Skip to main content

Progressive Metal Review: Voyager-V

Release Date: June 2, 2014
Label: Nightmare Records

If there is one band from the progressive metal that you need to get yourself acquainted with, it is the Australian band Voyager.   Describing their sound as “Australian pop sensibility with modern progressive heaviness,” Voyager’s music will leave a lasting impression long after the final chord has been played.  Hailing from Perth, Western Australia, Voyager formed in 1999 and consists of Daniel Estrin (vocals, keyboards), Simone Dew (guitars), Alex Canion (bass, backing vocals), Scott Kay (guitars), and Ashley Doodkorte (drums).

V is Voyager’s fifth album and to call it a masterpiece is not a stretch of the imagination by any means.  It is just another remainder of why I think that progressive metal is probably the strongest genre of music going today.  It is hard not to come away from this album impressed.  They have all the right moves with seemingly no missteps.  They are highly creative and know how to blend various influences into their progressive metal sound. 

Voyager knows how to hook an audience with its opening track.  “Hyperventilating” is the type of beginning song that gets one excited for the rest of the album.  It has the right touch of soaring metal riffs with pulsating drums and shredding guitars to get things popping. And then there is the chorus, which is just melodic and hypnotic goodness.  Following it up is the up-tempo, hard-rocking “Breaking Down.” It is another melodic and catchy song that is also has a very radio friendly sound.

With its energetic opening, “A Beautiful Mistake” is a vibrant song that becomes really memorable in its second half.  This is because of guest vocalist Zemyna Kuliukas and her hauntingly beautiful voice.  The blend of the two vocalists is astounding.  The short, spacey “Fortune Favors the Blind” leads directly into
“You the Shallow,” which is the type of song that seeks to destroy your ears from the beginning with some pulsating metal music.  The vocals are crisp and clear, as to be expected by now, and the tempo changes are done flawlessly.

‘Embrace the Limitless” switches things up, perhaps a little too much.  The synthesizer and the classic video game sound clashes a bit with the main rock sound.  I think that it is kind of song that might grow on some people after repeat listens, but not for all.  The synth-lead “Orpheus” makes for a great hybrid electronic/metal sound and the mixing of clean vocals and growls add a little something extra to the song’s atmosphere.  “The Domination Game” comes out killing it with some unrelenting metal riffs, which lead into a melodic chorus for the sprinkles on top.  The subtle and enchanting opening of “Peacekeeper” is like nothing else on the album.

The robust opening sets the tone for “It’s a Wonder.”  Its manic energy is electric and the sound moves fluidly between aggressive and melodic.  The hammering opening of “The Morning Light” is reminiscent of the theme for the Terminator movies.  It then moves to a more euphonic and uplifting sound.  “Summer Always Comes Again” is short and sweet and beautifully sad. “Seasons of Age” is a slow building song with a piano and drums before the guitar jumps in to spice it up.  The crisp drums end the album on a high note.   

Voyager’s V is the kind of album that makes people become fans on the first listen.  It is unique, sophisticated, emotional, beautiful, and so much more.  I cannot recommend V enough to fans of the genre, and to others, this is the type of album that will broaden your musical horizons. It shows these music veterans performing at a top level, which is on display in every song. Voyager is the type of band who push the genre forward, and that is always a good thing when it comes to music.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

02.Breaking Down
03.A Beautiful Mistake
04.Fortune Favors the Blind
05.You the Shallow
06.Embrace the Limitless
08.The Domination Game
10.It’s a Wonder
11.The Morning Light
12.Summer Always Comes Again
13.Seasons of Age 

Brian McKinnon

August 15, 2014

Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk


Popular posts from this blog

British Post-Punk Veterans 1919 Return With A Brand New Masterpiece Of Darkly Melodic Goth Rock, FUTURECIDE!

Los Angeles, CA - Like the mythic phoenix rising from the ashes, British post-punk band 1919 have gone through Hell and back over the course of their harrowing career, but they keep returning stronger than ever! Founded in 1980, the band released its debut album Machine in 1983 and one EP a year later before calling it quits. However, the band reformed in 2014 to great acclaim, performing numerous tours and at festivals across Europe. Then, tragedy struck as the band’s founding guitarist Mark Tighe was diagnosed with cancer in 2016 and succumbed to the disease in January 2017. Tighe insisted that the band should carry on without him, which they have done in finest form with their newest effort Futurecide. The album, which will be officially released on April 12 via Cleopatra Records, features brand new compositions and includes special guest performances by Tighe as well as former member Steve Madden, who also passed away this year. The first single, “Anxiety,” was released at the en…

Concert Review: Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY

Ghost At The Palace Theater Albany NY December 13, 2018

With winter upon us in the great Northeast, it was just another night. We never have a reason to stay in because of the weather, we just go. It so happened that it was a nice evening for a drive to a Ghost concert.We secured our tickets months ago and have been anticipating this night for months on end.
Last July I attended a “bucket list” concert, the great Iron Maiden was coming to Mansfield, MA. Opening for them was Ghost. This was a turn of a friendly card for the band, a great way to get worldwide exposure otherwise not afforded by a lesser band. They were already on the rise and the lead singer Papa Emeritus had a helluva a band (no pun intended there). At that time my prediction was that when the new year began Ghost would be headlining their own shows. So, then it happened, here we are tonight watching this incredible metal band headlining their own show, with no opener may I add.
For those of you unf…

Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert Review

The Experience Hendrix Tour 2019 Concert The Palace Theater Albany, New York April 3, 2019

The pictures I have provided were snapped by me with my phone to give you an idea of the backdrop to the music prior to the show. That screen changed with each song and it was very trippy psychedelic colors and images that mirrored the timeframe of Jimi in his prime. -Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
The Electric Church arrived in Albany, NY last night with its all-star cast for the Experience Hendrix 2019 Tour.The music of Jimi Hendrix continues to thrive and be embraced by fans worldwide. This is a tour I have been wanting to catch for several years now and I finally made it, and so glad I did.
The best thing that could happen to this event is the involvement of Billy Cox. Anyone familiar with Jimi’s music knows that they were friends for a long time and Billy played bass on some of Jimi’s albums. Also, with Janie Hendrix involved it makes everything legit. Also havin…