Skip to main content

Progressive Rock Review: Imagery-The Inner Journey

Release Date: 19thNov 2013
Label:  Cleopatra

Imagery, the Brazilian progressive band, was formed in 2008, but all members of the band have had experience within the Brazilian rock/metal scene for several years prior to coming together. The debut album, The Inner Journey, is a journey through the world of progressive metal/rock, played by extremely skilled musicians. The band list their influences as ranging from The Beatles through to Pink Floyd, Yes, Genesis, Rush, ELP, Iron Maiden, Dream Theater and more.

Imagery is a four piece band currently comprising, Joceir Bertoni (vocals, guitars), Ricardo Fanucchi (bass), Henrique Loureiro (keyboards) and Bruno Pamplona (vocals, drums). Joceir and Ricardo have played together for ten years and they were then joined by Henrique and Luciano Neves (drums) to record the album. Since that recording, Bruno has replaced Luciano on the drum stool.

The Inner Journey is an 8 track album, with a total playing time of around 43 minutes. The shortest track on the album is “Show Me” with a running time of 3:37 minutes and the final track, aptly named “Last,” is the longest, at just over 8 minutes (8:12).

“Fourth Secret” (4:50) is a powerful heavy instrumental slab of progressive music, rich in melodies, and the band are quickly into their stride and the track fairly motors along. The amazing keyboard work, coupled with the guitar riffs and the very solid rhythm engine ensures that the listener is soon sucked into the music. Opportunities arise to allow the keyboards, guitar and the piano to take a shot at center stage, and almost before the listener has realized it, “Fourth Secret” has morphed into “Imagery,” the next track. “Imagery” (5:57) continues the heavy onslaught and I found it to be very reminiscent of Thin Lizzy in the early stages, but soon the track changes tack, and tempo, into a superbly structured melodic track. This slows down to walking pace, letting the superb piano and measured guitar melody dance across the rhythm and carry the track along. The vocals, which appeared at the start were initially of the “heavy rock” style, but are almost laid back when they reappear around the 5 minute mark.

“Perception” (6:13), harks back to the style of the opening track, with exquisite piano from time to time, “Start The War” (4:01), “The Rain” (5:46) and “Stranger” (4:43) continue the driving heavy style with more than a little swagger. A much lighter inclusion is that of track 6, “Show Me” (3:37) which is very gentle with acoustic guitars and a slower tempo, together with a vocal that is very easy on the ear, and immaculate drums and bass playing.
“Last” (8:12), is the album tour de force, and starts off with a memorable riff, terrific bass playing and those amazing organ passages and swirls. Clever time changes, excellent playing and a spoken vocal section, all add to the interest of the listener. The ending of the track “Last,” sees the band slowly fading out from around the 7 minute mark and that is it, all 43 minutes of an impressive debut album.

As a debut album, I find The Inner Journey to be very good, but my main concern, is that The Inner Journey doesn’t have that “je ne sais quoi” that makes it stand out from the pack. A fine introduction to the band, Imagery, with terrific snapshots of some majestic work, but lacking a little in the overall  “wow, that’s a cracker” stakes, although enough is shown to want to hear where the musical evolution between debut and follow-up, will take the band.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Fourth Secret, Imagery, Last

Jim “The Ancient One” Lawson

January 30, 2014

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Fourth Secret
Start The war
The Rain
Show Me


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …