Skip to main content

Legendary Vocal Group The Coasters Celebrate Their 60th Anniversary With Their First Album Of New Recordings In 35 Years!

Los Angeles, CA - America’s premiere R&B vocal group and Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame inductees, The Coasters, have had one incredible, miraculous, astounding ride in the music business. Less of a group and more of an institution, The Clown Princes of Rock & Roll established themselves 6 decades ago, and in that time have seen many musical fads come and go. But one thing has always remained - the power of a truly timeless song especially when experienced through the prism of the expertly sung 4-part harmonies that are The Coasters stock in trade. To commemorate the group’s unique and longstanding career, The Coasters are proud to present Magical Favorites a collection of brand new recordings covering some of the very best American rock and R&B classics such as Sam Cooke’s “You Send Me,” The Temptations “Just My Imagination,” Elvis Presley’s “Don’t Be Cruel” and many more - all done in the indelible Coasters way! Magical Favorites will be available March 31 from Goldenlane Records.

For those unfamiliar with the group’s history, The Coasters scored their first hit single “Down In Mexico” in the spring of 1956, which they followed in 1957 with “Young Blood” and “Searchin’” the following year. In 1958, the band again hit the chart with two blockbuster hits that would become as iconic as the band that sang them, “Yakety Yak” and “Charlie Brown.” From then on, it was hit after hit for the group with songs such as “Poison Ivy,” “Along Came Jones,” “Love Potion #9,” “Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart” and many more! The line-up of The Coasters that was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1987 (Carl Gardner, Billy Guy, Will Jones, Cornell Gunter) have all since passed but their legacy lives on with the help of Joe Lance Williams (tenor/baritone), Primo Candelara (tenor), Dennis Anderson (baritone), and Eddie Whitfield (bass). Three of these gifted vocalists were personally handpicked by group founder Carl Gardner, with Dennis coming aboard in 2011 after Carl had passed. Though often imitated, they have never been duplicated and they continue to do what they do best on both the stage and in the studio, entertain the audience!

Track List:
1. All I Have To Do Is Dream
2. Cool Jerk
3. Don’t Be Cruel
4. If I Had A Hammer
5. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
6. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
7. Lyin’ Eyes
8. Shout
9. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay
10. Turn Back The Hands Of Time
11. You Send Me
12. Twistin’ The Night Away
13. Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love Babe
14. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)

Pre-order the CD here:
Pre-order the digital version here:

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158

11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…