Skip to main content

Holiday Review: Celtic Thunder-Classic Christmas Album

Release Date: October 2, 2015
Label: Sony Legacy

Celtic Thunder has been brightening spirits with their amazing vocals and world class performances since their inception in 2007. Current members include Neil Byrne, Emmett O'Hanlon, Emmet Cahill, Colm Keegan, Keith Harkin, Ryan Kelly, Damian McGinty, Paul Byrom and George Donaldson. This compilation of holiday music is a must for any fan.
“Carol of the Bells” is the first tune on the album. It is a twisting musical confection that is pure holiday magic. Crisp tones, joyful voices, melodic music ranging from horns to chimes and floating string and the jingle of bells all combine for an elemental introduction to this wonderful album. It was composed and written by Mykola Leontovych and Peter J. Wilhousky.

“In the Bleak Mid-Winter” was composed and lyrics created by Gustav Holst and Christina Rossetti. Performed with Celtic textures at the onset, the piece quickly morphs into a piano movement with light musical flutterings in the background. The vocals and pipe sounds reach into the still and lonely parts that this time of year can really make stark and utterly clear. Love of God warms the soul as the singer remembers the reason for the holiday and the angels that walked among us to give the child safe passage. “What can I give him poor as I am?” This rings true for so many of us these days. What value do we offer when we can’t buy the things we desire or give others the gifts they want. The answer is the same as it always was. Love. It is the beginning and the end of all things and with it, we can conquer the world.

“Fairytale of New York” is the last piece on the album. Written and composed by Shane MacGowan and Jem Finer this song captures the Celtic reality in all of its glory. Soft and sweet with pipes and lilting dance music, it swings into a rowdy bar ballad among other things. Awash in regret but dreaming of the days ahead, the vocalists bring to life the myriad of emotions that make a man. Drink and food and laughter bring us all together but in the end, we each of us make the other strong.

The Classic Christmas Album is a wonderful compilation of Celtic holiday music, both traditional and original. The vocalists’ voices join forces to bring us a glimpse into the sounds of the heavens or the lowest bar in midtown. There is light in the darkness and if you listen to this music you might just feel a bit of warmth this holiday season. I highly recommend it.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Carol of the Bells, In the Bleak Mid-Winter, Fairytale of New York

01. Carol of the Bells (1:24)
02. Gaudete (2:22)
03. Mary Did You Know? (3:09)
04. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (1:55)
05. In the Bleak Mid-Winter (4:12)
06. Gabriel’s Message (2:50)
07. Christmas Medley: Sleigh Ride, Here Comes Santa Claus, Parade Of The Wooden Soldiers, Santa Claus Is Coming To Town, I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (6:00)
08. Away in a Manger (2:40)
09. Comfort Ye (2:50)
10. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (1:58)
11. The Christmas Song (3:34)
12. Oh Holy Night (4:44)
13. O Come All Ye Faithful (3:47)
14. Fairytale of New York (4:00)

Dana Wright, Sr. Staff Writer
December 16, 2015
Review Provided By Write A Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …