Skip to main content

Children's Music Review: Candice Night-Starlight Starbright

Release Date: November 20, 2015
Label: Soulfood Music

Candice Night is best known for her work as the vocalist for Blackmore’s Night. She has also carved out a career as a solo artist. In her newest endeavor, Starlight Starbright, we see an entirely new aspect of this talented singer. An album dedicated to the magic of childhood, every song, whether it is a familiar classic or an original composition, contains wisps of wonder and the sweet simplicity of innocence. Parents of small children will find charm and the pure love of mother and child nestled in every note. Two bonus videos showcase the enchantment that Candice instills with every piece of music she creates.

“Lullaby in the Night” is an original composition by Candice’s daughter that tucks you in under the glowing light of the moon. It is a song written by Candice’s daughter when she was only two. Candice holds her perch in the night sky, looking down over her daughter with love. Sparkles rain from her fingertips as she casts her intoxicating net over us all. This song is a tender melody of rest and parental adoration as she coaxes her child to sleep. She heard her daughter singing to her dolls and recorded the piece to be adapted later into this fairy tale adventure.

“Once in a Garden” is filled with poignant guitar strokes and angelic vocals, the purity of make believe under the sun is captured and celebrated. Childhood is a time of laughter and tea parties, games and rolling in the grass. Candice captures the blissful wonder in the video and the audio track. This song has to be one of my absolute favorites on the album. Think fairy festivals, Ren Faire for kids, playtime in the garden and good clean fun. It’s magic.

If you want a song that illustrates a parent’s devotion to her child, look no further than “In Your Arms.” A storm rages outside, but within the safe confines of Candice’s arms, her child is safe and sound. Even as the child grows, her love is all encompassing and reaches far and wide. The piece is backed by an ethereal blend of instruments, but the focus of the song is most definitely the vocals. If you have ever loved anyone, this song will pluck at your heartstrings.

“Return to Pooh Corner” is a book lover’s song. Beloved characters from childhood come to life as Candice sings of Christopher Robin and his bear Pooh and their adventures in the wood. Some things follow you through your life, and a small bear with a penchant for honeypot misadventures is most assuredly one of those. Poignant vocals and a strumming melody accompany this adorable piece that has to be my second favorite song on this album.

Candice Night has created a beautiful album with Starlight Starbright. It is a journey through childhood, both in familiar songs and new pieces heard for the first time. This artist sings like an angel and seeing her as a mother adds a whole new dimension to her craft. From Pooh Corner to garden parties and a mother protecting her child from the rain and storms of life, we experience the depth of a mother’s love for her child and for a moment, remember…

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Once in a Garden, In My Arms, Lullaby in the Night, Return to Pooh Corner

01. Rock a Bye Baby
02. Robin Redbreast
03. So This Is Love
04. Sleep Little Baby
05. In My Arms
06. Annie's Song
07. Down in the Meadow
08. Lullaby in the Night
09. Fireflies
10. Return to Pooh Corner
11. Once in a Garden
12. Baby Mine
13. Misty Blue
Bonus Videos:
1. Once In A Garden
2. Lullaby In The Night

Dana Wright, Sr. Staff Writer
December 3, 2015
Review Provided By Write A Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …