23 February 2020

Blu-ray/DVD Review: ZZ Top-That Little Ol’ Band From Texas

Release Date: February 28, 2020
Label: Eagle Rock Entertainment

That Little Ol’ Band From Texas is a documentary of three men from Texas that grew up listening to the same radio stations. Billy Gibbons (guitar, vocals), Dusty Hill (bass, vocals) and Fran Beard (drums) eventually became the international superstars ZZ Top. This is their story from the beginning.

This Blu-ray/DVD set is a no-fluff story that gives you all the important facts that made ZZ Top who they are. And 50 years later the same three men are together as the longest-standing rock band in history. They never had any new members join or leave. I would have to say that they rate right up there with some of the best rock trios like The Jimi Hendrix Experience and Cream.

They took chances, experimented with their music and partnered with all the right people, and everything just fell together. Not to mention, of course, being around when MTV became a phenomenon and they released Eliminator with some very eye-catching colorful videos.

I learned so much watching this film, things I never knew before. It made me realize the long history and beginnings I never realized. I have always been a fan of the band, not a huge fan mind you, but enough to be curious enough to want to know more. My introduction to them was in the 70s when I heard Fandango for the first time then Tres Hombres. I was sold and those two releases remain my favorites to this day. It was in that period I should have caught them live but never did. Fortunately, they are still touring so maybe I can catch them live before they hang up their boots once and for all.

I enjoyed the up-close jam sessions presented in Gruene Hall with just them and the people shooing the videos. I also enjoyed the footage of the early years and the concert clips. Once I got to the bonus section the clips became the full performances.

50 years is a long time to do anything or be so close to anyone, regardless of what your profession is. Even though they are legends they still consider themselves blues interpreters and it looks as though any of their success has changed them much. They come across as down to earth men from Texas that have had a very successful career that genuinely appreciate everything they have gained over the years.

That Little Ol’ Band From Texas
gave blues a bigger name and more respect than it ever had. It was a joy to watch the film and it held my interest from beginning to end. That is a win any day of the week and if you appreciate the music of ZZ Top you’re going to love this Blu-ray/DVD set.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 22, 2020

Founder Of:


Review Provided By MuzikMan.net

Tracks:
Gruene Hall Bonus Performances (21 minutes):
Shuffle In C / Fannie Mae
La Grange
Brown Sugar
Blue Jean Blues
Ham Estate Archives Bonus Performances (22 minutes):
Thunderbird
Tush
Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
Manic Mechanic

Indie Rock Review: Duster - Duster

Release Date: December 13, 2019
Label: Mudguts
Website
After Duster’s droned out experimental lamentations helped bury the 20th century, the band took an extended break, which lasted a decade and a half. Founding member Clay Parton explains, “We didn’t feel like we belonged in this world before,” he said. “And the world is only an even bleaker hellscape now.” Duster’s latest release, Duster delivers a pounding, pulsating battle march through this bleak hellscape. It is a sound that Parton aptly describes as “purring distress”.  

There is an element of pain that these tracks bring forth, yet it is a bearable and oftentimes pleasing torment, like a mild sunburn or ankle sprain. Duster skillfully walks the thin line of pleasure and pain, stepping from one side to another, yet maintaining their balance throughout.  

The opening track, “Copernicus’ feels like an interrogation lamp turning off and on and off and on again, blasting into your brain in forcefull, mind-numbing 2-second intervals. “I’m Lost” deliberately cuts the vocals lower than the thundering fuzz of the guitar, drum, and bass blend. Straining to make out the lyrics is part of the experience. “Don’t you know I’m lost? Don’t you know I’m lost without you here.” 

Other angst-ridden gems include “Summer War,” “Damaged,” and “Ghoul.” “Go Back” evokes the most haunting and terror-ridden vibe on the album. Even the more seemingly optimistic “Lomo,” with its rich sonic texture and evocative atmosphere lyrically pull the listener under its spell. “Late into the night. When it’s still and calm. And the mind slows down. Is this death? Maybe. It’s alright.”

All said, If you’re looking to have your soul musically eviscerated, give Duster a listen. The depths you’ll reach are impossible to arrive at with other bands. The mastery of this record lies in how skillfully Duster takes the listener to the depths of their own soul, returning them emptied and expunged, ready to start anew.
Tom Endyke | Guitar & Pen | MuzikMan.net Staff

February 22, 2020

22 February 2020

Progressive/Rock Review: Bernie Shaw & Dale Collins -Too Much Information

Release Date: September 13, 2019
Label: Bernie Shaw / Dale Collins
Website
Kicking off the album Too Much Information, Bernie Shaw is very bright and uplifting as "So Many Times" begins. The album reminds me a lot of the band Journey and their unique sound to 80's Rock. Longtime friends Bernie Shaw and Dale Collins team up to produce an album of seismic proportions. With the assistance of Ron Restall on drums and Jason Gardenits on the keyboard, the perfect blend of Blues and Progressive Rock chemistry.

The depiction of the artwork can be interpreted as a dawn of a new day, or as the light in the sea of gray. It sizes up to the tone of the record as it avails the roughness of the waves and the heaviness of songs like "Alone" and "Hey Jimi," while that glimmer of light shone beyond the sea reflects on a more positive note of "Here We Go" and "Rock On."

Running back on "So Many Times," the song captures a lighter side of Bernie Shaw, where he typically adheres to more of an intense Metal sound. It is an excellent battle between letting the light in, feeling good, and thinking there was more one could have made a better choice along the way. "Alone" is an immediate stark contrast. The song proclaims how the singer will now be operating daily life on his own, he cannot continue to carry the weight of his other half with no sign of change or improvement.

"Here We Go," keeps the beat of every traveler's anthem. However, the song speaks of an irritating, repetitious situation that he finds himself caught in the middle of. To me, it feels very much like hiking up an endless trail or mountain; albeit, it even reminds me of the scene in Rocky, climbing the Philadelphia stairs.

"Too Much Information," the title track, is a great bridge-like track. It is not too detailed or overly emotional. Rather, it is a pleasant earworm for guitar lovers everywhere. Contrary to the title, it doesn't feel like overload at all. I probably stand alone in this thought, however, it is nice to see an artist not make the title of the album his or her main focus.

We turn now to a darker note, but, it turns out to be my favorite track of the album. "Sad Song" possesses a great blend of Shaw's vocals and both Shaw's and Collins' instrumental technique. The song has a great way of rocking like the sea, building up like a solid wave and crashing into the shore, at the height of Shaw's chorus lines.

An excellent ode to the late, great Jimi Hendrix follows up a solemn track. Upon initial listening, one is safe to assume, this might be a more somber or even heartwrenching tribute. As the song progresses it is anything but. The song calls out to the spirit of Hendrix and does his honor well by majoritively dedicating this track to being an instrumental piece. One of the great kings of Rock music would be jamming right alongside Shaw and Collins if he were able to hear this today.

"Just A Little Bit" is a great in-your-face anthem of how someone can just try to break another person down in every possible way. The person being tormented wants nothing more than to see the damage right in front of their face. You can tell as the song progresses, the singer won't let this irritation get the best of him and builds upon the harm caused by the other party.

With that rise-from-the-ashes tune, we arrive at the final song of the album, "Rock On." It is a steady, fun track emphasizing the carefree spirit of the duo. The song solidifies what every musician, band, and concert-goer have in common; and that's to simply – rock on. When everything around you seems to be on sensory overload or you might just be feeling a bit down about something in life, the message is clear; rock on with Too Much Information.

Key tracks include: “Sad Song,” “Hey Jimi,” and “Rock On.” 


Gregg Keniston- MuzikMan.net Staff
February 19, 2020

Reviews Provided By:

Track Listing:
1. So Many Times
2. Alone
3. Here We Go
4. Too Much Information
5. Sad Song
6. Hey Jimi
7. Just A Little Bit
8. Rock On

21 February 2020

Instrumental Rock Review: Sammy Boller-Kingdom of The Sun

Release Date: March 20th, 2020
Label: Candyrat Records
Website


It takes a lot of talent and some good promotion to cut through all the noise of social media and the zillion other artists out there vying for your attention. If you do not have a hit on today’s radio stations and you play instrumental rock, well, let’s just say the chances of you becoming the next Joe Satriani are slim to none.

There are some exceptions to that rule and every once in a while, then some young six-string gunslinger gets my undivided attention. Let me introduce you to Sammy Boller. Never heard of him? Well, I didn’t either but now that has changed and it will for you too once you hear his killer new album Kingdom of The Sun.

Make no mistake, this guy is smokin’ hot people! He is one of the best I have heard in some time. The single and title track “Kingdom of the Sun” was released on January 17, 2020. It is an amazing track that rocks start to finish with some great melodicism albeit at lightning speed. The album drops on March 20th and a limited vinyl run will be available as well. It will sound amazing on vinyl, considering how great my digital copy sounds right now, I would not give it a second thought getting the 33rpm platter.

In one of the statements in his one sheet one person says “He is a state-of-the-art rock guitarist.” I would agree with that 100%. A lot is going on with those fingers and he sounds like two players going full tilt instead of one. The sound he creates is crisp, clean and it is always filled with rhythm, and every track offers something different with sound, emotion, color, and atmospheres. When I hear talent like this it sounds so pure, like the man was born to do this and nothing else. His gifts are obvious after one listen to Kingdom of The Sun. Sammy grew up wanting to be Randy Rhodes and Eddie Van Halen, well it sure looks as though he is showing a powerful combination of both of those influences.

Sammy also is a regular contributor with his article Secrets of Shred with Guitar World Magazine, which has a loyal following. So, he is willing to share his knowledge with his readers so they can learn how to play as he does. I wish you the best with that and you had better get a Metronome!

On 11 tracks of superb guitar virtuosity, Sammy takes a listener on an instrumental rocket ride. His playing is on a level few ever attain. I felt immediately turned on with his sound but also found familiarity with what I was hearing. I am a big Satch fan so it was easy for me to dive into this but it had to be exceptional right out the gate without it subsiding. The energy level of every track is top-notch, it just comes at you in many different paces with different spaces being filled in the most superlative way.

One of my favorite tracks and a great example of Sammy’s talent is “Temple of Time.” He coaxes some amazing sounds out of his well-worn electric six-string. The track exudes a power that is simply electric with pinpoint accuracy. If you enjoy guitar-oriented instrumental rock you will be playing Kingdom of The Sun a lot, I can guarantee it. Check out the stream provided of the title track single and video of Sammy playing “Cloak of Light.”

Kingdom of The Sun is an instant classic as far as I am concerned and you need to hear it if you like to rock, it is as simple as that.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck 

February 21, 2020

Review Provided By MuzikMan.net

Tracks: 
01. Kingdom of the Sun
02. Sunrise/Sunset
03. Cloak of Light
04. Iolite
05. For Madmen Only
06. Dark Night of the Soul
07. Illusions
08. The Empress
09. Mirror of the Heart
10. Temple of Time
11. Awakening From The Daydream

 









Founder of:

20 February 2020

THE FOLSOM PROJECT Releases Their Debut Cinematic Concept Album THE WOLF & THE SKULL


San Francisco, CA – From the mind of composer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Romsam Malpica, a new way of presenting cinematic atmospheres through an audiovisual experience has been born under his moniker THE FOLSOM PROJECT. A mix of Orchestral Rock, Trap, and Trip-hop, THE FOLSOM PROJECT draws inspiration from Romsam’s experience with film scoring and dark sound design, which he explores on his debut cinematic concept album THE WOLF & THE SKULL, releasing online February 21 everywhere music is streamed and sold, followed by an official CD release on March 13, 2020.

THE FOLSOM PROJECT was conceived in 2015 while Romsam was studying music production for a year at Pyramind in downtown San Francisco, CA. Originally from Jalisco, Mexico, Romsam was inspired by his new surroundings, and he took the name of the street where his SF Music Academy was located for THE FOLSOM PROJECT.

It was here that Romsam Malpica began to develop the concept of an “audible action thriller.” The resulting debut album THE WOLF & THE SKULL is a soundtrack to the story he tells of a sick and troubled doctor in charge of a biochemical lab in the middle of the woods. The doctor works on the mysterious Folsom Project, which hides a dark truth. The story is told through the eyes of  “The Wolf,” an animalistic creature that awakens in the woods with no memory and a thirst for vengeance, and explores The Wolf’s journey to unravel the truth about his past and stop the doctor at all costs.

The first single to introduce the album’s concept was “Dr. Schmidth,” which was released digitally in the summer of 2019 and is, as Romsam calls it, “the villain’s ballad.” Following that release was “Iceland,” the next single that explores a conversation between the secondary characters Ali and Bob, aka The Skull. Ali is in her mid-twenties and was abducted by the Project, while The Skull is a biogenetic scientist and the doctor’s partner.

These first two singles culminated with the digital release of The Wolf & The Woods EP, which featured the first five songs off the new full-length album. Romsam also designed visual elements across all the artwork and videos for the project to help establish the main color and tone of the album’s story, set amongst the dark imagery of the woods and featuring characters like The Wolf, The Lady in White, or The Skull with his mysterious yet unknown intentions.

Get a taste of the cinematic audiovisual experience provided by THE FOLSOM PROJECT and the new debut album THE WOLF & THE SKULL, releasing online February 21 everywhere music is streamed and sold, followed by an official CD release on March 13, 2020.



To order THE WOLF & THE SKULL on digital services please visit: https://smarturl.it/TFPWolfandSkull

To order THE WOLF & THE SKULL on Bandcamp please visit:  https://thefolsomproject.bandcamp.com/

For more information about THE FOLSOM PROJECT please visit: www.thefolsomprojectmusic.com

For Press and Interview inquiries please contact Billy James of Glass Onyon PR: (828) 350-8158 or glassonyonpr@gmail.com

For Digital Marketing please contact Jerome Forney of Independent Distribution Collective: jerome@independentdistro.com

19 February 2020

Prog Legends Gentle Giant To Release First 4 Albums On Vinyl April 3, 2020


Gentle Giant is happy to announce the release of the first 4 albums on vinyl April 3rd.

After the positive response to the box set “Unburied Treasure” many fans asked whether the vinyl albums would ever be available. The band has responded and decided to make these albums officially available for the first time in decades.

The band’s first album “Gentle Giant” was first released in October 1970. Produced by Tony Visconti it marks the 50th Anniversary of the recording and live appearances of the band. Tony Visconti produced the follow up album “Acquiring The Taste” in 1971.

The band oversaw the production of the third album “Three Friends” in 1972 and was the first official release in North America. Strangely the N.A. version featured the artwork from the U.K. “Gentle Giant” album.

This album was followed up with their milestone album “Octopus” in 1972. Once again the North American artwork was different to the Roger Dean U.K. version and featured a dye cut Octopus in a jar.

Released on the Alucard label, the albums will be manufactured in 180 gram vinyl with the original gatefold artwork from the U.K.

The band hopes that their friends, followers and fans will enjoy these albums in their original form 50 years later!

For more information:
Twitter: @GGIANTMUSIC
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlegiantband/
Instagram: @gentlegiantband

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

17 February 2020

Bass Legend Tony Newton Releases Timely New Single “Stop That Sh*t”


Bass legend Tony Newton is releasing a timely new single “Stop That Sh*t” from his newly released acclaimed new album “White Light Collection.” Says Brett David Stewart of JukeboxPodcast, “Lyrically, the single takes aim at those who only want to benefit themselves, often at the cost of those around them and future generations. 'Stop That Sh*t,' Newton croons funkily as he points the finger at a 'bad cancer' of society - those with endless greed.”

Not too long ago, the world of music found a revelation in Tony Newton, a virtuoso hailing from the historic city of Detroit, Michigan. Tony took keen interest in the art of music right from the days of his childhood. At the tender age of 7 years, his passion for music drew him closer to the piano. Although Tony is highly adept in playing keyboards, there is no denying the fact that he has carved out quite a history for himself in the field of electric bass.

Newton officially launched his bass guitar career along with the likes of esteemed blues musicians, such as John Lee Hooker, T-Bone Walker and Little Walter then moving on quickly to Motown. Tony has sealed a permanent berth for himself in the souls and minds of music lovers not only across the USA but also in different parts of the world by recording on over 100 hit recordings with innumerable world-renowned artists, including The Funk Bros., Tony Williams Lifetime, Smokey Robinson, Stevie Wonder, Michael Jackson, Supremes, Allan Holdsworth, Gary Moore's G-Force, Robbie Krieger of the Doors, Aretha Franklin, Mamas & Papas, Chuck Berry,& Little Richard, to name a few.

TONY STILL HERE. Scores of musicians, producers and one hit wonders have hit the dust. Tony's music has evolved from the turbulent and riotous sixties and seventies to the current plethora of crises of the 21st century. This legendary talent and rare phenom rose with white lightning speed to the top of American music artistry, to become an iconic trendsetter and innovator. What's different and unique about TN that distinguishes him from other music artists.

His fans say this:
“He is a powerful musical history coupled with current innovative sound”
“He’s not trying to fit into slots”
“He is a trendsetting, artist who forges his own way” 
“His great song writing and arrangements!” 
“A fresh new music, doesn't sound like anybody else, is original, Groove, depth of music, honesty, very uplifting” 
“He is multifaceted, not only musically but personally and professionally in all that he does”
“Tony sees the bigger picture and beyond and succeeds in bringing it all together for the betterment of humanity”

Says Newton, “My music tells life stories – Within my music there is a unique and special story for each listener as well as a journey for both you and I. If I can write and perform music which helps you get through a bad time, good time, inspires, or gets you thinking, then I have fulfilled my mission”



“Newton's Motown roots are immediately apparent on 'Stop That Sh*t,' a lengthy nine minute excursion through his thunderous style of bass performance. It has a slick, cinematic style to it that's scored with searing electric guitar, bass, and keys solos, cataclysmic string sections, and waterfalls of bombastic percussion and backing vocals. Much like Motown, it's sharply produced and immensely suave, but never sterile or inauthentic.” -  Brett David Stewart (BrettDavidStewart.com) - JukeboxPodcast

“Antonio (Tony) Newton, super genius, will go down in history as one of the most vital path forgers of our era” - Randali, Music Critic - Mean Streets Magazine.

WHAT TONY NEWTON IS DOING NOW!

Along with promoting his new album and single, currently Tony is writing and producing theme song for DNA National Homeless Soulutions! He is also preparing for “RARE” concert series in colleges and theaters across the US in addition to “Personal Enrichment, Technology and Music” speaking events, produced by Seaside Music Management.

To purchase: https://beatcha.in/tonynewtontntxtreme/stopthatshit

For more information:

WEBSITE
https://TonyNewtonMusic.com

FACEBOOK
https://www.facebook.com/TonyNewtonMusicArtist
https://www.facebook.com/TonyNewtonTntXtreme/

YOUTUBE CHANNEL
https://www.youtube.com/c/antoniotonynewtonmusic

EMAIIL SIGNUP & BIO
https://sites.google.com/view/tnewtonwlc/home

US - PR and Events
SeaSide Music Management
Inside MusiCast
www.seasidemusicmgmt.com
PH: 1-561-350-3867

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com