Skip to main content

Hard Rock Review: D-A-D-Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark – Deluxe Edition

Release Date: April 23, 2013
Label: AFM Records

I don’t know what it is about the rock bands that come from the Scandinavian regions. I have reviewed a few of them over the years, and they certainly seem to love their rock. They seem to be un-phased by the stigmas that have plagued hard rock in the U.S. for the past 20 years or so, and their music is better for it. D-A-D (formerly Disneyland After Dark, but forced to change their name for obvious reasons) is no exception to this.

D-A-D has been rocking out since the mid 80s. The core of the band has been together this entire time. Jesper (lead vocals/guitar) and Jacob Binzer (guitar), and Stig Pederson (bass/vocals) have a dozen studio albums to their name, and Laust Sonne has been with them on drums since 1999. Their last several albums have continually done well on their native Danish album charts, generally climbing as high as first or second, and Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Arkis no exception.

If this is your first listen to D-A-D, I don’t think you would think that they had been doing this for 30 years. From the opening notes of “A New Age Moving In” there is a youthfulness and energy that exists in this band that many new bands wish they had, never mind ones with this kind of tenure. The result is a strong rock album full of influence from the 70s, 80s, and 90s, but still has a modern sound and avoids the clichés that have hurt many a rock band over the years.

What I also enjoyed about Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark is that they balance the album up from track to track. Songs like “Fast on Wheels” and “Breakin Them Heart By Heart” add a pop/rock style, while ballads like “We All Fall Down” and “Your Lips Are Sealed” show that D-A-D can slow it down from time to time as well. And if you purchase the Deluxe version of Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark you get another 16 tracks of acoustic and live recordings. I don’t know if you’ll prefer many of the acoustic versions to the album versions, but it is nice hearing the tunes stripped down and in such a raw form. The live tracks cover songs from previous releases as well and give you a glimpse at what D-A-D sound like live as well.

Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark is a quality rock album, and spending the bit extra for the Deluxe Edition is well worth it for the 16 tracks of additional recordings. It’s certainly not one of those bonus discs bogged down with sloppy alternative takes or material that wasn’t good enough to make an album. Ultimately D-A-D has once again shown that they can withstand the test of time. Not only withstand it, but can evolve as a band and keep their sound fresh when it can be so easy to put out more of the same. Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark is sure to fill a need for those of us that still love to rock.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: A New Age Moving In, Breakin Them Heart By Heart, We All Fall Down

Kevin Kozel

April 11, 2014

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Disc 1
01. A New Age Moving In
02. I Want What She’s Got
03. The End
04. Fast On Wheels
05. The Place of the Heart
06. Last Time in Neverland
07. Breaking Them Heart By Heart
08. We All Fall Down
09. Wild Thing in the Woods
10. Can’t Explain What It Means
11. Drag Me to the Curb
12. Your Lips Are Sealed

Disc 2

01. I Want What She’s Got (Acoustic)
02. The End (Acoustic)
03. A New Age Moving In (Acoustic)
04. Last Time in Neverland (Acoustic)
05. The Place of the Heart (Acoustic)
06. A New Age Moving In (Live)
07. Jihad (Live)
08. The End (Live)
09. Everything Glows (Live)
10. Ridin’ With Sue (Live)
11. Monster Philosophy (Live)
12. We All Fall Down (Live)
13. Last Time in Neverland (Live)
14. I Want What She’s Got (Live)
15. God’s Favorite (Live)
16. The Place of the Heart (Live)


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

Alternative Rock: mariaFausta -Million Faces

Release Date: November 12, 2017
Label: Independent
Website mariaFausta is a European alternative rock vocalist. Recently her album Million Faces became available. I knew that she would probably sing with an accent and she does. Here is the thing with that aspect of a recording artist, either you cannot get past it or you like it, there is no middle ground. After that process and you decide you like it, you realize it is part of the charisma and make up of what the artist is presenting. For my ears things landed on the positive side in all aspects.

Maria’s sound is a varied approach that works very well. It certainly is alternative rock and one of the most original and different albums I have heard in 2017. I hear a ton of instrumental music and sometimes find it difficult with redundancy regarding my words. That is something that all writers worry about. You are cognizant of that fact at all times. Well let me tell you, this music was a total joy to hear and then have the opportunity to p…

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…