Skip to main content

Contemporary Progressive Rock Review: Profuna Ocean-In Vacuum

Release Date: 8th January 2016
Label: Freia Music

Profuna Ocean is a contemporary prog rock band formed in The Netherlands back in 2008. The debut album, Watching The Closing Sky, was released the following year, and picked up some international attention as well as some Dutch radio play. Indeed, it was one Rick Wakeman, The Caped Crusader himself, who aired Profuna Ocean’s music when he was a broadcaster on Planet Rock Radio. The band then continued to enhance their growing reputation by sharing stages with bands such as Focus, Knight Area and Racoon. 2013 saw the band win the award for “best prog rock band of The Netherlands” for their song, “Waiting For The Fall.”

All the while, the band were working on the second album, refining and evolving their style. They were taking onboard influences from bands like Porcupine Tree and Pineapple Thief in the progressive area of their music but adding the sort of power and intensity a band like Anathema demonstrated, to further hone the newer material in their style.

Profuna Ocean is a 4 piece band comprising Fred den Hartog (drums), Raoul Potters (vocals, guitar), Arjan Visser (bass) and Rene Visser (keyboards) and album No 2, In Vacuum, was released recently. In Vacuum is an 8 track album with a total playing time around 62 minutes, with the title track, “In Vacuum” being the shortest of the eight, running for less than 2 minutes (1:11) and the longest track being “Hanging In The Balance” at over 13 minutes (13:30).

The opening track to any album is important as it has to say “you are really going to like this” and then proceed to grab your ears and provide the evidence for this statement. The spotlight falls on “Thousand Yard Stare” (7:29) at the start of In Vacuum. Starting with crashing power chords, it quickly evolves into gorgeous melodic voices with an acoustic guitar and piano before returning to the power chord sequence with more emphatic vocals. The vocals are terrific and the overall feel of the track is that it neatly straddles the hard, heavy rock and gentle, acoustic, melodic areas. As an opening track, “Thousand Yard Stare” is a definite winner, veering as it does, constantly engaging the listener, plus there are some “killer” electric guitar passages. The track sets the listener up perfectly for the rest of the album.

“Awakening” (4:54) is another track that has a driving feel to it with a heavier sound, but the vocals retain their very melodic flow. This is a shorter track, but has a “hook” from early on which resurfaces several times.

Next up is the longest track, “Hanging In The Balance” (13:30) which allows the band to fly. From the superb guitar, backed by the excellent power unit of bass and drums and the ever present, but only briefly taking the spotlight, sweep of the keyboards, this track simply flows effortlessly, going through seamless changes of tempo and power. “Hanging In The balance” is one of those tracks that you just want to hear over and over again. The long instrumental passages show the amazing tightness of the musicians involved.

“Losing Ground” (8:00), “Ghost” (5:09), “Beautiful Sunrise” (10:36) and the title track, “In Vacuum” (1:11) are in turn, melodic but driving, acoustic and just beautiful, harsh power chords, sweeping keyboards and atmosphere with the title track a short atmospheric building track. 

The final track, “Clean Slate” (11:42) starts up like a powerful rock track with power chords and great vocals before evolving into an atmospheric piece of music which then morphs into an engine-room showcase (bass and drums) before some superb guitar leads back into the heavier mode. Towards the end of the track, a piano has an excellent passage together with a “whistling wind” and the track fades away.

I feel that the album, In Vacuum, require several listens before you realize that this is a great piece of work. The band has managed to make an album which filters into your head a little more with each play, and then it hits you without warning.

As always, this reviewer’s opinion is a very personal one, but I would encourage you to give Profuna Ocean a listen and I feel that there will be very few disappointed people.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks:  Hanging In The Balance, Ghost, Beautiful Sunrise

1. Thousand Yard Stare
2. Awakening
3. Hanging In The Balance
4. Losing Ground
5. Ghost
6. Beautiful Sunrise
7. In Vacuum
8. Clean Slate

Jim “The Ancient One” Lawson-Sr. Reviewer Prog Rock Music Talk
April 5, 2016
Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…