rock sound that we all love so deeply and dearly...Just a gorgeous, inimitable, eternal album, that deserves to live forever.” - Julian Ryan, Discogs.com

Martin Springett was born in the U K but moved with his family to Canada in 1965. In 1969 in Vancouver he recorded an album of settings of Tolkien's poems from Lord Of The Rings and the Hobbit. Alas, Christopher Tolkien did not allow the record to be released. Martin played in bands and toured in Canada and the U S, but returned to England in 1971 to seek a record deal. He toured in Europe with a band called Gateway Driver, based in Hanover. Upon returning to Canada, a move to Toronto meant entering a new musical landscape and a Vancouver pal, Don Geppert, now a respected engineer in the Toronto music scene worked with Martin on an LP called The Gardening Club, which was released in 1983. Martin has continued to write create and record music in the intervening years, releasing six independent CD's.

Martin and his band mates, Norm Macpherson, producer and guitarist, and James Macpherson, drums and synths, recently completed a new Gardening Club album called The Riddle. Martin is now putting the finishing touches to the art that will accompany this record.

To purchase The Gardening Club: http://www.gonzomultimedia.co.uk/artists/7049/Martin%20Springett

For more information: http://gardeningclubmusicandart.ca/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Holiday-Folk Review: Blackmore's Night-Winter Carols

Release Date: October 6, 2017
Label: Minstrel Hall Music

Blackmore’s Night is ready to usher in the Holiday season with their latest release Winter Carols. They do it all like nobody else and that one factor makes it more intriguing. The perspective listener has an opportunity to enjoy some seasonal music in an entirely different way.

This band has had me mesmerized since day one. Richie Blackmore’s incredible guitar and his wife Candace Night who sings like an angel every step of the way, it just sweeps me away. Her voice is so warm and positive you cannot resist smiling and tapping your feet to all their music.

For me it takes awhile to get into the spirit of the Holidays every year because of the overuse of commercialism pushing over eating and over spending. I can forget about all that and focus on the music and those I love. I get there with a little help from these wonderful musicians delivering their very special music into my home. I have a lot of different emotions this time of year for many different reasons. Music helps me to smile inside and heal any hurt I may be feeling while thinking about those I have lost over the years.

This two CD set is a great way to kick off the Holiday’s and it did just that for me. Blackmore’s Night has a special blend of rock, folk and Celtic that takes the nod from some ancient tunes.  What is the best part of that? It is putting their own flavor and spin on the tracks and taking you on quite a musical journey to enjoy. They create a lot of their own music however they have reworked some from songs that were written centuries ago as well.

If all this great music was not enough, Candace sings “Christmas Eve” in German, and perfectly I might add. This is a band of musical perfectionist that know how to get it done in one take. If you listen to tracks from “Live from Minstrel Hall” you hardly can tell the difference between the polished studio work and live recordings. Of course, the live music allows for some interesting improvisation on more than one occasion. I have had the pleasure of seeing them live and it is truly an incredible experience.

Blackmore is a real craftsman and a master of the six-string. His acoustic playing is perfected and beautiful. Every once in a while, he cuts loose on the electric guitar reminding everyone that he can still rock if he chooses to. I always have enjoyed this music and prior to this band Deep Purple and Rainbow, in fact I still enjoy it all. 

Winter Carols is not only a worldwide tribute to Christmas it is a portrait of musical history intermingled with modern technologies. It is everything that I could have asked for to persuade me into the joy and love of the upcoming Holidays. I have a lot to be grateful for and that includes amazing music from one of the best bands in the world.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 6, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Tracks:

CD 1:
01. Deck the Halls
02. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
03. Oh Christmas Tree
04. Hark the Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithful
05. I Saw Three Ships
06. Winter (Basse Dance)
07. Ding Dong Merrily on High
08. Ma-o-Tzur
09. Good King Wenceslas
10. Lord of the Dance / Simple Gifts
11. We Three Kings
12. Wish You Were Here
13. Emmanuel
14. Christmas Eve
15. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

CD2:
16. Hark the Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithful (Live from Minstrel Hall)
17. Emmanuel (Live from Minstrel Hall)
18. We Three Kings (Live from Minstrel Hall)
19. Ma-o-Tzur (Live from Minstrel Hall)
20. Good King Wenceslas (Live from Minstrel Hall)
21. Christmas Eve (2013 Version)
22. Christmas Eve (German Radio Edit)
23. Christmas Eve (English & German Radio Edit)
24. Christmas Eve (English Radio Edit)