Skip to main content

Jazz Review: Sasha’s Bloc (Featuring Jane Monheit)-Heart On Fire

Release Date: March 17, 2015
Label: Indie

When was the last time you heard an album by a current artist that brought back the heyday of jazz and big bands? I suggest you look no further than Sasha’s Bloc and their bevy of guest performers on their excellent new release Heart On Fire.

The recording features the poignant vocals of one Ms. Jane Monheit (who covers 4 tracks by Alex Gershman). There are 10 people pictured on the inner sleeve of this CD, which are the main players in this band. It is no wonder the sound is so full and original while being true to the roots of great jazz music.

“Lonely Day In Paris” is the way the album starts and it’s as picturesque as the title suggests. From that point the stage is set and in place to fall into jazz heaven. Turn it up, sit back and listen to real music with a long history and culture that needs more appreciation than it currently gets.

The album takes you on a journey that brings the legacy of Jazz back to life like a full blooming flower in spring. It jumps, jives, and makes your soul dance. If it’s a warm and romantic slow burner you yearn for then “Heart On Fire” will do the trick. It is an appropriate title track in every sense of what that stands for and or implies. If your heart is not literally on fire in some fashion after hearing this track you need to be examined to see if you still have blood flowing through those veins!

For a complete change of pace “Angel” sounds like a soundtrack to an old gangster flick…picture the scene during prohibition as you walk through the secret passageway, give the password through the peep hole then you enter the smoky booze filled hall where all the action is. Patrick Tuzzolino has the perfect vocal style and pitch to deliver the song with some snap and feeling to put you right there as the scene unfolds and the joint gets jumpin’.

Then if you want to cut away from all the vocals, the instrumental “Duke” lets you just float away and create your own scenery. This is a nice change and an opportunity to focus in on all the talented musicians that contribute to this album. It's smooth jazz baby with an old time flair and sophistication that will certainly be appreciated by any jazz connoisseur.

“Manhattan” closes the curtain and ushers in complete joy while throwing you back to a time when the Andrews Sisters were entertaining the troops during WW2. The New Orleans style horns create that party in the streets atmosphere and the vocals are spot on for that timeframe. It is a nod to those famous sisters that shaped an era in time that will never be duplicated again. This is as close as it gets folks.

Heart On Fire is a wonderful album that once again reminded me why I loved jazz and big band music. I used to listen to all that music my parents had when I was a little boy and that is where it all started for me. Thank you Sasha’s Bloc for all the entertainment, great music and sweet memories you brought back with your music!

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Lonely Day In Paris, Angel, Manhattan

01. Lonely Day in Paris (feat. Patrick Tuzzolino)
02. Feels Like Jazz (feat. Jane Monheit)
03. Anything Is Possible (feat. Nora Rothman & Patrick Tuzzolino)
04. Black and Blue (feat. Glynis Leflore, Alvin Chea, Octavia Pace & Princess Fortier)
05. Breakfast (feat. Jane Monheit, Princess Fortier, Glynis Leflore & Octavia Pace)
06. Take a Chance (feat. Nora Rothman)
07. Heart On Fire (feat. Jane Monheit)  
08. Angel (feat. Patrick Tuzzolino, Octavia Pace, Glynis Leflore & Princess Fortier)
09. The Duke
10. Sunday Blues (feat. Jane Monheit)
11. Manhattan (feat. Octavia Pace, Glynis Leflore & Prin
cess Fortier)

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck-Write A Music Review Founder
March 16, 2015
Review Provided By Write A Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

British Post-Punk Veterans 1919 Return With A Brand New Masterpiece Of Darkly Melodic Goth Rock, FUTURECIDE!

Los Angeles, CA - Like the mythic phoenix rising from the ashes, British post-punk band 1919 have gone through Hell and back over the course of their harrowing career, but they keep returning stronger than ever! Founded in 1980, the band released its debut album Machine in 1983 and one EP a year later before calling it quits. However, the band reformed in 2014 to great acclaim, performing numerous tours and at festivals across Europe. Then, tragedy struck as the band’s founding guitarist Mark Tighe was diagnosed with cancer in 2016 and succumbed to the disease in January 2017. Tighe insisted that the band should carry on without him, which they have done in finest form with their newest effort Futurecide. The album, which will be officially released on April 12 via Cleopatra Records, features brand new compositions and includes special guest performances by Tighe as well as former member Steve Madden, who also passed away this year. The first single, “Anxiety,” was released at the en…

Concert Review: Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY

Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY December 13, 2018

With winter upon us in the great Northeast, it was just another night. We never have a reason to stay in because of the weather, we just go. It so happened that it was a nice evening for a drive to a Ghost concert.We secured our tickets months ago and have been anticipating this night for months on end.
Last July I attended a “bucket list” concert, the great Iron Maiden was coming to Mansfield, MA. Opening for them was Ghost. This was a turn of a friendly card for the band, a great way to get worldwide exposure otherwise not afforded by a lesser band. They were already on the rise and the lead singer Papa Emeritus had a helluva a band (no pun intended there). At that time my prediction was that when the new year began Ghost would be headlining their own shows. So, then it happened, here we are tonight watching this incredible metal band headlining their own show, with no opener may I add.
For those of you unf…

Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert Review

The Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert The Palace Theater Albany, New York April 3, 2019

The pictures I have provided were snapped by me with my phone to give you an idea of the backdrop to the music prior to the show. That screen changed with each song and it was very trippy psychedelic colors and images that mirrored the timeframe of Jimi in his prime. -Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
The Electric Church arrived in Albany, NY last night with its all-star cast for the Experience Hendrix 2019 Tour.The music of Jimi Hendrix continues to thrive and be embraced by fans worldwide. This is a tour I have been wanting to catch for several years now and I finally made it, and so glad I did.
The best thing that could happen to this event is the involvement of Billy Cox. Anyone familiar with Jimi’s music knows that they were friends for a long time and Billy played bass on some of Jimi’s albums. Also, with Janie Hendrix involved it makes everything legit. Also havin…