Skip to main content

CRUISING, the Controversial Cult Classic Film Soundtrack Available on Compact Disc for the First Time

“One of the rockingest movies ever...the music here is dark, dirty and seedy.”

Camarillo, CA - Marshall Blonstein's Audio Fidelity will be releasing the original motion picture soundtrack to Cruising, the 1980 William Friedkin film starring Al Pacino. The controversial movie has become an underground cult classic and the release of the dynamic soundtrack featuring performances by Willy DeVille, John Hiatt, Rough Trade, The Cripples, Mutiny and their left field opus “Lump,” The Germs and others has been long-awaited.

The film, considered a snapshot of pre-AIDS gay life, is about a series of violent New York murders in which the victims all frequent clandestine Manhattan leather bars in which gay men gather to dance, drink, do drugs and make pairings while enveloped in an S&M world of leather, boots, whips and chains. When Friedkin announced plans to set a movie in that milieu, and to film it primarily on location, the New York gay community rose up in protest. Cruising, they said, would present a distorted view of gay life. Upon the film's release gay activists had public protests against the film. However, critical opinion of it has warmed over the years as the film has been reassessed and the demand for the music continued to grow.

One of the best parts of the film is the amazingly gritty soundtrack. The music was scored and compiled by the late Jack Nitzsche, one of the most prolific film orchestrators in Hollywood during that period. Nitzsche was best known for being Phil Spector's arranger (and shared credit as the co-creator of “The Wall of Sound”). He won an Academy Award for Best Song for co-writing with Will Jennings and Buffy Sainte-Marie “Up Where We Belong” from 1982's An Officer and a Gentleman. Jack also worked with Neil Young on “Harvest” and was a keyboard player on many mid-1960s albums by The Rolling Stones.

Friedkin and Nitzsche had collaborated earlier on The Exorcist. Among many film successes he composed the unusual score for One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. Nitzsche can currently be seen at work in the studio in The Wrecking Crew documentary making rounds on movie theater and cable TV screens.

Most of the songs on the Cruising soundtrack are a mix of rock, glam and disco music. The tracks are much more violent and full of an anxious energy. The tracks complement the action and the S&M bar setting extremely well and offer a glimpse of an un-idealized 70's scene. It is not the flourishing, feverish, disco epics that have come to stereotype gay musical tastes though there is some serious dance floor stomping here as well as several raw and spirited tracks by various punk, P.Funk, rock, pop and soul artists.

Nitzsche was excited about working with the proto punk Germs as well as Willy DeVille and as a result of this record went on to produce some of their best material including three Willy DeVille albums beginning in the late 1970s: Cabretta (1977), Return to Magenta (1978), and Coup de Grâce (1981). Nitzsche said that DeVille was the best singer he had ever worked with and that talent is on display in this original motion picture soundtrack.


1) Willy DeVille - Heat Of The Moment
2) The Cripples - Loneliness
3) John Hiatt - Spy Boy
4) Madelynn Von Ritz - When I Close My Eyes I See Blood
5) Mutiny - Lump
6) Rough Trade - Shakedown
7) Willy DeVille - Pullin' My String
8) Germs - Lions Share
9) The Cripples - Hypnotize
10) Willy DeVille - It's So Easy

Produced by Jack Nitzsche
Mastered for this SACD by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Every leather-styled package includes a 12-page booklet with complete credits and dramatic photo stills from the movie.

First time ever available on CD!

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158,

For more information:


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …