Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2016

Holiday Music Review: The Classic Big Band Christmas Album-Various Artists

Release Date: November 4, 2016 Label: Sony Legacy Website
The Classic Big Band Christmas Album is a special edition release from the massive archives under the direction of Sony/Legacy. The recordings were originally released in 1941. This is in the LP format to make it something more collectable and enjoyable, if you appreciate the warm sounds of vinyl coming through the speakers.
Some of the big band icons are part of the collection such as Glen Miller, Harry James and Benny Goodman and their orchestras.
What I think is special for folks like me is that I remember listening to this kind of music when I was a little boy. My parents had the old 78s and I thought “The Flight of the Bumblebee” was just the coolest thing.
This a holiday collection just in time to get you in the spirit and perhaps remember something special that you experienced during your life.  For some of us there is both happiness and sadness if you are old enough to have parents that have passed. This music will help relie…

Instrumental New Age/Piano Review: Kathryn Kaye-Reflected in a Flowing Stream

Release Date: December 31, 2016 Label:Overland Mountain Music Website
Kathryn Kaye is continuously creating and recording music. It must be my concept of time but it feels like I just complete a review and then another release awaits my attention once again. That is all good for sure, it is probably the fact that time just escapes me so much faster than when I was a young man. With all that considered I need music to keep the energy of youth inside me and thus it is expressed outwardly to the people around me in a positive way.

While listening, it becomes easy to wax philosophically once I get into the flow of some good instrumental music, especially with talented artist like Ms. Kaye.

Kathryn is a few weeks away from releasing another masterful creation of piano tracks titled Reflected in a Flowing Stream. Once again we see a recording artist making the important connection to our surroundings, more specifically to nature. The sheer beauty of shimmering water gives us the reflections of l…

Instrumental New Age/Meditation Review: Byron Metcalf-Inner Rhythm Meditations

Release Date: September 30, 2016 Label: Sounds True Website
For thousands of years people have been using drums and other acoustic instruments to create sounds and rhythms. There were many reasons to create these sounds other than for the pure enjoyment of generating different sounds. They would gather to summon spirits, gods, the dead and go into a trance-like state or vision quest.

Enlightened spiritual individuals like Byron Metcalf take those ancient traditions and use today’s technology to create a canvas to paint a musical picture upon. He brings you into his world with his latest release Inner Rhythm Meditations. The subtitle of the release is “Music for expansive awareness & inspired movement.” All those words certainly put everything into focus, and then when you listen, it all comes to life as you enter an entirely different space or reality, if you will. You get to make the choice how you want to enjoy this music, it is a gift and tool to use for what you request and it’s a…

Japan and Porcupine Tree Keyboardist Richard Barbieri Set To Release New Studio Album Planets + Persona via Kscope on March 3, 2017

Album teaser clip launched!
London - Legendary Japan and Porcupine Tree keyboardist Richard Barbieri releases his most sonically expansive work to date, with a brand new album entitled Planets + Persona. It is the third Barbieri solo album, but the first to feature such a wide pallet of instrumentation. Vintage analogue synthesizers combine with acoustic performances and jazz elements. Twisted voices are always present, though not in a language we can recognize. Barbieri skilfully utilizes the talents of a pan-European core of musicians to produce an album that marries synthesized sounds with organic instrumentation to conjure up vivid, colourful and allusive soundscapes. It's a skillful commingling of texture and tone, mood and musicality.

Fans can have a taste of Planets + Persona here with a teaser of all 7 album tracks:




Recorded in London, Italy and Sweden, this is Barbieri's most ambitious solo work to date with a central theme of duality that runs through the album. The t…

New Book By Douglas Harr "Rockin' The City of Angels" Feat. Stunning Images & Memorabilia of Led Zeppelin, Queen, David Bowie, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, The Who, Yes and Others!

Celebrates incredible performances by Led Zeppelin, Queen, David Bowie, Fleetwood Mac, Genesis, Heart, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, The Who, Yes!
London - Concert culture in Los Angeles, the City of Angels, in the 1970s had all the lush opulence of theater, the virtuosic chops of a classical performance, and the edge-of-your-seat excitement of rock n’ roll. First-time author, and lifelong music fanatic, Douglas Harr’s Rockin’ The City Of Angels: Celebrating the Great Rock Shows of the 1970s In Concert, On Record and On Film brings to life all the classic majesty in real time. This collection of over 500 stunning images is carefully culled from the premiere practitioners of fine art photography, covering a refreshingly broad cross section of 1970s iconic artists.

“The 1970s were a time when rock bands made expansive concept records with sweeping themes,” recalls author Douglas Harr. “Rock albums back then promised ‘theater of the mind,’ and their creators were inspired to mount elaborate s…

Blues Legend Popa Chubby Releases New Album "The Catfish"

Popa Chubby Is The Catfish. Popa Chubby sits alone at the river's edge, guitar in hand he serenades the waters knowing if the song is sweet and the wind is right The Catfish will bite. Music is the bait, music is the water of life and Popa Chubby swims deeply in the swelling tides. Popa Chubby Is The Catfish.

