23 December 2016

Holiday Music Review: The Classic Big Band Christmas Album-Various Artists

Release Date: November 4, 2016
Label: Sony Legacy

The Classic Big Band Christmas Album is a special edition release from the massive archives under the direction of Sony/Legacy. The recordings were originally released in 1941. This is in the LP format to make it something more collectable and enjoyable, if you appreciate the warm sounds of vinyl coming through the speakers.

Some of the big band icons are part of the collection such as Glen Miller, Harry James and Benny Goodman and their orchestras.

What I think is special for folks like me is that I remember listening to this kind of music when I was a little boy. My parents had the old 78s and I thought “The Flight of the Bumblebee” was just the coolest thing.

This a holiday collection just in time to get you in the spirit and perhaps remember something special that you experienced during your life.  For some of us there is both happiness and sadness if you are old enough to have parents that have passed. This music will help relieve some of the hustle and bustle and overall stress related to getting ready for the big day.

If you are a fan of big band music and holiday music this is the recipe you want cooking in your kitchen this year along with the Holiday meal and goodies.
I appreciated the many aspects of this collection I previously mentioned along with the fact that there are some 78 transfers included with all the crackling sounds that Mom and Dad’s records had. People like originality, something that has all the qualities and imperfections that goes along with something well worn. As they say on American Pickers, it has some good patina (I am using it as a frame of reference we all know rust doesn’t form on LPs!). 

There is a lot to like here, well everything. This music will transport you back to a time long ago before computers, cell phones, the internet, political correctness and social media. It certainly was a less complicated world when this music was recorded. You can hear it all resonating from start to finish.

Give The Classic Big Band Christmas Album a spin and enter a world forgotten but one that can come to life by just listening. Thanks for bringing back all the memories Sony. Merry Christmas to all and happy listening!

4/5 Stars
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 23, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

21 December 2016

Instrumental New Age/Piano Review: Kathryn Kaye-Reflected in a Flowing Stream

Release Date: December 31, 2016
Label: Overland Mountain Music

Kathryn Kaye is continuously creating and recording music. It must be my concept of time but it feels like I just complete a review and then another release awaits my attention once again. That is all good for sure, it is probably the fact that time just escapes me so much faster than when I was a young man. With all that considered I need music to keep the energy of youth inside me and thus it is expressed outwardly to the people around me in a positive way.

While listening, it becomes easy to wax philosophically once I get into the flow of some good instrumental music, especially with talented artist like Ms. Kaye.

Kathryn is a few weeks away from releasing another masterful creation of piano tracks titled Reflected in a Flowing Stream. Once again we see a recording artist making the important connection to our surroundings, more specifically to nature. The sheer beauty of shimmering water gives us the reflections of life and our own image looking back at us. The river serves as the perfect mirror particularly one that looks so calm like on the cover of this CD. It looks like a natural shiny glass window that implores you to consider it as your own way of expressing your deepest thoughts and feelings. Like a sounding board that does not speak back but only observes, the water initiates and completes a process. It calls to your soul and inner spirit.

I do not think you could possibly go wrong with such a group of talent assembled in one studio. Besides Kathryn’s talented fingers at work you get Will Ackerman (guitar) and Tom Eaton (bass, accordion) at the helm producing, engineering and recording and Tony Levin (bass), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn), Jill Haley (English Horn), Eugene Friesen (cello), Jeff Haynes (percussion) and Charlie Bisharat (violin) adding their talents to the mix. It is like an all-star cast that usually comes together at the Imaginary Road Studios. Most of the artists I work with record there and every time a new recording is released it is of the highest quality without exception. Reflected in a Flowing Stream is another one to add to the list.

Kathryn’s piano is very much like a flowing stream. Her music reflects the listener’s personality and mood; it brings it to the surface encouraging a good look at a window to the truth. It is absorbed then bounces off you with positive vibrations and touches everyone within listening distance. Every track offers a different aspect of nature that we each recognize, enjoy and ultimately relate to in our own way. 

Deeply moving and expressive, the piano and every instrument that joins in makes each track a complete experience that can be enjoyed more than once. I would think each time you hear it you may find something different you did not notice before, perhaps a subtle nuance that either makes you feel happy, sad, melancholy or at peace with an internal calmness that can only be achieved by listening and letting the tones and atmospheres of the music take you to each special place the track titles suggests.

Kathryn, you have done it again; Reflected in a Flowing Stream is beauty and perfection all in one package topped off with a big red bow for the Holidays and a great way to start the new year.

