Skip to main content

Rock Review: The Pretty Things-The Sweet Pretty Things (Are In Bed Now, Of Course)

Release Date: July 10, 2015
Label: Repertoire Records

Recently, I had the displeasure of being exposed to some truly awful music.  I am sure that those of you who have spent time listening to music on YouTube know what I am talking about: the repetitive beats, the abuse of auto-tune, the distorted vocals/screams, the nonsensical lyrics, and the ripping off of more popular songs.  It is the kind of music to make one question what we are doing as a species.  Fortunately, I received The Pretty Things’ new album, The Sweet Pretty Things (Are In Bed Now, Of Course), and it reminded me of the all good, enriching qualities of music.

The Pretty Things originally came together as a band in 1963 in London, and have been going strong ever since then.  Coming out of such a rich time for rock music, it is not too hard to see how these guys might have been overlooked and not been as big as bands such as The Beatles or The Rolling Stones.  But it is never too late to discover great music.  With over fifty years as a band and a couple of personnel changes, The Pretty Things are Phil May (lead vocals), Dick Taylor (lead guitar), Frank Holland (guitar), George Woosey (bass, guitar), and Jack Greenwood (drums, percussions). The Sweet Pretty Things (Are In Bed Now, Of Course) is their twelfth album and first album in some years, and we find them in superb form.

The album crackles with energy on the opener, “The Same Sun” The opening guitar riff is elegant and rich, and the drums add just the right touch to complete the song’s sweet, psychedelic rock sound. The hypnotic chorus rounds everything out. “The Same Sun” is one of those songs that could have been released at any point in the last fifty years and still be amazing regardless of any popular music trend topping the charts. Coming out with bit of a more kick to it is “And I Do.” It is another mesmerizing rock song with a fresh, invigorating sound. I have to say that Phil May’s voice sounds great, even as he enters into his seventies. There are vocalists half his age who wish they could sound this good.

Next up is a cover of The Byrd’s “Renaissance Fair.” This is a quality tune.  It is a short song with a light, upbeat sound and a bit of surreal atmosphere.  The second and final cover is of Sky Saxon’s “You Took Me by Surprise.” This song is an ace of a song. It is one of the heavier sounds on the album, making for a great hard rock sound with a sweet groove to it. “Turn My Head” takes things in a slightly different direction.  The sound is lighter and more harmonious, making for a very pleasant sounding rock song.  There is a bit of sing-along quality to it.  The drums rumble right along and the guitars just sizzle near the end.  “Dark Days” has an interesting sound.  There is an ominous atmosphere lingering behind the harmonies that makes for one memorable track. It is not quite the end of the world here, but you can see it coming on the horizon. 

“Greenwood Tree” is just an excellent instrumental with some dazzling music.  The drums are on point and really cut loose for a solo that is worth the price of admission.  Another gem of a song, “Hell, Here and Nowhere” starts off slow and has a western/outback vibe to it, evoking images of wide plains, dusty towns, and mysterious wanderers. Opening with sweet, rhythmic drum beat “In the Soukh,” is pure melodic poetry. The background vocals are quite soothing when backed by the methodical drumming.  Bringing it on home is the powerful and controlled “Dirty Song,” perfect for taking out the lighter.  It is the kind of ending that leaves a lasting impression.

The Pretty Things’ The Sweet Pretty Things (Are In Bed Now, Of Course) is like a breath of fresh, clean air after wading through the rancid trash of some of today’s popular music. This album is a must for The Pretty Things fans, rock fans, and music fans, in general. After all these decades, they still have plenty of life left in them. Many musicians and bands from the sixties did not make it long past that decade, if they even made it that far. This is not true of The Pretty Things. The Sweet Pretty Things (Are In Bed Now, Of Course) is proof that The Pretty Things are not a band merely of or from an era, but are a band for the ages. 

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: The Same Sun, Dark Days, Greenwood Trees 

Brian McKinnon - Write A Music Review Sr. Staff
June 6, 2015
Review Provided By Write A Music Review

01.The Same Sun 
02. And I Do 
03.Renaissance Fair 
04.You Took Me By Surprise 
05.Turn My Head 
06.Dark Days 
07.Greenwood Tree 
08.Hell, Here and Nowhere 
09.In the Soukh 
10.Dirty Song


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…