Skip to main content

Symphonic Progressive Review: Rocket Scientists-Refuel

Release Date: 9thDec 2014
Label: Think Tank Media

Having previously reviewed Rocket Scientists, a symphonic prog band from USA, with the release of their 2 track EP, Supernatural Highways, it is with a great deal of anticipation, that I have the new full length release, Refuel, on my desk for review.

Rocket Scientists is a 3 piece outfit which is expanded by guest musicians when required, with the core trio being, Marc McCrite (vocals, guitar), Erik Norlander (keyboards, vocals) and Don Schiff (Chapman Stick, bass guitar, cello, viola, mandolin). Guesting on the Refuel album are, Greg Bissonette (drums), Emily McCrite (vocals), John Papenbrook (trumpet), Rich Hoffman (piccolo trumpet), Eric Jorgensen (trombone) with Lana Lane and Kelly Keeling providing vocals on tracks 12 and 9 respectively.

Refuel is a 16 track album with a total playing time of around 79 minutes. The final four tracks are classed as bonus tracks, being as they are tracks that are already contained in the main body of the album, but appear without the crossfading. The longest track on offer on Refuelis track 10, “Rome’s About to Fall” at 8:15 minutes with track 8, “Reconstruct,” the shortest at 1:29 minutes.

The opening, and title, track, “Refuel” (2:13) is a short band workout that seems to just put layer after layer of sound to start and then allows an amazing passage of keyboards (Erik), followed by guitar acrobatics (Mark), all suitably “nailed down” by the bass (Don). This is a short track that simply demands you to listen to the rest of the album.

“She’s Getting Hysterical” (6:05) grabs your ears from the word go and proceeds to take you on a simply amazing aural journey. There are hooks galore, superb echo vocals, deep powerful vocals, an amazing motif that appears several times, mainly keyboard based, but toward the end, the motif appears played on a trumpet. The keyboards are simply sensational over this track.

“Martial” (3:41), “Regenerate” (4:33), “Reconstruct” (1:29), “Cheshire Cat Smile” (5:25), “Galileo” (5:05) and “The Lost Years” (5:59) would all fit into the “ear grabbing” category, all being up-tempo with sweeping synths and excellent guitar riffing. Each track is filled with those hooks that, even after only one play, have managed to get inside your head, almost without your knowledge.

The other tracks, “It’s Over” (6:25), “The Fading Light” (7:29), “The World Waits For You” (4:20) and “Rome’s About to Fall” (8:15), while not the same up-tempo status, nevertheless has hooks which are a little more subtle, which befits the gentler pace of these tracks.

The final four tracks, mentioned earlier as extras, with no crossfading, have very slightly different running times, but only by a few seconds.

This album was featured on my radio show, “She’s Getting Hysterical” and “Rome’s About To Fall” from the album and the long “Traveller On The Supernatural Highways” from the recent EP release and there were several comments about the amazing music being broadcast.

Refuel is a return to the sound that the Rocket Scientists are known for. On offer on this album, are the solos, from all the main musicians, the pop elements and the prerequisite key-changes that followers of Rocket Scientists will be on the lookout for. They will not be in any way disappointed with what they hear on Refuel, the huge swathes of majestic keyboards from Erik Norlander, excellent guitar work by Mark McCrite and that perfectly pitched and matched bass provided by Don Schiff are all here.

Refuel is an album that demands to be played over and over to really appreciate the majestic release that it is. Both “One to Buy” and “The Experience will last Forever” stickers adorn the cover and I can almost guarantee with 100% certainty, that upon hearing Refuel, it will be purchased and have a special little place on your CD shelves.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: She’s Getting Hysterical, It’s Over, Rome’s About To Fall

She’s Getting Hysterical
It’s Over
The Fading Light
The World Waits For You
Cheshire Cat Smile (feat Kelly Keeley)
Rome’s About To Fall
The Lost Years (feat Lana Lane)
It’s Over (no crossfade)
Regenerate (no crossfade)
Reconstruct (no crossfade)
Cheshire Cat Smile (no crossfade)

Jim “The Ancient One” Lawson-Sr. Reviewer Prog Rock Music Talk

January 29, 2015

Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk


Popular posts from this blog

British Post-Punk Veterans 1919 Return With A Brand New Masterpiece Of Darkly Melodic Goth Rock, FUTURECIDE!

Los Angeles, CA - Like the mythic phoenix rising from the ashes, British post-punk band 1919 have gone through Hell and back over the course of their harrowing career, but they keep returning stronger than ever! Founded in 1980, the band released its debut album Machine in 1983 and one EP a year later before calling it quits. However, the band reformed in 2014 to great acclaim, performing numerous tours and at festivals across Europe. Then, tragedy struck as the band’s founding guitarist Mark Tighe was diagnosed with cancer in 2016 and succumbed to the disease in January 2017. Tighe insisted that the band should carry on without him, which they have done in finest form with their newest effort Futurecide. The album, which will be officially released on April 12 via Cleopatra Records, features brand new compositions and includes special guest performances by Tighe as well as former member Steve Madden, who also passed away this year. The first single, “Anxiety,” was released at the en…

Concert Review: Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY

Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY December 13, 2018

With winter upon us in the great Northeast, it was just another night. We never have a reason to stay in because of the weather, we just go. It so happened that it was a nice evening for a drive to a Ghost concert.We secured our tickets months ago and have been anticipating this night for months on end.
Last July I attended a “bucket list” concert, the great Iron Maiden was coming to Mansfield, MA. Opening for them was Ghost. This was a turn of a friendly card for the band, a great way to get worldwide exposure otherwise not afforded by a lesser band. They were already on the rise and the lead singer Papa Emeritus had a helluva a band (no pun intended there). At that time my prediction was that when the new year began Ghost would be headlining their own shows. So, then it happened, here we are tonight watching this incredible metal band headlining their own show, with no opener may I add.
For those of you unf…

Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert Review

The Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert The Palace Theater Albany, New York April 3, 2019

The pictures I have provided were snapped by me with my phone to give you an idea of the backdrop to the music prior to the show. That screen changed with each song and it was very trippy psychedelic colors and images that mirrored the timeframe of Jimi in his prime. -Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
The Electric Church arrived in Albany, NY last night with its all-star cast for the Experience Hendrix 2019 Tour.The music of Jimi Hendrix continues to thrive and be embraced by fans worldwide. This is a tour I have been wanting to catch for several years now and I finally made it, and so glad I did.
The best thing that could happen to this event is the involvement of Billy Cox. Anyone familiar with Jimi’s music knows that they were friends for a long time and Billy played bass on some of Jimi’s albums. Also, with Janie Hendrix involved it makes everything legit. Also havin…