Skip to main content

Country Review: Willie Nelson-Band of Brothers

Release Date: May 6, 2014
Label: Legacy Recordings

Debuting at number five on the Billboard Top 200 chart and number one on the Billboard Country chart for the first time in twenty eight years, Band of Brothers is classic Willie Nelson at his country singing best. Nine original songs out of fourteen tracks bring back what Willie is best at-his ability to write songs that reach into the grit and texture of humanity. 

From the beginning of the album with “Bring it On” you have a harmonica entwined with pedal steel and some percussion that stirs the blood. The lyrics throw a glimmer of challenge to the human condition, daring the fates to ‘bring it on.’ A rousing track, this is the perfect beginning to an album rich with imagery and emotion.

“Used to Her” is a fun and punchy number reminiscent of the faster, dance step country I grew up with. Plucky with cocky harmonica accompaniments, the vocals are well matched with the snap your heels on the dance floor and swing those hips mover of a song. Burnt bacon and bluegrass. How could you possibly go wrong with this inspiring song?

“Band of Brothers” is the title track for the album and one of my favorite pieces. The guitar playing and layers of music are woven together flawlessly. Moving into the future together, family is a bond built by love and respect. Guitar strings, harmonica and some percussive elements swirl and bob along to craft a song full to bursting with memories and life moments.

“The Git Go” has a bluesy gospel feel but is the least appealing song on the album. Lessons of life and too much in the way of politics make this one stand out from the rest of the pack. While it has some thought provoking points, it misses the artful mark the rest of the album holds.

In Willie Nelson’s long and distinguished career he has performed countless concerts and has a catalog of albums longer than my arm. His voice is smooth as butter and can turn to steel or velvet depending on his mood. His music has grown with me and seen me through my formative years. It is so wonderful to see this great artist writing original works again. If you are a Willie Nelson fan, you need to get this album. From fun and plucky to a little bit on the political side, it’s a musical experience you’re going to want in your collection.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Bring it On, Used to Her, Band of Brothers, The Git Go

01. Bring It On Willie Nelson
02. Guitar in the Corner Willie Nelson
03. The Wall Willie Nelson
04. Whenever You Come Around Willie Nelson
05. Wives and Girlfriends Willie Nelson
06. I Thought I Left You Willie Nelson
07. Send Me a Picture Willie Nelson
08. Used to Her Willie Nelson
09. The Git Go Willie Nelson with Jamey Johnson
10. Band of Brothers Willie Nelson
11. Hard to Be an Outlaw Willie Nelson
12. Crazy Like Me Willie Nelson
13. The Songwriters Willie Nelson
14. I've Got a Lot of Traveling to Do

Dana Wright, Sr. Staff Writer

July 9, 2014

Review Provided By Write a Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…