Skip to main content

Blues Rock Review: Johnny Winter-Step Back

Release Date: September 2, 2014
Label: Megaforce Records

July 16, 2014 is a day in the history of the blues that is forever etched upon our minds. We lost Johnny Winter, one of the greatest blues guitar players to ever step on stage. His contribution to the genre cannot be summed up in short order. His legacy of music is one of the pillars of strength that keep the blues alive and well.

Fortunately for music fans he completed his final album before passing away and it will likely go down as one of his very best. Step Back is a guitar hero tribute, not just for Johnny but for those players that admired him and had the honor of being part of the project.

The list is impressive. Of course his longtime guitarist/producer and best friend Paul Nelson (read the recent interview) who came up with concept of the album and also contributed guitar parts, was a huge part of this. The guests include Joe Perry, Eric Clapton, Billy Gibbons, Jason Ricci, Ben Harper, Leslie West, Dr. John, Joe Bonamassa and Brian Setzer. 

Winter’s voice is strong throughout and his guitar playing is clear and concise. The opening track “Unchain My Heart” is vintage Winter as his guitar moans and screams for release. The Blues Brothers Horns add the extra element to give it more feeling and depth.

“Don’t Want No Woman” has to be one of the highlights with another blues legend Eric Clapton, going toe to toe with Johnny. When it comes to the blues it’s all about lovers lost and various other life predicaments. The vocals and guitar playing are what supports those stories perfectly. It does not get any better than this. “Who Do You Love,” the classic tune covered by so many artists over the years, has some smokin’ hot slide guitar riffs that completely “Winterize” it. “Okie Dokie Stomp” is a rollicking instrumental with Brian Setzer that takes Winter back to his roots in Texas. It really is a rockabilly stomp to die for. Lighting fast guitar riffs and a locomotive rhythm section make this one unforgettable. 

Another blues burner for the ages is “Mojo Hand” with Joe Perry and Billy Gibbons. This is the best track on the album. Winter sounds so vital and strong and with the helping hand of two other legends, the track just cooks along like a well-oiled machine. This is blues rock at its very zenith. Those are some of the highlights from 13 tracks of pure energized blues from one of the masters of the trade. I heard no weak points throughout the run of this album.

Winter was always a star and before he left this earth he burned as bright as ever with Step Back. I believe he will finally get his Grammy with this monumental accomplishment. As it is with many of the greats that have come and gone, his big moment in the sun will likely come now that he is gone. When that hardware is presented he won’t be here to accept it but will certainly be watching from afar with a big grin. 

Long live the blues and the music of Johnny Winter; this was one hell of an exit for one of the greatest guitar players on the planet.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Mojo Hand , Don’t Want No Woman, Unchain My Heart

01. Unchain My Heart – Johnny Winter
02. Can’t Hold Out (Talk To Me Baby) – Johnny Winter with Ben Harper
03. Don’t Want No Woman – Johnny Winter with Eric Clapton
04. Killing Floor – Johnny Winter with Paul Nelson
05. Who Do You Love – Johnny Winter
06. Okie Dokie Stomp – Johnny Winter with Brian Setzer
07. Where Can You Be – Johnny Winter with Billy Gibbons
08. Sweet Sixteen – Johnny Winter with Joe Bonamassa
09. Death Letter -Johnny Winter
10. My Babe – Johnny Winter with Jason Ricci
11. Long Tall Sally – Johnny Winter with Leslie West
12. Mojo Hand – Johnny Winter with Joe Perry
13. Blue Monday – Johnny Winter with Dr. John


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-Write A Music Review Founder

October 3, 2014

Review Provided By Write A Music


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …