Skip to main content

Alternative Pop-Punk Review: Bristol To Memory-Animus

Release Date: February 12, 2014
Label: FPP Music

Bristol To Memory, an Alternative Pop-Punk band, has been established in the LA music scene since to 2005. Hailing from Santa Ana, California they are recording and touring veterans

Rory O’Connell (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Alex Buster (drums, percussion, vocals), Kealan O’Connell (bass, vocals) and Ken Aquino (guitar, vocals) make up the current lineup. Although Rory handles the lead vocal duties everyone in the band sings and contributes their parts besides providing the spot on instrumentation.

With Animus, their fourth proper release, the band takes all of that experience and packs it into 7 tracks of high energy power pop and punk. “It'll Happen Or It Won't” comes flying out the starting gate setting the fast paced tempo of this recording. Not until “Get A Grip” do things slow down to show the diversity the band can offer. The vocals on the slower acoustic led track reminded me of R.E.M. quite a bit. “Weekends” returns to “the pedal to the metal” party atmosphere this band is so good at providing.

There is a definite formula to the music of Bristol To Memory and it works. With 10 years of experience under their belt this band sounds seasoned and ready to rock at the drop of a hat. In today’s music world 7 tracks is a shade over what an EP would hold but it gets the job done showing off the true colors of the band. This is just enough to whet your appetite for more, good thinking guys!

Animus does not break any new ground but what you get is straightforward rock and sometimes that is all you want or need to get your motor running. If that is what you are looking for, give Bristol To Memory a shot at providing the fuel you need to get started.

 4/5 Stars

1. It'll Happen Or It Won't
2. Don't Hold Back Baby
3. Bitch Please
4. Get A Grip
5. Weekends
6. It's In My Head
7. It's OK


Key Tracks: It'll Happen Or It Won't, Get A Grip

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-Write A Music Review Founder

August 5, 2014

Review Provided By Write A Music Review



Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…