5/5 Stars

Tracks:
01. A Lark in the Last Night of Day
02. As Seasons Change )
03. Procession of Moon and Stars
04. The Stillness Before Dawn

05. No Reason Not to Dance
06. Winter’s Deepest Sleep 07.  As Summer Fades to Fall 

08. April Rain
09. A Shower of Summer Nights 

10. Reflected in a Flowing Stream 
11. Arctic Night 
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 21, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

16 December 2016

Instrumental New Age/Meditation Review: Byron Metcalf-Inner Rhythm Meditations

Release Date: September 30, 2016 
Label: Sounds True

For thousands of years people have been using drums and other acoustic instruments to create sounds and rhythms. There were many reasons to create these sounds other than for the pure enjoyment of generating different sounds. They would gather to summon spirits, gods, the dead and go into a trance-like state or vision quest.

Enlightened spiritual individuals like Byron Metcalf take those ancient traditions and use today’s technology to create a canvas to paint a musical picture upon. He brings you into his world with his latest release Inner Rhythm Meditations. The subtitle of the release is “Music for expansive awareness & inspired movement.” All those words certainly put everything into focus, and then when you listen, it all comes to life as you enter an entirely different space or reality, if you will. You get to make the choice how you want to enjoy this music, it is a gift and tool to use for what you request and it’s all positive, or as they say “it’s all good.”

Byron uses several instruments to put together six tracks of considerable length. Peter Phippen and his incredible flutes add to the mix and overall ambiance throughout this release, and the multi-talented Metcalf plays a variety of percussive instruments. He takes the old and new to make meditation easier for anyone seeking to reach that state. Easy rhythms and relaxing sounds will melt your stress away like ice on a warm spring day. Erik Wolllo also brings a multitude of talent to the table, playing all sorts of electric guitars, bass and keyboards.

Every track represents a doorway to your soul. The keys to this kingdom is to unlock each door and walk through to see what you can find. Are you thirsty for inner knowledge? Do you seek wisdom from a higher self? Or are you seeking sanctuary and relief to obtain a calm and peacefulness so that you can re-energize? The answers lie within, and the only way to that path of discovery is through the music that is represented on Inner Rhythm Meditations.
 
We always have the answers; it is our built-in mechanism and ability to either block out the truth or let it in and accept it. I have found this to be true more and more as my life tick tocks away like a clock that never needs rewinding or another battery. To be honest, it’s my mind that has a hard time shutting off.  I need to calm my mind before my body will follow. Music like this is a magnificent healer, it brings us closer to our meaning here and what we truly belief is our own path to real freedom, physically and spiritually.

I think the music of Inner Rhythm Meditations is like a continuing story, your story, and how you write it. It only ends when the music stops, but you can begin again right from the start upon next listen. Simple as that seems, there is more to it than meets the eye or spirit. I cannot break this down into favorite tracks, I find that impossible to do with music like this. Although it is six tracks, it is one story, one journey for you in the music; just hit play. Each one is a space in time and long enough to hold you to explore different textures, tones, ambiances and colors. This demands your focus because there is no one pulling you away with vocals and words to ponder upon. 

Breathe deep, relax and take the magic carpet ride of percussion and its heartbeat to your own special place with Inner Rhythm Meditations. You will get there, be patient and listen, it does work.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

Tracks:
1. Garden of the Peaceful Warrior
2. As Clouds Dance
3. Patterns of Awarenes
4. A Perfect Place
5. The Awakened Heart
6. Presence of Longing
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 16, 2016

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Japan and Porcupine Tree Keyboardist Richard Barbieri Set To Release New Studio Album Planets + Persona via Kscope on March 3, 2017


Album teaser clip launched!

London - Legendary Japan and Porcupine Tree keyboardist Richard Barbieri releases his most sonically expansive work to date, with a brand new album entitled Planets + Persona. It is the third Barbieri solo album, but the first to feature such a wide pallet of instrumentation. Vintage analogue synthesizers combine with acoustic performances and jazz elements. Twisted voices are always present, though not in a language we can recognize. Barbieri skilfully utilizes the talents of a pan-European core of musicians to produce an album that marries synthesized sounds with organic instrumentation to conjure up vivid, colourful and allusive soundscapes. It's a skillful commingling of texture and tone, mood and musicality.

Fans can have a taste of Planets + Persona here with a teaser of all 7 album tracks:




Recorded in London, Italy and Sweden, this is Barbieri's most ambitious solo work to date with a central theme of duality that runs through the album. The title alone – “Planets and Persona” alludes to this, and the dialectic theme is a constant throughout the contrasting and shape-shifting sounds of the album. Take, for example, Night of the Hunter – inspired by Charles Laughton's only directorial movie, the piece moves through subtle shifts of atmosphere and emphasis, through melodic, dream-like sequences through to harsher tones; it's a piece that builds to a profound cumulative effect. Elsewhere, Solar Storm shifts gears artfully, with Percy Jones' sometimes percussive bass work contrasting to the smoother synthesizer textures incisively. Barbieri's purely solo Interstellar Medium shows that his ability to develop and realize a theme under his own auspices that underscores his innate creativity. It's but one aspect of a thoroughly engrossing and immersive album.

Planets + Persona tracklisting:
Solar Sea (07:30)
New Found Land (07:17)
Night Of The Hunter (10:44)
Interstellar Medium (05:38)
Unholy (08:58)
Shafts Of Light (06:39)
Solar Storm (06:22])

As an ex-founder of the new-wave pioneers Japan, Barbieri was a leader in creating the ground-breaking synthesizer sound that defined the band and influenced the likes of The Human League, Duran Duran, Gary Numan, Talk Talk and a whole raft of artists to follow. Together, the band recorded five studio albums culminating in the groundbreaking Tin Drum, which stayed in the UK Albums Chart for a year.

Following Japan, and a decade of collaborations on his own Medium label, Barbieri joined Steven Wilson's Porcupine Tree, playing keyboards on all the band's albums since 1993 as well as releasing two striking solo albums: Things Buried and Stranger Inside.

His ear for composing unique soundscapes and synth textures has led to collaboration albums with other talented composers, such as Steve Hogarth (Marillion) Steve Jansen & Mick Karn (Japan) and Tim Bowness (No-Man)

Planets+ Persona will be released on the following formats – all available to pre-order now here: http://found.ee/RB_PLANETS_PERSONA

CD - The album is complimented with photographic scenes of dramatic Icelandic landscapes combined with studio shots in the 16-page booklet.
2LP - The gatefold sleeve features the stunning Icelandic ice cave scene on the cover and has been mastered by “Tubular Bells” producer Simon Heyworth. The double LP runs at 45 rpm for stunning quality and is pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl
Digital (pre-orders include an instant download of the track New Found Land)

Richard Barbieri online:
http://www.richardbarbieri.net
https://www.facebook.com/RichardBarbieriOfficial/
https://open.spotify.com/artist/74aT58mmwQWq4qUxTE0SDr
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2PGdtnsImzX4HHafVwxgAQ
https://itun.es/gb/N7psi

For hi-res image downloads (media use only): http://www.kscopemusic.com/media/richard-barbieri

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Photo credit: Ben Meadows

15 December 2016

New Book By Douglas Harr "Rockin' The City of Angels" Feat. Stunning Images & Memorabilia of Led Zeppelin, Queen, David Bowie, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, The Who, Yes and Others!


Celebrates incredible performances by Led Zeppelin, Queen, David Bowie, Fleetwood Mac, Genesis, Heart, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, The Who, Yes!

London - Concert culture in Los Angeles, the City of Angels, in the 1970s had all the lush opulence of theater, the virtuosic chops of a classical performance, and the edge-of-your-seat excitement of rock n’ roll. First-time author, and lifelong music fanatic, Douglas Harr’s Rockin’ The City Of Angels: Celebrating the Great Rock Shows of the 1970s In Concert, On Record and On Film brings to life all the classic majesty in real time. This collection of over 500 stunning images is carefully culled from the premiere practitioners of fine art photography, covering a refreshingly broad cross section of 1970s iconic artists.

“The 1970s were a time when rock bands made expansive concept records with sweeping themes,” recalls author Douglas Harr. “Rock albums back then promised ‘theater of the mind,’ and their creators were inspired to mount elaborate stage shows that brought these dreams to life. I caught many of these concerts in Los Angeles. They were almost religion to me and masses of fellow concert-goers.”