But Who Is The Catfish? The road is long and goes on forever, the minnows and guppies must bow to the big fish. His guitar strings are the line that reaches to the deepest part of the soul. Many rivers to cross, the Catfish knows he is the boss. The king! Le Roi! The Mac Daddy! Fat, elusive, badass, too smart for the nets of those who would try to label him. The songs, stronger then ever, paint pictures , tell stories, of love, of life, of women and of the world. The music soaring to new heights. Fearless, brave, loud.

Says Popa Chubby, “This recording is dedicated to you. You inspire me every day. You make me want to play better, write better, sing better. I love you all, you…

Drum Legend Terry Bozzio's "Composer Series" The Music & Art of Terry Bozzio Now Available in North America & Europe

Los Angeles - Legendary & award winning melodic drummer Terry Bozzio released worldwide what he calls a “Life's Work” project of Art & Music on the Japanese label Ward Records in September 2015. The set is now available in the US, Canada and Europe! Bozzio embarked on a world tour to promote it starting in Japan and Europe in the fall of 2015 & continuing throughout the US & other territories in 2016.

Terry has worked with Frank Zappa, Jeff Beck, Korn, UK, Missing Persons, Mick Jagger, Robbie Robertson, Alan Holdsworth, Tony Levin, Steve Vai, Quincy Jones, Ken Scott, Metropole Orkest, SMAP, Loudness' Munetaka Higuchi & “X” Japan's Hide - as well as Film score composers Basil Poledouris, Mark Isham & Patrick O'Hearn - see more at www.terrybozzio.com - Grammy winner, RockWalk Honoree, Modern Drummer magazine's Hall of Fame Award, Rolling Stone's Top 5 Drummers of All Time!

Bozzio said, “I've been composing, (not just song writing, lik…

Contemporary/New Age/ Instrumental-Jazz Review: Shambhu-Soothe

Release Date: February 1, 2017 Label: Acoustic Shine Website
Shambhu has a new recording arriving on the first day of 2017 titled Soothe. For this listener, I think it is a great way to kick off the beginning of another day of life that quickly turns into another in the books.

Soothe most certainly lives up to the title. Shambhu takes parts of jazz, new age and contemporary music and stirs the pot until it is simmering with the most wonderful aroma. He creates a mood of calm that is initiated then sustained throughout the recording.

Soothe features many instruments including electric and acoustic guitars, acoustic primarily, percussion, English horn and soprano sax, keyboards, the incredibly talented Michael Manring on bass and a host of other very talented contributors that make this album everything it could possibly be.

The more I listen to a fully realized recording like this it makes me think that mentioning some key tracks is the wrong road to take. Looking at this album as one contin…

Emerson, Lake & Palmer Legend Greg Lake - RIP - December 7, 2016

London, UK - Legendary Greg Lake sadly passed away on Wed. Dec. 7th. As a founding member of King Crimson and Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Greg Lake has been a major force in music for over 40 years. He has long been considered a legendary voice and musical powerhouse whose impact changed the landscape of rock and roll. Many simply refer to him as “The Voice”.

Greg was just finishing his autobiography titled “Lucky Man”, which is  scheduled for release in 2017.

Says his long time manger and friend Stewart Young, “Yesterday, December 7th, I lost my best friend to a long and stubborn battle with cancer. Greg Lake will stay in my heart forever, as he has always been. Despite his illness which he knew to be terminal he always took the view about his life, career and family that he was indeed a lucky man... His family would be grateful for privacy during this time of their grief. Many thanks.”

Website: www.greglake.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/greg.lake.14

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR…

RnB Music Artist/Producer Binky Womack, Nephew of Legendary Bobby Womack, Releases New Album "Womack Style"

Featuring guest appearance by Snoop Dogg! 
Los Angeles / London - “Womack Style” is the latest album project from Binky Womack, a member of one of the most iconic music families of all time. Nephew of music legend Bobby Womack, Binky's new album is released through Gonzo Multimedia UK.

Binky has his own studio in Burbank, California (The Ear Hole Recording Studio) and acts as a producer to many top line artists. He also has a publishing company, Bindelari Music, which is represented by World Domination Music for the world excluding North America. Bindelari is also the vehicle for new acts such as Jae, as well as Binky's own material.

Binky Womack Song Writer, Musician, Producer, Remixer and now Artist & Performer, as well as part of the Womack Musical dynasty.

Says Binky, “I've been in the game for a while Producing Tracks for Various Artists. My Offices are in Burbank Ca. Available for all aspects of production, credits include but not limited to: TuPac, KID Frost, Ba…

Americana-Folk-Contemporary Review: Doug Hammer-Americana

Release Date: November 1, 2016 Label: Dreamworld Productions Website

Doug Hammer’s release Americana was released on a significant day of the year. November 11th is to honor our veterans, those that have served and given the ultimate sacrifice.
The album in its entirety however is a tribute to all the music that explores our country’s legacy and heritage. It is about some of the building blocks and spirit that makes our country great.
I recently talked to a Servicemember of the Reserves and he said “You can’t ever tell an American that something is not possible.” If you have a dream and are willing to work hard to reach it, then the opportunity will present itself when you are ready to receive it. I honestly take that to heart and have lived it many times over during my life.
There are many great tracks on this recording. In fact, I cannot think of one that I did not enjoy. Highlights for my listening pleasure were “The Good Old Days,” “Americana” and “Battle Hymn of the Republic.”
Americana…