Skip to main content

Instrumental New Age Review: Josefine and Trine Opsahl-Unbroken Dreams

Release Date: November 13, 2015         
Label: Heart To Heart

Trine Opsahl is a composer and talented harp musician. Joining forces with her daughter Josefine on the cello, this duo has created a new album of Nordic and Celtic folk music. The album sticks with you long after the playing is over. Thirteen original pieces composed by Trine bring a blend of contemporary and classical elements and improvisations that grab hold and let your imagination take flight. Unbroken Dreams is Trine Opsahl's fourth album.

The first piece on the album is "The Last Grasp of Winter." It begins with a fluttering harp sequence that made me instantly think of snowflakes. The cello eases into the picture, eliciting images of sweeping snow covered hills and icy winds determined to keep their hold over the world. But then the tone of the piece changes. A lilting flower winds its way open amidst the frosty backdrop. One crimson bloom against the frigid air…and spring struggles to take hold once again. Thus the dance of the seasons begins, all set to the elegant melodies of harp and cello and the artisan workmanship of Trine and Josefine Opsahl. 

I can think of no other perfect title for "Fairytale." Listening to this album, I wrote my latest manuscript and this piece in particular reached down and lifted the story from my writer's heart. Sweet and tender, you can hear the hero coming to the rescue of the damsel in distress or even a beauty waking from an enchanted sleep in the loving arms of her prince charming. Winding sequences of cello and harp craft a spell that any lover of Celtic music will absolutely adore.

"Drifting On Silky Clouds" begins with a pensive cello movement reminiscent of a storm passing over. Sweet, fluffy clouds drift in, both dark and light fighting for the right to take over the sky. Sunlight shines through the cloudbank, drifting down in radiant harp sequences that enliven the soul. Drifting melodies spiral and twist through the air, an audible dance of majesty.

Trine and Josefine Opsahl are a marvelous mother and daughter duo. Unbroken Dreams is a brilliant combination of Celtic and Nordic tradition blended with contemporary inclinations. The spiraling nature of each piece was like a flower bursting open, with new discoveries every step of the way. I couldn't stop listening and don't plan to any time soon. There is a reason Opsahl's work is used as soundtrack material in documentaries. It's that good. And now with the added layer of her daughter's cello work, I'm hooked for life. More please. This album is amazing. If you are a fan of fantasy novels or just plain good music, you seriously have to get this album.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: The Last Grasp of Winter, A Fairytale, Drifting on Silky Clouds

01. The Last Grasp of Winter    
02. A Star in Heaven is Born Tonight    
03. Dawn/The Light Dances my Love    
04. Drifting on Silky Clouds    
05. A Fairytale    
06. Diving into an Ocean of Love    
07. I am your Moon and your Moonlight too    
08. Somewhere in a Hidden Memory    
09. Castle of Unbroken Dreams    
10. Sterna Paradisae    
11. Rosebed Garden    
12. Norwegian Summer
13. Ladybirds and Butterflies

Dana Wright, Sr. Staff Writer
February  15, 2016


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

Alternative Rock: mariaFausta -Million Faces

Release Date: November 12, 2017
Label: Independent
Website mariaFausta is a European alternative rock vocalist. Recently her album Million Faces became available. I knew that she would probably sing with an accent and she does. Here is the thing with that aspect of a recording artist, either you cannot get past it or you like it, there is no middle ground. After that process and you decide you like it, you realize it is part of the charisma and make up of what the artist is presenting. For my ears things landed on the positive side in all aspects.

Maria’s sound is a varied approach that works very well. It certainly is alternative rock and one of the most original and different albums I have heard in 2017. I hear a ton of instrumental music and sometimes find it difficult with redundancy regarding my words. That is something that all writers worry about. You are cognizant of that fact at all times. Well let me tell you, this music was a total joy to hear and then have the opportunity to p…

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…