03 July 2020

Blues Review: Dion-Blues With Friends

Release Date: June 5, 2020
Label: Keeping The Blues Alive

Dion was born, Dion Francis DiMucci in Bronx, New York. Throughout his career, he has seemingly done it all. Although at 80 years old (almost 81), you could expect that. While his musical beginnings link back to 1957, it was not until 1960 that Dion went solo and started to experience some true momentum in his music. Having gone through several different phases in his career, he has fiddled with so many different genres from rock to Christian, and R&B. I mean who else can form several different bands, break out into a solo career, and genre hop so effortlessly to arrive at 80 with such a short album discography? That has been revealed through Dion’s ventures with the Belmonts, himself, and revolving from Christian back to secular music. Recently he released Blues With Friends.


When “Blues Comin’ On” starts up, you immediately understand why the “blues” could be both uplifting and also get you right in the gut. It starts the album off with a very positive chord and tone, while the lyrics are reflective and not exactly light and positive. “Kickin’ Child” is a cruiser of a tune. With the top-down and the wind blowing through your hair, it offers a continuation of a feel-good spirit. Then you get the jazzy-influenced “Uptown Number 7”
to conclude the trio of overall positivity.

“Can’t Start Over Again” at first, sounds like a country song. It’s like the singer is a rolling stone trying to find his way. But, when you listen more closely, it’s more of a heartbreak that acts as a roadblock in his life because the point of a do-over is so tough to comprehend. “My Baby Loves to Boogie” bounces right back to a funk beat. The song is a great way to step onto the dancefloor and…boogie. I’m reminded of the Blues Brothers here. “I Got Nothin’” is a cool message of letting a partner know that one might not have a lot of material goods or a lavish lifestyle, but in the end, they do have the capability to still make one another happy. “Stumbling Blues” is a great play-on song lyrically of the way we often feel when we first become infatuated with a new love interest.

Moving forward, “Bam Bang Boom” is a happy ode to a woman who gave new meaning to the singer’s life and he seemed he couldn’t be more thrilled because of it, just like that. “I Got the Cure” lays out the singer’s confidence in himself as well as for the perfect remedy of a bad day or mood. The album then switches up to “Song For Same Cooke (Here In America)” which is a wonderful reflection on the famed singer, Sam Cooke. It spoke of a bond between the two artists that went deeper than just music.

“What If I Told You” is a twist on the typical cheating or wronged love song. The song tells of how the singer is on to his lover’s actions and feelings (or non-existent feelings) towards him and toward someone else. Knowing he is above the tomfoolery of the back-and-forth of a breakup or fight, he just gives off premonitions of how aware he is of her actions.”Told You Once In August” pairs well with the prior song. Another cheating song told in a different form, holds more of a western vibe to it this time around.

Rounding out the final tracks, “Way Down (I Won’t Cry No More)” sings of hurt and pain from love but, speaks more to the redemption of the singer’s attitude. He will in-fact, rise above this temporary pain of betrayal and be better for experiencing it. This leads us to the finale. Although sounding initially like a somber tune, a very positive, reflective message shines through.

Speaking of the Lord, Dion directs the listener to always look towards God to overcome the greatest adversity. This last track is an opposite mirror effect of his first track “Blues Comin’ On” where the lyrics are gloomy, but the tone and sound are both happy; whereas “Hymn to Him” is sounding more slow and dark but, a very powerful message prevails.

Key tracks include: “Hymn to Him,” “Kickin’ Child,” “Stumbling Blues.”


Gregg Keniston - MuzikMan.net Staff
June 30, 2020



Track Listing:
01. Blues Comin’ On
02. Kickin’ Child
03. Uptown Number 7
04. Can’t Start Over Again
05. My Baby Loves To Boogie
06. I Got Nothin’
07. Stumbling Blues
08. Bam Bang Boom
09. I Got The Cure
10. Song For Sam Cooke (Here in America)
11. What If I Told You
12. Told You Once In August
13. Way Down (I Won’t Cry No More)
14. Hymn To Him


02 July 2020

Former HAWKWIND Bassist & LEMMY Protégé ALAN DAVEY Joins Newest Incarnation Of DANNY B. HARVEY’S Rockabilly Project, HEADCAT 13!


Los Angeles, CA - Proving the old adage about cats having nine lives, rockabilly guitarist and icon Danny B. Harvey has returned with a new descendent of the rockabilly project he started back with Lemmy of Motörhead and Slim Jim Phantom of The Stray Cats. The Head Cat, as they dubbed themselves, released a studio album Fool’s Paradise in 2006 as well as a live album, Rock N’ Roll Riot On The Sunset Strip. Years later, after the passing of Lemmy (who lived more lives than all these other cats combined) Harvey recruited 69 Eyes crooner Jyrki 69 for (what else) The 69 Cats. And now, the man who filled Lemmy’s motorcycle boots in the legendary space rock band Hawkwind, Alan Davey, has teamed up with Harvey along with Frantic Flattops drummer Paul Vezelis for the newest litter, Headcat 13!

Following in the paw prints of the previous groups, this outing offers some more fantastic covers of early rock classics such as “Route 66,” “Susie Q,” and “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Going On,” which features a special guest performance by Annie Marie Lewis, niece of The Killer himself Jerry Lee Lewis. But the real cream in this batch comes from the original songs penned separately by Harvey and Davey including the standout lead-off track “Let’s Go Crazy!”

Harvey, who also produced the album, shares this about the single “I’m so happy that Cleopatra is releasing ‘Let’s Go Crazy’ as the first single off my new Headcat 13 album. Last year, when Alan ‘Boomer’ Davey joined Headcat 13 onstage as my bassist for the North American  Space Ritual 2019 in Austin TX, I knew it would be a travesty if Alan and I didn’t get into the studio and record an album of songs together right away. A few months after the festival, Alan loaded up his car with his infamous Ric bass and his favorite amp and drove all the way from Death Valley to Austin in 100+ degrees heat. We spent five intense but fun days in studio, composing, learning, arranging and recording the songs. This album is a throwback to the way albums were recorded in the golden age of rock’n’roll, go in with nothing and 5 days later come out with a finished masterpiece. When people ask me what this album sounds like, I quote Lemmy and say, ‘It’s fucking rock’n’roll, what do you think it sounds like?!’”

Headcat 13 will be available on digital as well as CD in a special digipak and on a very limited edition vinyl!

Stream the single: https://orcd.co/headcat_13_lets_go_crazy

Preorder the album: https://orcd.co/headcat_13

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com
Facebook @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.facebook.com/CleopatraRecords/
Instagram @cleopatrarecords
https://www.instagram.com/cleopatrarecords/
Twitter @cleopatrarecord
https://twitter.com/cleopatrarecord
Youtube @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCopQ0616Fpfrq8Gt0N-0zOQ
Soundcloud @cleopatra-recs
https://soundcloud.com/cleopatra-recs
Dailymotion @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.dailymotion.com/CleopatraRecords
Vimeo @cleopatrarecords
https://vimeo.com/cleopatrarecords
Spotify  @cleopatra_recs
https://open.spotify.com/user/cleopatra_recs
Linkedin @cleopatra-records
https://www.linkedin.com/company/cleopatra-records

01 July 2020

Los Angeles Songwriter Bob Beland To Release 8th Album "Happy Camper"


BOB BELAND is an American born musician/songwriter from Los Angeles, CA, where he has performed, written and recorded original music from 1974 to the present. He is releasing his 8th album “Happy Camper” on June 30th on the Wrong Way Works label. The music reflects upon his experiences living and performing in California since 1967.

Beland recently collaborated with 10cc legend Kevin Godley on a song that will be released on Kevin's first solo album “Muscle Memory “ in December 2020. The collaborative track “Big Bang Theory” will be released as a single in August 2020.

BOB BELAND - “Happy Camper”
As I was assembling the songs for my 8th album, “Happy Camper,” I started to see a theme develop. It was a personal travelogue of sorts about my time here in California. I came to the Golden State by rail via the Santa Fe Super Chief with my Mom, Dad, five brothers and one sister. We arrived in Los Angeles in 1967. From that year on I would spend time and play music both in the Northern part of the state in San Francisco from 1970 to 73 and then back down South to Los Angeles in 1974. These songs reflect upon those experiences either directly, as in ‘Big Sur,” “I'll See You There” and “Orange Groves,” or indirectly as with “Honey In The Hive,” “Underneath The Sweeping Sky” and “Pal O' Mine.” “Heartbreakers and Soultakers” main storyline revolves around a pair of young people from different ethnicities venturing out into the nightlife of club land. In the song there’s also a hidden reference to a certain famous band and their leader's A.K.A. if you listen closely. For “Something/Anything?” I had this driving acoustic rhythm guitar riff happening but I needed something lyrically to fit it. For some unknown reason I thought of Todd Rundgren's great double album “Something/Anything?” and realized that he hadn't any song on that album or anywhere in his catalog and the phrase fit perfectly so I hope he's not offended by my 'borrowing' it.

The title track , “Happy Camper.” came as a surprise to me as I had no intention of writing a song with that title. I had it in mind only for the album title two thirds of the way through when I suddenly became ill in February 2020. While recovering, the lyrics of the song came to me fast. So fast that I felt more like a stenographer taking notes than a songwriter. A melody came as soon as I reviewed what I had written but it took another 3 days for me to feel good enough to go into the studio and put it to music and the piano. The music came together very quickly as well. This song didn't come to me in a dream. It came to me in the middle of the day while I was sick and anything but alone with my thoughts in a busy family household. However, what I did feel was the presence and words of my mother and father, who had passed away decades ago, coming back to me and whispering into my ear. I was listening to the spirits from long past and it was an intense but beautiful feeling of resolution. I hope those who listen feel the same way I did.

Now, a little background on the players who contributed their time and talents to “Happy Camper.”

Bob Gross is someone I’ve known since the early 1970’s. Among the other acts he's worked with was Delaney Bramlett of Delaney & Bonnie fame, Bob Wier's Jemima Puddleduck and currently can be seen and heard gigging with the Deanna Bogart Band. Richard d'Andrea is a friend and former Furys alumi who's been a mainstay in the L.A. rock scene since the 70's most notably founding the Know with Gary Valentine and working with musicians such as the Roosters and Carla Olson. Marty Korth is a long standing friend of mine who also spent some time in the Furys and has played bass on other songs that I've written and recorded over the years. Greg Embrey is also from the Furys. Smokey Fennell is Canada's “most OK est” steel guitarist according to Smokey. In classic Canadian humility he actually is a much in demand musician who can be heard on the British singer/songwriter David Gray's smash it, “Babylon,” as well as on two of Gray's best selling albums. Paula Kuhr is a classical violinist who has performed on two of my albums before this one. She is a member of the MESTO orchestra who perform worldwide.

I hope you enjoy the musical travelogue that is my 8th solo album, “Happy Camper!”

Bob Beland
Mar Vista, Ca

Bob Beland's musical history is as follows: 
Southpaw - A founding member along with Jules Shear and Deki Mason (Victorino) - 1973-75
Bates Motel - A founding member along with Les Bohem - 1977- 1979
Bob Beland solo recording - “Stealing Cars” / “I Can Walk Away” 45rpm single on Deli Platter Records, produced by Stephen Hague - 1980
Bob Beland solo recording - “the Bob Beland e.p.” on What Records produced by Stephen Hague -1982
The Furys - A charter member as lead guitarist – 1985 -1989
The Furys - “Indoor/Outdoor” self produced 12” vinyl e.p. on King Coitus Records - 1986
Skin Trade - A charter member as lead guitarist - 1989
Co-writer with Kevin Godley of “the Bang Bang Theory” for Kevin Godley's solo album “Muscle Memory” set for release December 2020 on the UK label state51conspiracy

Bob Beland solo recordings:
“Stealing Cars”/”I Can Walk Away” - 45rpm single on Deli Platter Records (produced by Stephen Hague) - 1980
"The Bob Beland e.p." on What Records (produced by Stephen Hague) -1982
"Amnesia Lane" on Seeing i Records - 1993
"Life Begins..." on Wrong Way Works - 2007
“Left Of Center” - on Wrong Way Works - 2016
"Mar Vista" on Wrong Way Works - 2017
"Forward & Backworks" on Wrong Way Works - 2018
"Mano Sinistra" on Wrong Way Works - 2018
“Welcome” on Wrong Way Works - 2019
“Happy Camper” on Wrong Way Works - 2020

All of Bob’s music is currently available at these online music retail outlets - Apple MUSIC, iTunes, Pandora, Deezer, Google Play, Tidal, Facebook, Amazon Music Spotify and most other online streaming subscription music services as well as SoundCloud

Music Platforms:
SoundCloud - https://soundcloud.com/bobbeland
APPLE MUSIC -https://music.apple.com/us/album/happy-camper/1519606
YouTube Music - https://music.youtube.com/channel/UCW1DB2NCH6dhaR3v8oRe5QQ
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X15eV_LooOw&list=PLwERyPtTQxtOvjzgx42423E0h0IEW8r9s&index=1
Amazon.com - https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Bob+Beland&i=digital-music&search-type=ss&ref=ntt_srch_drd_B0016SR3JQ
Spotify - https://open.spotify.com/artist/4CirZ6zawv0jZCorMOnlrr

Social Media Patforms:
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/belandbob/?hl=en
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/bbeland

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Folk-Rock Review: Ray LaMontagne - MONOVISION

Release Date: June 26, 2020
Label:  RCA

Roll me, Mama, Roll me," the first track on Ray LaMontagne's new release, MONOVISION rolls over the listener like a cold wave on the hot sand. It's an enchanting blend of his old bluesy-folk stylings and his more recent airy and subdued vibe. Fervent vocals ride upon the lush and layered hooks The breathy and soulful intonations deeply enrich the underlying vibe throughout the entire album. 


Let's face it, the most lasting impressions of a musical artist are typically formed based on the first album one hears from that artist. My introduction to Ray Lamontagne was 2016's slow-burning Ouroborus. Traveling back in time from there, I came to appreciate his earlier folk-ified country offerings. In recent releases such as 2018's Part of the Light and the aforementioned Ouroborus, LaMontagne has slowed his music pace. Yet on MONOVISION, he seems to have brought back a bit of the old down-home sound and blended it with his newfound airy vibe. 

"Misty Morning Rain" starts slow and intensifies. Reminiscent of the livelier songs from Van Morrisson Astral Weeks, the staggered rhythm and textured strumming makes it nearly impossible to sit still. As one of the better songs on the album, LaMontagne, as always, reveals the pain in his soul through his profoundly expressive voice. "We'll Make it Through," and "Strong Enough" are two other strong tracks that set the mood as inspiring, if not feathery anthems of the day. 

While the enthusiasm is infectious on most of these songs, the album is not without a few sedatives. "Weeping Willow", "Highway to the Sun," and "Summer Clouds" are as slow as molasses. They, too, serve as a sign of the times as we've all been forced (arguably for the better), to turn the cadences of our own lives down a few notches. 

Overall, MONOVISION is a quintessential Ray LaMontagne record. His subtle and soft guitar tones underscore an organic uprising of his deepest thoughts and feelings. A marriage of the old with the new results is an evolved and original listening experience. 


- Tom Endyke | Guitar & Pen




30 June 2020

Guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal Release A Vibrant New Musical Collaboration "Across the Evening"


“Across the Evening,” by ambient experimental guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal, further extends the ambient/jazz/world crossover music both musicians have traversed throughout their diverse careers. Featuring appearances from Colin Edwin (UK) on bass, Aleksei Saks (Estonia) on trumpet, and Andi Pupato (Switzerland) on percussion, “Across the Evening” is a multi-dimensional, trans continental delight.

With sounds that caress and envelop, rhythms that percolate and inspire, the two guitarists nimbly play off each other and their guests, rarely allowing the listener to imagine that they are hearing guitars.

From the sublime “Reflective Sea” to the deep middle eastern vibe of “Beguiling Eyes,” the album crosses multiple stylistic boundaries. The final two tracks, “Return to Russia” and “Balkan Blue” are live recordings from the ensemble's live performance in Tallin, Estonia in 2019.

Says Jon, “Robert and I had known each others' work for some time - I'm really fond of his group Uma (with Aleksei Saks), and between my collaborations with Tony Levin and Colin Edwin, he'd been following my work as well. But we hadn't connected personally until recently. When the idea of collaborating was floated, we met it with great enthusiasm. We are both very interested in the textural possibilities with guitar but approach it differently, both in terms of tools and techniques. In the end, the two approaches blend wonderfully, and it's often hard to believe that what you’re hearing is guitar. When we began working, we realized that while it's great to be able to work remotely, there was a strong desire to also work together in the same room. I arranged a trip to Tallinn, and Robert organized a concert at Philly Joe's Jazz Club in Tallinn. We were very fortunate to have Aleksei Saks join us on Trumpet, and Inna Kovtun came up from Kiev to sing with us. It was an incredibly inspiring evening, and two tracks on the album are from the recording of that show. The album includes ideas and concepts born out of our few days of rehearsing and improvising together, and flushed out with fantastic performances from Colin Edwin (bass) and Andi Pupato (percussion).”

THE ARTISTS

Jon Durant - Guitars

Jon Durant brings a unique sense of texture and melody to his instrument. His unique “cloud guitar” soundscapes and engaging lead work have graced numerous CD recordings and film soundtracks and his very distinctive use of fretless guitar has been widely admired. He has previously released 9 solo albums and three Burnt Belief records (with Colin Edwin). Durant's acclaimed 2018 solo release “Parting Is” was his first “solo guitar” recording and the follow up solo guitar album “Alternate Landscapes” continue to stretch the boundaries of what a guitar record can sound like. Both solo CDs have been nominated for “Best Ambient Album” in various US new age radio publications, while “Alternate Landscapes” also spent multiple weeks at the top of the NACC Chill Charts.

Robert Jürjendal - Guitars

Robert Jürjendal is an Estonian guitarist and composer who studied classical guitar and composition (Anti Marguste) at Tallinn Georg Ots Music School. In 1992-1997 he participated in Robert Fripp Guitar Craft Courses. He has written music for classical and contemporary guitar, cembalo, mixed ensembles, choirs; documentaries, art exhibitions and theater. His compositions include both traditional and contemporary elements, from folk music to post-rock and ambient-jazz. Robert Jürjendal is working as a freelancer composer / artist / lecturer. He is also the curator of the music program SOOLO at Tallinn Art Hall. Recent albums include “Source Of Joy” (Unsung Records 2013), “Balm Of Light” (iapetus - media 2014) and “Simple Past” (Strangiato Records 2016). “Another World” (with Colin Edwin) (Hard World 2018), “Five Seasons” (Albany Records 2018), With Noya and Godwin, “Samliku” (New Dog Records 2019), with Sandor Szabo “Electric Poetry” (Greydisc 2019).

To purchase:
Bandcamp: https://jondurant.bandcamp.com/album/across-the-evening

Burning Shed: https://burningshed.com/jon-durant_robert-jurjendal_across-the-evening_cd

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Across-Evening-Jon-Durant/dp/B089LYGZKT

Jon Durant's official website: http://www.jondurant.com
Robert Jürjendal's official website: http://robertjyrjendal.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

29 June 2020

Be-Bop Deluxe "Axe Victim" 4 Disc Limited Edition Deluxe Boxed Set - Released July 17, 2020


Released July 17, 2020

***LIMITED EDITION SIGNED POSTCARD AVAILABLE WITH PRE ORDERS WHILE STOCKS LAST***

• A DELUXE 4 DISC LIMITED EDITION BOXED SET OF THE CLASSIC 1974 DEBUT ALBUM BY BE BOP DELUXE COMPRISING 3 CDs and A DVD (NTSC / REGION FREE)
• NEWLY REMASTERED FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES
• FEATURING AN ADDITIONAL 41 BONUS TRACKS DRAWN FROM NEW 5.1 SURROUND SOUND & STEREO MIXES FROM THE ORIGINAL MULTI-TRACK MASTER TAPES, BBC RADIO SESSIONS FROM 1973 / 1974, INCLUDING THE PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED “LOST” BBC JOHN PEEL SESSION FROM NOVEMBER 1973, BOTH SIDES OF THE RARE SMILE RECORDS ‘TEENAGE ARCHANGEL’ SINGLE FROM 1973, COMPLETE (& NEWLY RE-MIXED) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED BE BOP DELUXE DECCA SESSION FROM DECEMBER 1973 & PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED OUT-TAKES FROM THE ALBUM SESSIONS
• INCLUDES A LAVISHLY ILLUSTRATED 68 PAGE BOOK WITH MANY PREVIOUSLY UNSEEN PHOTOGRAPHS & NEW ESSAY BY BILL NELSON / ALSO INCLUDES A REPLICA RECORD STORE POSTER & POSTCARDS

Esoteric Recordings is proud to announce the release of a new re-mastered four-disc deluxe expanded boxed set limited edition (comprising 3 CDs and a DVD) of AXE VICTIM the legendary 1974 debut album by BE BOP DELUXE.

Recorded in the Spring of 1974 at several studios in London, AXE VICTIM was released by EMI’s Harvest label in June 1974 to much critical praise and introduced Be Bop Deluxe to the record buying public. The album featured the band’s first line-up of BILL NELSON (vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar, piano), IAN PARKIN (rhythm & acoustic guitars, organ), ROB BRYAN (bass guitar, vocals) and NICHOLAS CHATTERTON-DEW (drums).

AXE VICTIM was a fine debut and was championed by DJ John Peel (who had been an advocate of Bill Nelson’s work since the release of the rudimentary self-released album “Northern Dream” in 1971) as one of his favourite releases of 1974. Although Bill Nelson was still finding his creative feet, AXE VICTIM featured some fine material including the classic ‘Adventures in a Yorkshire Landscape’, along with other fine material such as ‘Night Creatures’, ‘Third Floor Heaven’ (which featured Babe Ruth vocalist Jenny Haan guesting), ‘Jets at Dawn’ and the superb ‘Darkness (L’Immoraliste)’.

This expanded reissue has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features an additional 41 bonus tracks drawn from stunning new 5.1 surround sound & stereo mixes of the album from the original multi-track tapes by award winning engineer Stephen W. Tayler, along with two complete BBC Radio One sessions from November 1973 and May 1974 (including the previously unreleased “lost” John Peel session from November 1973), both sides of the rare Smile Records single ‘Teenage Archangel’ b/w ‘Jets at Dawn’ released by the band in 1973 prior to being signed to EMI. Also included is the complete previously unreleased Be Bop Deluxe audition session for Decca Records from December 1973 (mixed from the original 16 track tapes by Stephen W Tayler) & previously unreleased out-takes from the original album sessions.

Another highlight of this limited-edition boxed set is the lavishly illustrated 68-page book with many previously unseen photographs and an essay of recollections by Bill Nelson. Additionally, the set includes a facsimile Record Store poster and postcards. This special deluxe limited edition boxed set of AXE VICTIM is a fitting celebration of a wonderful debut album and a tribute to the creative vision of Bill Nelson.



TRACK LISTING

DISC ONE: CD
AXE VICTIM
THE ORIGINAL ALBUM REMASTERED:

1. AXE VICTIM
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN
5. NIGHT CREATURES
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
8. JETS AT DAWN
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE)
BONUS TRACKS
11. TEENAGE ARCHANGEL (1973 SINGLE)
12. JETS AT DAWN (1973 SINGLE VERSION)
13. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
(FIRST MIX) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
14. AXE VICTIM (ALBUM VERSION – FIRST MIX)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

DISC TWO: CD
AXE VICTIM
THE NEW STEREO MIX:

1. AXE VICTIM
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN
5. NIGHT CREATURES
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
8. JETS AT DAWN (FULL VERSION)
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE)
BONUS TRACKS
11. AXE VICTIM (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
12. NIGHT CREATURES (SPOKEN WORD VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
13. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (FIRST VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

DISC THREE: CD

BBC RADIO ONE “JOHN PEEL SHOW” SESSION
6th NOVEMBER 1973

1. AXE VICTIM (BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
2. BLUESY RUBY (BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
3. TOMORROW THE WORLD
(BBC SESSION NOVEMBER 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

THE DECCA SESSION – 13th DECEMBER 1973:

4. AXE VICTIM (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
5. I’LL BE YOUR VAMPIRE (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
6. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
7. BLUESY RUBY (DECCA SESSION 1973)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)

BBC RADIO ONE “JOHN PEEL SHOW” SESSION
9th MAY 1974

8. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN (BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
9. MILL STREET JUNCTION (BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
10. 15TH OF JULY (INVISIBLES)
(BBC SESSION MAY 1974)
11. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(BBC SESSION MAY 1974)

DISC FOUR: DVD
AXE VICTIM
THE NEW 5.1 SURROUND SOUND MIX, NEW 96 KHZ / 24-BIT STEREO MIX AND 96 KHZ / 24-BIT ORIGINAL STEREO MIX

1. AXE VICTIM (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
2. LOVE IS SWIFT ARROWS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
3. JET SILVER & THE DOLLS OF VENUS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
4. THIRD FLOOR HEAVEN (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
5. NIGHT CREATURES (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
6. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
7. ADVENTURES IN A YORKSHIRE LANDSCAPE
(5.1 SURROUND MIX)
8. JETS AT DAWN (FULL VERSION) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
9. NO TRAINS TO HEAVEN (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
10. DARKNESS (L’IMMORALISTE) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
BONUS TRACKS
11. AXE VICTIM (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
12. NIGHT CREATURES (SPOKEN WORD VERSION) (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)
13. ROCKET CATHEDRALS (FIRST VERSION)
(PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED) (5.1 SURROUND MIX)

Also available Be-Bop Deluxe Axe Victim, 2CD Expanded & Remastered Edition


To pre-order: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/be-bop-deluxe-axe-victim-3cd-1dvd-limited-edition-deluxe-boxset/?fbclid=IwAR3DgTCW-ziS4j0xYz9bP9K0rsYimz9C_WMFu55Uxzu5qHJZp0EDhWcSivI

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

26 June 2020

THE WALK-A-BOUT Release Music Video for the New Single "TIMELESS" From Their Full-Length LP 20/20


Long Island, New York – Aussie-American alternative rock quintet THE WALK-A-BOUT hail from the artistic East End of Long Island, New York. THE WALK-A-BOUT released their new full-length LP 20/20 worldwide in stores and online on June 5th, 2020. The album’s first official music video, featuring the new single “TIMELESS” will premiere online at Skylight Webzine on Friday, June 26th.

20/20 has been receiving a great response from fans, media, and radio airplay across the country. Exclusive Magazine writes that 20/20 “features ten wondrous new tracks that lovingly embrace such different musical styles as funk, rock, world, Latin, folk, prog and even a dash of psychedelia, whilst maintaining a pop sensibility within each song structure,” and that it is “Destined to be a classic.” AntiMusic.com writes that, “there is a real kinship here with bands like the Dave Matthews Band, whose fans will really dig cuts like ‘Date Nut Porridge’ and ‘Tale of the Vibe Rider.’”

The video was directed by George Panagakos of 525 Media, the same company that created the album art and promotional assets for 20/20.

Produced by Andrew Michael Bertrand and mastered by Roger Lian20/20 is an incredibly diverse record that explores many genres, expanding the scope of the band’s classic sound. There is something on the album for everyone. Whether it’s alternative rock, world music, funk, or the influence of prog rock, THE WALK-A-BOUT’s music is visceral, emotional, fun and socially conscious.

THE WALK-A-BOUT began writing the material for 20/20 in March of 2019, right at the time when the band began to achieve massive radio success with their album THINGS ARE LOOKING UP, which consistently landed in Top 20 charts alongside such artists as Paul McCartney, Jeff Tweedy, Mumford & Sons and Death Cab for Cutie. The album reached #4 on Roots Music Radio Report, while the singles “Consequences,” “By My Side,” and “That’s Just The Way It Goes” ranked simultaneously in the Top 5 of the alternative rock singles chart. The album was also ranked #24 on Roots Music Radio Report’s “Best of 2019” chart. The video for “That’s Just The Way It Goes” had an online premiere hosted by Skope Entertainment and continuous play on over 75 broadcast outlets throughout the summer and early fall of 2018. THE WALK-A-BOUT also released a limited edition 180-Gram Red Splatter Vinyl of THINGS ARE LOOKING UP available exclusively through their website.

Band members Darren “Sully” SullivanKevin AndersonDrew Bertrand, and Dave Christian were joined by bass player Keenan Zach for the writing and recording of 20/20, and their collective vision has allowed THE WALK-A-BOUT to explore the outer reaches of music, soul and spirit. This dynamic new collection maintains the band’s depth and introspection, delivering a deep and entertaining album with pop appeal. 20/20 was recorded on 14 reels of two-inch tape, a recording method that is reflected in the dynamic sound of this extraordinary release, which is destined to be a classic.

THE WALK-A-BOUT has toured along the East and West Coasts throughout 2018 and 2019 and are currently preparing a world tour in support of their new album release 20/20.

To watch the official music video for “TIMELESS” from 20/20 please visit:




To purchase or stream the new full-length album 20/20 on digital services please visit: www.walkaboutband.com/2020

For more information including tour dates or booking inquiries please visit: www.walkaboutband.com

For Press and Interview inquiries please contact Billy James of Glass Onyon PR: (828) 350-8158 or glassonyonpr@gmail.com

For Digital Marketing please contact Jerome Forney of Independent Distribution Collective: jerome@independentdistro.com