Skip to main content

Progressive Rock Review: Dreadnaught-Have a Drink With Dreadnaught

Release Date:August 30, 2013
Label: Red Fez Records

Dreadnaught might not be a familiar name to many, but it is never too late to get acquainted. Based out of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Dreadnaught consists of Rick Habib (drums, vocals), Bob Lord (bass, vocals), and Justin Walton (6 string guitar, vocals).  This “totally and utterly deranged” trio has been making their special blend of music for some 17 years, and their new EP Have a Drink With Dreadnaught shows them at the top of their game. It is a masterful achievement and these 5 totally different and unique songs are unforgettable.

“Corrupticus 5” is a smooth, hopping country-inspired tune that is sure to have feet tapping and heads bobbing.  The carefree, open road nature of the song is enhanced by the pleasant vocal harmonies that make for the perfect sing-along jam.  And I cannot forget about the guitars, which never fail to impress and take the song to that extra level of musical magic.  “Surface Raid” gets the blood pumping with its manic energy.  It has an overall atmosphere of a trippy space adventure, like a dark dream that you never want to wake up from. 

“The Bear” is a playful tune with a carnival-like atmosphere, featuring strong dual vocals.  “Jpf” is almost hard to describe with all that is going on in it. It has a bit of pop, rock, and progressive rock elements, all mixed into one to make for one sweet treat of a song.  Saving the best for last, “Trophy Bride” absolutely dazzles with its soaring guitars and delightful musical twists and turns.  

Have a Drink With Dreadnaught is musicianship at its finest.  This is the type of music that will stay will you long after the last note has been played.  This EP contains some of the most progressive and experimental rock that I have ever heard.  Every song is different with its own soul.  If there were ever a band and an album to take a chance on, then Dreadnaught and Have a Drink With Dreadnaught are it. 

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

Brian McKinnon

February 5, 2014

Review Provided By Write A Music Review


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…