Skip to main content

Indie Rock Review: The Lonely Forest-Adding Up the Wasted Hours

Release Date: December 17, 2013
Label: Trans/Chop Shop Records
Anacortes, WA. This is where The Lonely Forest is from, and they are damn proud of this. Most critics would consider them a Seattle band… or a Northwest band if they wanted to be even more general, but the boys from The Lonely Forest are definitively from a town about 75 miles north of Seattle. Their love for their hometown is not only a part of them, but a big part of what makes their music so genuine as well.

The Lonely Forest is a quartet comprised of John Van Deusen (guitar/vocals), Eric Sturgeon (bass guitar), Braydn Krueger (drums), and Tony Ruland (guitar). Adding Up the Wasted Hours is the bands fourth album, and it was produced by Death Cab for Cutie’s Chris Walla. This pairing seems to be an excellent fit for the band given their affinity for making indie rock tunes while wearing their hearts on their sleeve, much like Death Cab.

I was turned on to The Lonely Forest by my now wife after moving to Seattle back in 2010. They seemed quite young when we saw them and had already been at it for five years. They were also getting ready to release their third album, Arrows. Arrows is an excellent album and grew on me greatly as I listened to it, and I highly recommend it to anyone that does not have it.

Adding Up the Wasted Hoursprogresses nicely from where Arrows left off. For lack of a better term, it’s still rather “emo” lyrically. The songs are personal and honest, and that continues to be a large part of the bands charm. Van Deusen comes off as relatable to many of us and if you connect with him it’s hard not to root for this band. Songs like “Lovric’s” and “Last Time (I Said Your Name)” make this very easy.

I still prefer Arrows to Adding Up the Wasted Hours however. There were more moments when the band really rocked out on it, where this one stays a bit more pop. Van Duesen has a scream that I love, but it is underused in the band’s catalog, and is nonexistent on this album. The closest they come is on “Fire-Breather”. The Lonely Forest replaces the rocking moments with experimental growth though. Tracks like “Neon Never Changes” and “Stars Like Dust” work and provide an interesting sense of direction for their next release. I just hope that we get some of the heavier moments back next time as well.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Lovric’s, Fire-Breather, Last Time (I Said Your Name)

Kevin Kozel

January 17, 2014

1. Pull the Pin and Forget
2. Lovric's
3. Fire-Breather
4. Left Hand Man
5. Neon Never Changes
6. Last Time (I Said Your Name)
7. Adding Up the Wasted Hours
8. Soundings In Fathoms
9. Lavender Dress
10. Warm/Happy
11. Stars Like Dust


Popular posts from this blog

Rock Review: Aunt Mary-New Dawn

Release Date: 12th February 2016 Label: Wind-Up Website
Aunt Mary, as a name, somehow suggests an “older” band and it came as no real surprise to find that they are a Norwegian prog band from the 70’s. The band were considered by many to be one of the best prog bands in Norway with their brand of music a mixture of heavy hard rock tunes plus clear indications of a more symphonic nature, although that only really showed itself on their 3rd, and last, studio album, Janus, in 1973. Last that is, until now, with the release of New Dawn. This would appear to be an apt title for a release which follows 24 years after an album of blues covers, released in 1992. 

At their height, Aunt Mary were “up there” with the likes of Deep Purple, Ten Years After, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and many more. After the release of Janus in 1973, the band split up but did a few sporadic appearances, as well as releasing the blues covers album mentioned earlier.

3 years ago, the Norwegian guitar legend and producer, …

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…