Skip to main content

Easy Listening Review: Paul & Friends-Journey of the Heart

Genre: Easy Listening
Release Date: April 2, 2016
Label: P&J Records
Nine years have passed since I had heard music from Paul Sammarco. I covered his Smooth Sailing album back in 2007 and as I recall it was a jazz flavored treat that I really enjoyed. I was hoping for the same kind of experience with Journey of the Heart. With a total of 12 featured tracks and an additional four bonus tracks there is a lot to take in. There was nothing to be disappointed about at all throughout this release.

The lead off and title track “Journey of the Heart” kicks of the album in an upbeat fashion musically and with the expressive vocals of Michael Klaus. This is easy listening or adult contemporary however it does cross over quite a bit into other areas as it is sprinkled with jazz, pop, some rock, kind of like a musical kettle of fish if you will. For these ears that is just fine and dandy. I appreciate the eclectic approach if it is presented properly. 

“Lost and Found” is such nice track, the acoustic guitar lines and piano conveys a touching message of life and some of the misfortune we experience and the other brighter things we may along that journey.

If you can remember 70s radio, if you are old enough that is, “Laughter in the Rain” will bring back a lot of memories of AM radio and those long hot summer days. “Create In Me A Clean Heart” is an instrumental to change the course a bit then “Yesterday’s Dream” is a bluesy folk song with a longing guitar strumming and harmonica calling out like a train looking for its tracks. With Sarah Sullivan on vocals it has all the elements for some fine home cookin’ ready to order blues. That is what this recording offers, constant change and so many different styles you just never have the opportunity to get uninterested.

I think the mixture of talent on vocals and the variety of instruments involved with each track is a sure fire winner. It is not an easy task to bring together so much talent and make it work just right and I would have to say that Paul Sammarco and Friends sure put their best foot forward on this fine recording. It is definitely worth a good listen or two, if you cannot find some tracks you enjoy something is missing, like a pulse! So find a comfy chair, get the fireplace going and turn it up, it will warm your soul.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Journey of the Heart, Lost and Found, Yesterday’s Dream

01. Journey of the Heart
02. Call Her Mellow
03. Lost and Found
04. Laughter in the Rain
05. Create in Me a Clean Heart
06. Yesterday's Dream
07. Bad Habits
08. Beautiful Day (Reprise)
09. The Lord, He Knows
10. Find Your Paradise
11. Out of the Woods
12. The 23rd Psalm, With a Children's Prayer
Bonus Tracks:
13. Have You Ever Seen (Background Vocals Version)
14. Drift Away (Background Vocals Version)
15. Just One More Time (Background Vocals Version)
16. Just One More Time (Lead and Background Vocals Version)   
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
Founder of:

June 1, 2016
Review Provided By Write A Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …