Skip to main content

New Age Instrumental Review: Steven Halpern, Michael Diamond and Michael Manring-Ambient Alchemy

Release Date: September 9, 2014
Label: Inner Peace Music

Steven Halpern is well known for his work using music as a healing tool. In his latest album Ambient Alchemy with talented producer and artist Michael Diamond and guest Michael Manring, he takes the alchemy of sound and ratchets it up into a spectral place of ambient effects and flowing symmetries of audible experience.
The first track on the album is “Ambient Alchemy.” A blend of ambient sound, flute and multi instrumentation takes the listener far inside themselves. Chimes flit in and out as the cloudscape changes, becoming adrift in a sea of peaceful resonance.

“Rain Dream” has to be one of my most favorite tracks on the album. As I set my iPad up to play the song, my dogs’ ears perked up thinking it was actually raining with the natural effects used in the piece. Ambient sounds, percussion elements and electronica took me into a place of relaxation that I sorely needed after a month of hard core deadlines. It even put my dogs to sleep and that is a feat worthy of praise. My writing cave can sometimes be compared to the story about the monkeys jumping on the bed. In my case it would be dogs and now the dogs are sleeping happily to the sound of rain, chimes and electric guitar. Wonderment…sheer bliss.

“Atlantis Revisited” is the last track of an album I was sad to get to the end of. Electric guitar, ambient softness and a pleasant hum reached beneath the waves of my mind and found a lost place beneath the tides. It is a swimmy sensation of weightless meditation that reaches beyond the mundane world and into something more. Something that echoes of eternity and ancient civilizations that will never truly be lost, if only because of our ardent belief that they still exist somewhere in time.

Steve Halpern is a Grammy nominated award winning composer, artist and healer of minds and souls. His music has gone beyond the pale to help people battle depression and illness, making him a leader in the industry. His new work with Michael Diamond, a producer and recording artist in his own right and voting member of the Grammy’s, along with guest artist Michael Manring is an album rich with healing energy and is sure to be a hit with anyone who enjoys respite away from the everyday world. Take a walk with the healing energies of Ambient Alchemy and let it cast a spell over you.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Ambient Alchemy, Rain Dream, Atlantis Revisited
01. Ambient Alchemy   
02. Molecules in Motion   
03. Isis Moon   
04. Celestial Suite   
05. Deep Diver   
06. Return to Shamballa   
07. Rain Dream   
08. Lunar Orbit   
09. Ancient Shores   
10. Above the Clouds   
11. Echoes in Eternity   
12. Earth & Sky   
13. Stellar Drift   
14. Atlantis Revisited   

DanaWright, Sr. Staff Writer

October 6, 2014

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …