Skip to main content

Electron Love Theory-Colors Of The Galaxy

Artist: Electron Love Theory
Title: Colors Of The Galaxy
Genre: Pop, Electronic, Dance
Label: Electron Records
CD Baby Link

Listening to Colors Of The Galaxy you get the sense that electron love theory feels equally comfortable producing top-forty hits as they do spinning late night in a club. The creation of writer, musician, and producer Jeff Leisawitz, Electron Love Theory has been compared to artists such as Dido, Portishead, and Everything But the Girl, to name a few, and the range of comparisons is apt: Colors Of The Galaxy incorporates a wide range of styles across its thirteen tracks. What is remarkable about this album is how seamlessly, and to what good effect, Electron Love Theory incorporates different musical directions into a depth and breadth of sound that takes the best from each and mixes them into an aural ecosystem where every part adds to the whole.

“The Perfect Lie” brings the galaxy into existence with a smooth, ethereal sound setting the stage for the clean vocals of Gaetana Gravallese, whose fine voice is featured on ten of the tracks. The next couple of songs flesh out the soundscape, adding funky, driving baselines into the atmosphere. This is a rich sound that envelopes and holds you through the last beat. Flowing up from the vibrating, oceanic energy of the album are lyrics that navigate the distance between the personal world of human experience and emotion and physical world in which they exist: the Colors Of The Galaxy.

The album combines catchy, pop melodies to explore the more personal insights into songs such as “You’ll Never Know” and “My Own Worst Enemy,” with tracks like “Endlessly (version 2)” and “Stirring Words” utilizing more electronic and ambient sounds to invoke the outer world. But this distinction is only to help explain the themes and approaches used on the album; each song—and the album as a whole—makes use of, and integrates, sounds and styles, and inward and outward perspectives on the world, to create a cohesive, engaging, and very enjoyable whole. Nothing represents this unity better than the song “Uptown,” whose funky guitar; smooth bass, ambient electronics, well-placed scratches, and soul-tinged pop vocals make it one of the best songs on the album.

Colors Of The Galaxy , with its expert mixing of pure beats, driving rhythms, great melodies, clean vocals, and interesting lyrics is finely produced and good from start to finish, and then again.


Ryan Quinn-March 13, 2007

01. The Perfect Lie (4:13)
02. Into the Moonlight (3:39)
03. Puzzle (3:44)
04. You'll Never Know (3:19)
05. Endlessly (version 2) (5:39)
06. Stirring Words (3:10)
07. Change Direction (4:25)
08. Uptown (4:31)
09. My Own Worst Enemy (4:13)
10. Where Is All the Love in the World? (4:30)
11. In Your Galaxy (4:09)
12. Your Love Is Bringing Me Down (3:59)
13. Come a Little Closer (4:05)


Popular posts from this blog

New Age Instrumental Review: Anaya Music-AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music)

Release Date: February 2, 2018 Label: Anaya Music Website
Around this time a year ago I had the experience of listening to Anaya Music and providing coverage of Eternity.  It was an uplifting experience and a memorable listen as I recall.
Now with February drawing closer AONKI – Gateway of Love (Cosmic New Age Music) will arrive.
Once again, the recording features several exceptional collaborations between Anaya Music and a live virtual symphony orchestra recorded in the heart of Prague, the capital of the Czech republic. The orchestra combines members of the finest ensembles in Prague, including the Czech Philharmonic.
I think they should rename the orchestra to “The Live Spiritual Orchestra.” If you have been exposed to Anaya Music you will understand what that means. If this is your first journey with this music you will find out very quickly. Either way, this is spiritually uplifting music that leaves a smile on your soul. It’s like the term digital footprint, there is an everlasting m…

Jazz Fusion-Rock-Pop-Funk Review: Project Grand Slam-Trippin’

Release Date: June 29, 2018 Label: Cakewalk Records Website
This will be my sixth voyage into the world of Project Grand Slam (PGS). So, what is this experience going to be like this time? I would expect the same great combination of jazz, rock, funk, and pop that I always enjoyed.

Just so you all know PGS is: Robert Miller (bass), Mario Castro (saxophones), Bayden Goyo (keyboards), Joel E. Mateo (drums), Guillermo Barron Rios (percussion), Tristan Clark (guitar) and the beautiful Ms. Ziarra Washington (vocals).

So, now we are Trippin’ into 2018 with PGS. And the first track titled “1972” was like turning on the radio and hearing the Average White Band or Tower of Power. Yes sir, on the AM dial, it came blaring through back in those days. 

The title track is a real gas too. This number has some great sax from Castro and a killer rhythm section courtesy of Miller and Mateo. It shines the spotlight on them clear and bright. Let me tell you, those two are like the dynamic duo, kind of like a p…

New Biography on The Cars Singer/Bassist Benjamin Orr by Vermont Writer Joe Milliken to be Published November 2018!

Bellows Falls, VT – Veteran music journalist Joe Milliken recently announced a publishing deal with the Lanham, Maryland-based publisher Rowman & Littlefield Publishers to produce his first book, a biography about the late Benjamin Orr. Orr was the co-founder, co-lead singer, and bassist for the platinum-selling rock band The Cars. Titled Let’s Go! Benjamin Orr and The Cars, a release date is set for November 15, 2018.

Often considered the band’s heartthrob, Orr possessed an incredible voice, diverse musical talent and rare stage presence, all balanced by a magnetic, yet enigmatic personality, striking good looks, and a relentless determination to reach rock stardom. Born Benjamin Orzechowski (aka “Benny Eleven Letters”) and raised in the Cleveland suburb of Parma Heights, Orr was, prior to becoming a world-famous rock star with The Cars, a “teen star” as a house band musician for the nationally syndicated television show Upbeat.

A few years later Ben met his musical partner and …