RTCOA celebrates more than thirty incredible performances, including key tours by bands such as Led Zeppelin, Queen, David Bowie, Fleetwood Mac, Genesis, Heart, Jethro Tull, Pink Floyd, The Who and Yes. These myth-making moments are presented here by a hand-picked collection of brilliant images by the best photojournalists of that time, including Richard E. Aaron, Jorgen Angel, Fin Costello, Armando Gallo, Neal Preston, Jim Summaria, Lisa Tanner and Neil Zlowzower among many others. “I spent 2 years in basements, agencies, and sometimes bands' homes, combing through hundreds of slides to find the best concert photos from that time, now so long ago,” Harr shares. In addition, RTCOA includes written commentary reflecting on these legendary concerts with reviews of the best concert video documents filmed during the era.

This 396-page book is thoughtfully divided into three sections. “Rock Gods & Entertainers” features bands like The Who, Stones, Zep, Tull, Bowie, Queen, and AC/DC. “Shamans, Storytellers, and Mellow Rockers” explores the concerts of Genesis, Yes, Cat Stevens, Eagles, Heart, Supertramp, Kansas, and more. Lastly, “Virtuosos & Classic Rockers” brings to life performances by ELP, King Crimson, ELO, Dixie Dregs, Kate Bush and many of their peers. This is the perfect gift for those who were there—or wish they were there—for that magical time.

Harr is a staff writer for Gonzo Weekly magazine, part of the Gonzo Multimedia label in England. In addition, he has contributed articles and photographs to Expose Magazine and Something Else Reviews in the U.S. His writings and photos are also captured in his weekly blog at diegospadeproductions.com. He is an aficionado of progressive and classic rock music from the early 1970’s and a frequent concert patron who has attended more than 400 shows during his lifetime. He was classically trained on the piano for seven years before transitioning to college and full-time “music patron” status. Besides music publications, Harr’s written work is also featured in technology books, including CIO Perspectives and Data Insights: New Ways to Visualize and Make Sense of Data, and in his blog on music and technology Alternative IT. All this has been a part of a 30-plus year career as a technology executive and patron of the rock ‘n’ roll arts.

This coffee-table book is nearly the size of an LP album cover, 396 pages, over 500 images, written by Douglas Harr, designed by Tilman Reitzle. Foreword by Armando Gallo.

Customers pre-ordering before December 20 will receive a signed commemorative postcard which can be used as a gift, just in time for the season.

Release Date: 13th January 2017

For more information: http://www.gonzomultimedia.com/search/product_details/16002/Douglas_Harr-Rockin%27_The_City_of_Angels.html

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

14 December 2016

Blues Legend Popa Chubby Releases New Album "The Catfish"


Popa Chubby Is The Catfish. Popa Chubby sits alone at the river's edge, guitar in hand he serenades the waters knowing if the song is sweet and the wind is right The Catfish will bite. Music is the bait, music is the water of life and Popa Chubby swims deeply in the swelling tides. Popa Chubby Is The Catfish.

But Who Is The Catfish? The road is long and goes on forever, the minnows and guppies must bow to the big fish. His guitar strings are the line that reaches to the deepest part of the soul. Many rivers to cross, the Catfish knows he is the boss. The king! Le Roi! The Mac Daddy! Fat, elusive, badass, too smart for the nets of those who would try to label him. The songs, stronger then ever, paint pictures , tell stories, of love, of life, of women and of the world. The music soaring to new heights. Fearless, brave, loud.

Says Popa Chubby, “This recording is dedicated to you. You inspire me every day. You make me want to play better, write better, sing better. I love you all, you are all diverse and beautiful and you lead my back to who I truly am. Listen loud, long and often. I remain your humble servant hopefully older, wiser, louder, stronger. I thank the almighty force of creativity, light and love in the universe. Jah Jah vibration always. Stay true, stay strong, stay resolute.”

“On his newest release The Catfish, Popa Chubby offers up 12 tunes that embody the badass attitude that defines the self-proclaimed 'King Of The New York City Blues'. The Catfish is aptly titled as it delivers punch after punch of musical inspiration drawing on 25 plus years of street smarts and road worthy musicianship. The Catfish embodies the concepts that make Popa Chubby who he is. Regal and Delicious, the recording shines with multiple flavor and worldliness.” -  Blues Magazine NL

Tracks
1. Going Downtown See My Old Gal Sue (T.Horowitz) 5:42
2. Good Thing (T. Horowitz) 3:20
3. Bye Bye Love (Felice & Bodleaux Bryant, Arrangement T. Horowitz) 3:32
4. Cry Till It's A Dull Ache (T. Horowitz) 5:10
5. Wes Is More (T. Horowitz) 7:04
6. Motörhead Saved My Life (T. Horowitz) 2:41
7. Blues For Charlie (T. Horowitz) 5:58
8. Dirty Diesel (T. Horowitz) 3 :42
9. Slow Down Sugar (T. Horowitz)  6 :34
10. Put a Grown Man to Shame (T. Horowitz) 5:16
11. The Catfish (T. Horowitz) 4:01
12. C'mon In My Kitchen (Robert Johnson) 4:04

Produced by Ted Horowitz at Chubbyland Studio, Hudson Valley, New York
Mastered by Alan Douches at Westside Sound

Featuring:
Popa Chubby: Guitars and vocals all tracks; Drums and bass on 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 11; Percussion on all tracks; Keyboards on 9
Dave Keyes: Piano and Organ on all tracks; Vocals on track 12
Dave Moore: Drums on tracks 2, 5, 7, 8,10
Matt Lapham: Bass on tracks 4, 7, 8, 10
Tipitina Horowitz: Trumpet on tracks 3, 9
Rich Monica: Drums on track 1

To purchase Popa Chubby's “The Catfish”: https://www.amazon.com/Catfish-Popa-Chubby/dp/B01KPDLDDE

Popa Chubby upcoming 2017 US tour dates:

January
6 - Washington, DC - The Hamilton
7 - Richmond, VA - Capital Ale House
12 - Teaneck, NJ - Mexicali Blues
13-14 - Auburn Hills, MI - Callahan’s

February
17 - Schenectady, NY - Van Dyke
18 - Fairfield, CT - Stage One
19 - Northampton, MA - Iron Horse Music Hall
24 - Mifflinburg, PA - Rusty Rail Live
25 - Jim Thorpe, PA - Mauch Chunk Opera House
26 - Lancaster, PA - Lancaster Roots & Blues

Popa Chubby Endorses Stetson Hats exclusively!
Popa Chubby plays Fender Guitars through Fender Amplifiers.

Popa Chubby is booked exclusively by Intrepid Artists International staff@intrepidartists.com

Official website: www.popachubby.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

13 December 2016

Drum Legend Terry Bozzio's "Composer Series" The Music & Art of Terry Bozzio Now Available in North America & Europe


Los Angeles - Legendary & award winning melodic drummer Terry Bozzio released worldwide what he calls a “Life's Work” project of Art & Music on the Japanese label Ward Records in September 2015. The set is now available in the US, Canada and Europe! Bozzio embarked on a world tour to promote it starting in Japan and Europe in the fall of 2015 & continuing throughout the US & other territories in 2016.

Terry has worked with Frank Zappa, Jeff Beck, Korn, UK, Missing Persons, Mick Jagger, Robbie Robertson, Alan Holdsworth, Tony Levin, Steve Vai, Quincy Jones, Ken Scott, Metropole Orkest, SMAP, Loudness' Munetaka Higuchi & “X” Japan's Hide - as well as Film score composers Basil Poledouris, Mark Isham & Patrick O'Hearn - see more at www.terrybozzio.com - Grammy winner, RockWalk Honoree, Modern Drummer magazine's Hall of Fame Award, Rolling Stone's Top 5 Drummers of All Time!

Bozzio said, “I've been composing, (not just song writing, like for Missing Persons & Jeff Beck) since the '70s. I compose in all styles (as one might classify them), from classical to ambient, electronic, film-like to fusion/rock or jazz. I have my own character or personality, it's unique. I work with many different processes from writing notes on paper, to recording live, to several different computer software applications that are suited to the particular result I am trying to achieve. Both Zappa & famed musicologist Nicolas Slonimsky encouraged me to compose & I have had my Chamberworks performed at the Vienna Jazz Festival & in Holland w/Metropol Orkest.”

He continued, “I first got interested in Art & Sketching at the encouragement of renowned artist Don Van Vliet (aka: Captain Beefheart) who I played with on my first Zappa/Mothers of Invention tour in 1975. Don was always carrying markers & paper & it looked like fun, so I bought some myself & started. He was very encouraging. Last year, I released my first project called Rhythm & Sketch in collaboration with the art group Scene Four. It's been successful & inspired me to do more.” (available at www.terrybozzioart.com)

Bozzio fulfilled major two and a half month US solo tours in 2014 and 2016 in which he displayed his artwork as the stage set while performing melodic, tuned melodies on his strikingly large drum set, to sold out crowds.

“I thought it would be great to share this music which I've been working on & keeping to myself for so long. I hope to show a different side of my expression from what people are used to seeing from my solo drumming. And, I wanted to have an abstract painting to represent & be paired with each title to create this hybrid project of music & art,” Bozzio explained.

It is over 70 individual pieces or movements of compositions with a painting in a booklet for each title, along with detailed liner notes for each piece, explaining his concepts, feelings, processes and approach for each. It will be available in a large vinyl-sized box set which includes the book of Artworks, 3 audio CDs & a solo drum performance DVD shot in Japan in 2015. (w/bonus footage, interviews, audio tracks and more). The material will also be made available in a smaller CD size package for record stores, as well as in many or individual downloadable formats online.

For more information:
www.wardrecords.com

Watch the promotional video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CroX237dzfY#t=36

To purchase Terry Bozzio's “Composer Series” The Music & Art of Terry Bozzio: https://www.amazon.com/Composer-Terry-Bozzio/dp/B01M301W4F?tag=smarturl-20

Terry Bozzio's official website: www.terrybozzio.com
Terry Bozzio biography: http://terrybozzio.com/biography/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

11 December 2016

Contemporary/New Age/ Instrumental-Jazz Review: Shambhu-Soothe

Release Date: February 1, 2017
Label: Acoustic Shine

Shambhu has a new recording arriving on the first day of 2017 titled Soothe.  For this listener, I think it is a great way to kick off the beginning of another day of life that quickly turns into another in the books.

Soothe most certainly lives up to the title. Shambhu takes parts of jazz, new age and contemporary music and stirs the pot until it is simmering with the most wonderful aroma. He creates a mood of calm that is initiated then sustained throughout the recording.

Soothe features many instruments including electric and acoustic guitars, acoustic primarily, percussion, English horn and soprano sax, keyboards, the incredibly talented Michael Manring on bass and a host of other very talented contributors that make this album everything it could possibly be.

The more I listen to a fully realized recording like this it makes me think that mentioning some key tracks is the wrong road to take. Looking at this album as one continuous thought flow and creative process is the best way to enjoy it. If you are writing a review or just kicking back for a listen, I feel it needs to be processed as such (but as I do most of the time will mention a few “key” tracks).

The acoustic guitar is the focus on Soothe then everything else that joins in just lifts that instrument to new levels and that includes some lovely vocals provided by Kristin Hoffmann.  “Gaia Sweet Divine” is a blend of new age or spiritually oriented music wrapped as a special gift for those who are centered and connected with some higher power other than themselves. If you want to hear something that aligns your soul (or chakras which is one in the same in my world) with the heavens above this track would be it. 

The title track brings the recording to an apex of satisfaction with more positive energy that flows like a river through your ears to your inner being with ease and purpose. The entire recording felt that way to me. 

The jazz elements are very important to the fabric that weaves the cloth of this album together. It is like the quiet storm meets its spiritual brother and they merge and explode into a burst of light and energy and take you away. It is the ideal way to let music consume you and Soothe you.

5/5 Angels for the Holidays and Your New Year!

Key Tracks: Gaia Sweet Divine, Soothe

Tracks: 
1. Knowingness
2. Time Travel   
3. Days Like Falling Stars
4. Devotion Tears
5. Prelude 2   
6. Through New Eyes
7. Gaia Sweet Divine 05:08   
8. Soothe   
9. Walking Through a Dream

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 11, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

08 December 2016

Emerson, Lake & Palmer Legend Greg Lake - RIP - December 7, 2016


London, UK - Legendary Greg Lake sadly passed away on Wed. Dec. 7th. As a founding member of King Crimson and Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Greg Lake has been a major force in music for over 40 years. He has long been considered a legendary voice and musical powerhouse whose impact changed the landscape of rock and roll. Many simply refer to him as “The Voice”.

Greg was just finishing his autobiography titled “Lucky Man”, which is  scheduled for release in 2017.

Says his long time manger and friend Stewart Young, “Yesterday, December 7th, I lost my best friend to a long and stubborn battle with cancer. Greg Lake will stay in my heart forever, as he has always been. Despite his illness which he knew to be terminal he always took the view about his life, career and family that he was indeed a lucky man... His family would be grateful for privacy during this time of their grief. Many thanks.”

Website: www.greglake.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/greg.lake.14

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

07 December 2016

RnB Music Artist/Producer Binky Womack, Nephew of Legendary Bobby Womack, Releases New Album "Womack Style"


Featuring guest appearance by Snoop Dogg! 

Los Angeles / London - “Womack Style” is the latest album project from Binky Womack, a member of one of the most iconic music families of all time. Nephew of music legend Bobby Womack, Binky's new album is released through Gonzo Multimedia UK.

Binky has his own studio in Burbank, California (The Ear Hole Recording Studio) and acts as a producer to many top line artists. He also has a publishing company, Bindelari Music, which is represented by World Domination Music for the world excluding North America. Bindelari is also the vehicle for new acts such as Jae, as well as Binky's own material.

Binky Womack Song Writer, Musician, Producer, Remixer and now Artist & Performer, as well as part of the Womack Musical dynasty.

Says Binky, “I've been in the game for a while Producing Tracks for Various Artists. My Offices are in Burbank Ca. Available for all aspects of production, credits include but not limited to: TuPac, KID Frost, Baby Bash, Snoop, Bobby Womack, George Clinton, Rapn4Tay, E40, Korn, TLC, Remixes Usher, Biggie Smalls, Prince, Edens Crush, Baby Face, Smokey Robinson, Eminem, Westside Connection, Jae, Lil One Hunnid, Sir Royalty, Killion, Steezy, Young Ace, and more. Film and TV: 12 Corazones Doce Corazones, America's Next Top Model, Beauty Queens Gone Wrong, Quiero Mi Boda, Kojack, Dance to Win, Road Dogs, Scrubs, etc. My recording history also includes being the guitar player on Womack and Womack's recordings.”

The majority of the songs on “Womack Style” are originals by Binky Womack and with all instruments being played by him and overall production in his hands, this is truly “Womack Style” music. The musicianship is of the same high quality that we expect from any song/production from the Womacks and Binky's guitar work is outstanding. All tracks are available for licensing, sync and covers. Also, the track “When You're Wrong” is being pushed by Kings of Spins.

Here's a brief synopsis of each track from Binky himself:

1. Sunday Morning - Has the spirit of an old Soul groove like Wilson Pickett Midnight mover  infused with Melodic Rock Guitars licks. With Soulful Vocals crooning to regaining a lost love after an explosive break up

2. Just Enough - Is something for the ladies. Its another great song, a Soulful Ballad. It's the feeling of a Bobby Womack classic as Binky delivers the Womack Style vocal feel. A story that says to the listener being with you is just enough I don't need much more than that.

3. Nobody Loves Me Like You - This is authentic Womack from top to bottom. The delivery, the soul, the harmonized vocals, it's all in there. This is a great tribute to Sam Cooke. the Womack Brothers and all the soulful singers that paved the way.

4. Me And My Guitar - Tells the story of a young Binky Womack living through the separation of his parents and how his Uncle Bobby Womack gave him a guitar to help him cope with the life ahead. Bluesy Soulful celebration of making it with a guitar as a best friend.

5. Malibu Nights - Is a Jazz piece. Skilled Saxophone and Guitar highlight the story of two lovers celebration of beauty and being in love on the Beaches of Malibu California USA

6. Love Addict - Features Snoop Dogg. Uncle B  can be heard crooning nicely in the background vocals. A funky Groove with seductive lead vocals deliver a confession of a lovers addiction for his partner.s body. Snoop Dogg caps it off with a classic 32 bars of west coast greatness

7. Must Be Nice - R&B at it's finest A slow smooth seductive tale of when love works out  right.

8. When You're Wrong - Folk rockish groove Binky Womack & Bobby Womack went into the studio and recorded this future classic piece the original was sang by Bobby Womack and written produced and performed by Binky Womack but we had to go back in and remove Bobby Womack's lead vocal and replace it with Binky Womack due to the confusion concerning the rights to Bobby's vocal performance.

9. Gravity - John Mayer remake, Binky Womack is a huge fan of John Mayer. He writes classic timeless material and he has so many great songs, I had to pick one to redo. I chose Gravity because there is always gonna be some one who's worked so hard risking loosing the things that matter most. The love of a good woman and the struggle to maintain walking in the light and staying out of the darkness that success can bring forth

10. I'm In Love – This song was written by Bobby Womack in the 70's it's been a hit for Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin and a hit for Bobby Womack on 2 albums. Binky Womack speeds up the tempo and delivers it to a new generation of first time listeners. This is a destined to top the charts

11. Love Is -  A bluesy Rock n Roll punch to the face. Binky pulls a Prince move playing  drums bass guitars keyboards and covers all the vocals. This song is everything opposite of “Must be nice” - Fast Loud and head banging.

12. Put Something Down On It - Also a single gaining Rock N Roll radio play and Rock video TV exposure, this song bangs heads. Screaming Guitar licks over a solid funk track laid back vocal verses enhance the story line if you want my love Put Something Down on it.

Binky will be involved in the  Memorial Tour for his late uncle, Bobby Womack and his set will include favorites from Bobby's pen as well as new material from Binky.

To purchase: http://www.gonzomultimedia.com/product_details/15984/Binky_Womack-Womack_Style.html

World Domination Music Ltd is an independent full service music publisher with representation throughout the world. Our roster of writers and catalogue administration deals cover a wide range of styles, genres and languages.

Please contact David Buskell at World Domination Music for more information about this project:
World Domination Music Ltd.              
“Woodlands “, 52 Upper Selsdon Road, South Croydon, Surrey,CR2 8DE.
Tel: +44 (0)20  8657 5565 Mobile: +44 (0)7702 695 136
Email: worlddominationmusic@yahoo.com
Website: www.worlddominationmusic.biz

Gonzo Multimedia Ltd is a major independent label and distributor, specialists in progressive rock and pop, psychedelic rock and more, with partners throughout the world.

Press inquires: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

05 December 2016

Americana-Folk-Contemporary Review: Doug Hammer-Americana

Release Date: November 1, 2016
Label: Dreamworld Productions


Doug Hammer’s release Americana was released on a significant day of the year. November 11th is to honor our veterans, those that have served and given the ultimate sacrifice.

The album in its entirety however is a tribute to all the music that explores our country’s legacy and heritage. It is about some of the building blocks and spirit that makes our country great.

I recently talked to a Servicemember of the Reserves and he said “You can’t ever tell an American that something is not possible.” If you have a dream and are willing to work hard to reach it, then the opportunity will present itself when you are ready to receive it. I honestly take that to heart and have lived it many times over during my life.

There are many great tracks on this recording. In fact, I cannot think of one that I did not enjoy. Highlights for my listening pleasure were “The Good Old Days,” “Americana” and “Battle Hymn of the Republic.”

Americana has arrived at the right time for us all. We need to unite as one nation to be strong and resilient.  Most people will easily recognize these tracks. Doug presents 18 tracks and the melodies and rhythms that are familiar will stir emotions and feelings with many listeners. It did for me. The first being that my father was a veteran of World War II. He had emotional scars that would never heal, nor any of us in the family could understand. I also served many years ago but was fortunate to never witness the atrocities of war.

This music will help heal the souls of those that love this country or have lost a loved one serving and in the same instance those that love music in general will have plenty here to appreciate. Doug is a very talented composer and musician. He takes these classic songs while leaving their original melodies intact and infuses them with his own variations, energy and spirit thereby making them his own beautiful interpretations through piano, synth and orchestrations. There are some variations of course that are easier to detect when listening to an instrumental. Without the focus needed on vocals, it is straightforward. He uses a lot of different ideas and brings them to life within the music but you do recognize the songs.

In regards to vocals there are tracks that have them and serve a very good purpose. “The Good Old Days” is a wonderful song. My wife and I often talk about those days gone past when life was so much simpler and we didn’t have all the complexities of technology and society. As much as we would like to go back, we need to embrace what we have and move forward to the future. We want to be a part of the solution, not the problem; some good advice I heard long ago that has stayed with me and will until the day I die. “Shenandoah” is also a beautiful track with the voices of Mia (fiddle) and Ariel (cello) Friedman.

Music like this will give you hope, the chills of good feelings that run up your spine, and most of all gratefulness to be living in freedom and experience the wealth that life gives us daily. We would not have any of that if it wasn’t for thousands of brave men and women that were willing to fight for us to keep it. 

I believe in our country and I believe in the music of people like Doug Hammer. He says it all so well on Americana. This is some heartfelt thanks from a grateful man willing to share his respect and love for his country and to tip the hat to those that served and still do so we can live like we do.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: The Good Old Days, Americana, Battle Hymn of the Republic


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 5, 2016

Tracks:
01. The Spirit of America
02. Americana
03. Yankee Doodle
04. The Star Spangled Banner
05. Battle Hymn of the Republic
06. God Bless America
07. America the Beautiful
08. The Good Old Days
09. My Country 'Tis of Thee
10. Heartland
11. Shenandoah
12. Simple Gifts
13. Taps
14. Elegy
15. Redemption
16. The Water Is Wide
17. The Dream Is Alive
18.Sunnyside Rag
 
br>