Skip to main content

Progressive Metal Review: Anubis Gate-Horizons

Release Date:April 15, 2014
Label: Nightmare Records

Anubis Gate markets themselves as “Denmark’s premier prog/powermetal band” and it is hard to argue with this statement after listening to their newest release, Horizons.  I would also say that they would be considered a premier band no matter which country they call home, in fact.  Following the success of 2011’s self-titled album, Horizons is not just a step in the right direction from Anubis Gate after their previous album, but it is also a step up, because this might just be their best work yet.

Even more impressive is that they have managed to stay so consistent quality wise, following the departure of two of their founding members. Guitarist Jesper M. Jensen left in 2012 and drummer Morten Sørensen departed a few months later.  Anubis Gate’s current line-up stands as Kim Olesen (guitar, keyboards), Henrik Fevre (bass, lead vocals), Michael Bodin (guitar), and Morten Gade Sørensen (drums).  Their chemistry must be very strong, as they have crafted a true progressive metal masterpiece with Horizons.

“Destined to Remember” is the first of ten incredible tracks.  It is a fantastic opener that is a complete rush, showing that these guys are still in top form.  The music is grand and explosive and the vocals sound clear and powerful.  It is evident that they have not been placated by the success of their previous album.  “Never Like This (A Dream)” comes out hard and unrelenting before switching to a more melodic sound.  It is one all-around rocking sound with a catchy chorus that has been stuck in my head for days.  

For all those out there looking for the perfect song to head bang to, “Hear My Call” is exactly what you need.  The intro is devilishly good and thrashing.  Then the guitars and vocals kick in for a melodic song that absolutely soars.  I can see this one being an album favorite for many.  Offering a refreshing change of pace is “Airwaves” with its toned down acoustic opening.  This song offers a nice mix of melodic rock with the progressive sound.  “Revolution Come Undone” is a monster of musical creation that thrashes pretty hard.  It is chest-thumping, get-your-blood-pumping type of song, making it an excellent song to mosh to. 

At the album’s halfway point, “Breach of Faith” lures you in with the opening keyboards and then switches to some hypnotic drums and guitar, before bringing it all together for an ecstatic release of music. The heavy and brooding “Mindlessness” follows it up.  It has an excellent groove with some great riffs.  The dazzling music of “Horizons” is a picture of melodic progressive metal perfection.  “A Dream Within a Dream” is a 14-minute epic that never becomes tiresome.  It is a wondrous song with many surprises.  It is dark and ambient, while being very melodic and, at times, quite catchy. In the end, “A Dream Within a Dream” is the perfect example of Anubis Gate blending their diverse sound influences. 

Anubis Gate’s Horizons is a triumphant album.  This is the type of music that needs to be absorbed through multiple listens, as it will get better each time.  It is a little early to call it, but I think that it is safe to say that Horizons is a contender for best progressive metal album of the year.  Fans should love this album, and, if you are new to Anubis Gate, then this is a good as any place to start.  It will not disappoint. 

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

01.Destined to Remember
02.Never Like This (A Dream)
03.Hear My Call
05.Revolution Come Undone
06.Breach of Faith
09.A Dream Within a Dream

Brian McKinnon

May 24, 2014

Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …